Cat5e in EMT,do I need to ground emt? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Structured Wiring


Like Tree20Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-19-2016, 07:49 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 4
Default Cat5e in EMT,do I need to ground emt?

So I have some outdoor survellience cameras to install. The cat5e is going to have to go into emt. Each camera is going to have it's own run from camera back to poe switch. I can't find any concrete information on if I need to ground conduit somehow and if so what is the grounding requirement? This install is residential and I'm coming out their office wall(Sheetrock and wood paneling) with a weatherproof box mounted on the exterior,low voltage trim ring on interior wall with conduit from weatherproof box to each camera location. Any help is greatly appreciated.
newvision is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-19-2016, 08:35 PM   #2
NRA Member
 
backstay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wonderful Northern Minnesota
Posts: 10,900
Rewards Points: 750
Default

So all the EMT is exterior, and not continuous. I say no.
__________________
Science Czar of Planet Earth, and Ambassador to the Planet Macmikeman
You cannot conquer a free man, the most you can do is kill him.
backstay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 08:39 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Yes emt is all exterior, mounted to soffit of house. I didn't think I needed to, but just wanted to make sure.
newvision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 08:44 PM   #4
NRA Member
 
backstay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wonderful Northern Minnesota
Posts: 10,900
Rewards Points: 750
Default

When low voltage systems come into the structure from elsewhere in conduit(metal) you have to ground it(bond). Metal water piping systems have to be. But I don't know of anywhere a noncontinuous metal system has to be, think fence, hand rail, ect.
__________________
Science Czar of Planet Earth, and Ambassador to the Planet Macmikeman
You cannot conquer a free man, the most you can do is kill him.
backstay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 08:48 PM   #5
Click Here
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 14,639
Rewards Points: 746
Default

I've installed a couple thousand EMT sleeves for low voltage wiring and never even thought about grounding. Never failed an inspection either.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 09:31 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Thank you guys for your help! It's greatly appreciated!
newvision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 05:30 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
gnuuser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: nw. Pa.
Posts: 1,195
Rewards Points: 1,606
Default

while it may not need to be bonded it should be (if anything it can act as emf shielding)
while a camera system is not a vital communication network the cabling can still pick up induced voltages powerful enough to damage equipment.

the crucial thing to remember is never run communications and power cabling in the same conduit or raceway without shielding between them
(poe voltages are not of sufficient amplitude to induce any significant current within the other conductors in the cabling) but a circuit feeding a refrigerator or electric dryer or range is another story all together
__________________
Miracle (mere-ack-ull):the aspirations of the indigent, The expectation of the indolent, and the inspiration of the ignorant.
gnuuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2016, 12:05 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
EJPHI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: N California
Posts: 213
Rewards Points: 228
Default

Doesn't Colorado get some serious thunderstorms?

Are you exterior/exposed EMT runs fairly long? Do they penetrate to the interior?

I would ground them.

EJPHI
Cl906um likes this.
EJPHI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2016, 08:56 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 1,172
Rewards Points: 1,458
Default

in the cec anything under 50vac or dc doesnt need grounding/bonding.
LuckyLuke likes this.
oliquir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2016, 11:28 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 19
Default

Same in the us, it's not needed. It's actually proba ly provided in the cat5
Tom the lecrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2016, 11:30 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 19
Default

Yeah it's low voltage, and your conduit runs are not going to any other hox...I say you're ok
Tom the lecrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 05:40 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
ponyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: parts unknown
Posts: 7,972
Rewards Points: 705
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EJPHI View Post
Doesn't Colorado get some serious thunderstorms?

Are you exterior/exposed EMT runs fairly long? Do they penetrate to the interior?

I would ground them.

EJPHI


You're reaching.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Big John, TGGT and Majewski like this.
__________________
Too dumb for New York, too ugly for LA
ponyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 07:07 PM   #13
Deplorable-Electrician
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: LIMBO
Posts: 22,407
Rewards Points: 16,302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom the lecrician View Post
Same in the us, it's not needed. It's actually proba ly provided in the cat5
A bonding conductor?
Majewski likes this.
__________________
DJT, making libtards cry since 20 Jan 2017
MechanicalDVR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 09:04 PM   #14
Donuts > Fried Eggs
 
Big John's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Portland
Posts: 16,932
Rewards Points: 258
Default

I've run miles of EMT with communications and class 2 power conductors in it. I sincerely don't even care if something says that should be bonded: There's no hazard there, it ain't happening.
Majewski likes this.
__________________
Spend $75 to keep yourself safe. Always wear your gloves.
Big John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 09:11 PM   #15
Click Here
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 14,639
Rewards Points: 746
Default

I should start a service making people's houses safer by running a #6 wire around their house and bonding their railings, mailboxes, shutters, door knobs, swing sets, lawn jockeys, bushes, etc.
TGGT and Majewski like this.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 09:45 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 2,276
Rewards Points: 1,060
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
I should start a service making people's houses safer by running a #6 wire around their house and bonding their railings, mailboxes, shutters, door knobs, swing sets, lawn jockeys, bushes, etc.
If someone has lightning / surge worries, and the digging isn't too awful, adding a loop of #4 around the perimeter to the GES is not a bad buy.
MechanicalDVR and Majewski like this.
__________________
'You must either conquer and rule or serve and lose, suffer or triumph, be the hammer or the anvil.'
splatz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 10:04 PM   #17
Big nosed attic troll
 
Majewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: In a van down by the river!
Posts: 6,790
Rewards Points: 1,302
Default

But how many times have you gotten a job like that? I don't know a house around here with that.
__________________
I've been alive as long as I can remember.
Majewski is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 10:26 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 2,276
Rewards Points: 1,060
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Majewski View Post
But how many times have you gotten a job like that? I don't know a house around here with that.
Zero!

I get a lot of calls for help with lightning and surge damage but the digging always been prohibitive.

It's a tough sell with new construction, nobody's that interested until they have the problem, can't get them to add it when they build.
Majewski likes this.
__________________
'You must either conquer and rule or serve and lose, suffer or triumph, be the hammer or the anvil.'
splatz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 10:31 PM   #19
Big nosed attic troll
 
Majewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: In a van down by the river!
Posts: 6,790
Rewards Points: 1,302
Default

That's what I figured. Not that I dislike the idea, I just see it as a tough sell for many reasons.
__________________
I've been alive as long as I can remember.
Majewski is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 10:49 PM   #20
Deplorable-Electrician
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: LIMBO
Posts: 22,407
Rewards Points: 16,302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big John View Post
I've run miles of EMT with communications and class 2 power conductors in it. I sincerely don't even care if something says that should be bonded: There's no hazard there, it ain't happening.
Same here and I feel the same way.
Majewski likes this.
__________________
DJT, making libtards cry since 20 Jan 2017
MechanicalDVR is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
interesting question: what if there is no bonding between ground and neutral? mike883 General Electrical Discussion 35 05-29-2016 03:18 PM
Ground fault, ship dwong General Electrical Discussion 0 05-22-2016 02:44 PM
installer cut off ground on SER cable cubgirl Residential Electrical Forum 43 05-21-2016 09:12 PM
Phantom Voltage? touchtester Residential Electrical Forum 9 04-25-2016 10:20 PM
Ungrounded Delta 480 Station Service with ground reference App4DaWin General Electrical Discussion 30 04-14-2016 01:12 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com