CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Structured Wiring

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-26-2011, 08:03 PM   #1
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 5,087
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default I need a wall mount cable tv tuner bracket

The tv is already mounted to the wall and I need some sort of bracket that will attach a motorola comcast digital cable tv box under the tv. I would swear I have seen one somewhere, I just can't find it. I have looked at crutchfield and bestbuy but haven't found one yet. This is for a community room in an apartment complex.

nrp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 01-26-2011, 08:10 PM   #2
Heavily Armed Member
 
HARRY304E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Reporting from the east coast of Moonbatchusetts..
Posts: 39,497
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nrp3 View Post
The tv is already mounted to the wall and I need some sort of bracket that will attach a motorola comcast digital cable tv box under the tv. I would swear I have seen one somewhere, I just can't find it. I have looked at crutchfield and bestbuy but haven't found one yet. This is for a community room in an apartment complex.

Take a look at this link...http://store.videomountstore.com/waf...FUmo4Aodv3FVJA

HARRY304E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 08:10 PM   #3
976-EVIL
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 14,233
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nrp3 View Post
The tv is already mounted to the wall and I need some sort of bracket that will attach a motorola comcast digital cable tv box under the tv. I would swear I have seen one somewhere, I just can't find it. I have looked at crutchfield and bestbuy but haven't found one yet. This is for a community room in an apartment complex.

I put 16 tv's in a bar and I put the boxes behind the TV's so you couldn't see them. In your case, you need the remote to work, so you would need an FR repeater for the remote before you slide it behind the tv.
mcclary's electrical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 08:17 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: CA - Bay Area
Posts: 93
Rewards Points: 75
Default

around here the non HD boxes, are tiny and can be double sided taped to the back of the TV, plus they come with an IR repeater built in that you plug into the back and place as necessary. The non DVR HD boxes, are slightly bigger, but i was able to secure one to the back of the TV with some zip ties, and drop it down low enough that the IR eye was unobstructed. This however was at the ex-girlfriends condo. If it was a bigger box, or DVR + HD box or a customers place. I would run an IR repeater to an A/V closet.
DiegoXJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 08:27 PM   #5
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 5,087
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

I have the small ones at home and would have used the remote eye trick. I use one in my bedroom, works well. These are the large cable tv boxes.


That site has some possibilities. The prices aren't bad either.

Last edited by nrp3; 01-26-2011 at 08:30 PM.
nrp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 12:32 AM   #6
NJ-IEC Member
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rahway, NJ
Posts: 14,161
Default

You should check out Monoprice.

They're on Facebook too.
__________________
Replies based on NEC 2014
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 12:40 AM   #7
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 17,356
Rewards Points: 2,102
Default

I have my own just stuffed behind the TV, zip tied on to the various cables back there. I see now that some TV's take the smart card thing you can get from your cable company so you don't even need a box.
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 01:01 AM   #8
NJ-IEC Member
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rahway, NJ
Posts: 14,161
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MDShunk View Post
I have my own just stuffed behind the TV, zip tied on to the various cables back there. I see now that some TV's take the smart card thing you can get from your cable company so you don't even need a box.
The iPhone can control your cable box, tv, and possibly the blu-ray player too.
__________________
Replies based on NEC 2014
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 01:50 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
erics37's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Depoe Bay, Oregon
Posts: 12,685
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MDShunk View Post
I have my own just stuffed behind the TV, zip tied on to the various cables back there. I see now that some TV's take the smart card thing you can get from your cable company so you don't even need a box.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnettica View Post
The iPhone can control your cable box, tv, and possibly the blu-ray player too.
I just had my cable company install a jack directly into my brain and nerve centers, like this:



So I can now get my netflix streaming even when my wife is hogging the TV!
__________________
I was assimilated by the Borg and all I got was this stupid t-shirt.
erics37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 05:34 PM   #10
I saw a guy do it once.
 
SparkYZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Los Angeles SFV
Posts: 861
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by erics37 View Post
I just had my cable company install a jack directly into my brain and nerve centers, like this:



So I can now get my netflix streaming even when my wife is hogging the TV!
I loved the Matrix trilogy of movies, but that always left me scarred.
SparkYZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 12:19 AM   #11
Never fear, Slick is here
 
mxslick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: My own private Idaho
Posts: 3,841
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by erics37 View Post
I just had my cable company install a jack directly into my brain and nerve centers, like this:



So I can now get my netflix streaming even when my wife is hogging the TV!

Brings new meaning to the term "jacking off."
__________________
Think before you hit that "Submit Reply" button.
mxslick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 12:48 AM   #12
NO high voltage here
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,346
Rewards Points: 1,070
Default

super cheap prices

http://www.monoprice.com/products/su...09&cp_id=10828
mikeh32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 12:53 AM   #13
Heavily Armed Member
 
HARRY304E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Reporting from the east coast of Moonbatchusetts..
Posts: 39,497
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by erics37 View Post
I just had my cable company install a jack directly into my brain and nerve centers, like this:

So I can now get my netflix streaming even when my wife is hogging the TV!
Man you have got to lighten up on the steroids

HARRY304E is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to flush mount an 15-50r receptacle Mitty1964 Commercial Electrical Forum 26 12-17-2010 11:34 PM
HDTV wall mount rough-in sparkysteve Structured Wiring 42 03-10-2010 10:12 PM
Does anyone make a waterproof round box with side mount bracket? frotis General Electrical Discussion 9 12-15-2009 05:56 PM
How do you mount a light switch on a glass wall? Jeff000 General Electrical Discussion 21 01-28-2009 04:52 PM
surface mount gec. Bkessler General Electrical Discussion 14 09-09-2008 11:24 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:55 AM.


Copyright © 2006-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com