CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Structured Wiring

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-04-2010, 08:42 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 321
Rewards Points: 252
Default Static on the phone line

We wired a new house for a customer; including the CAT-5e for the phones.
Phone company only supplied one phone line; I installed it on blue & white-blue ckt (white-blue is Tip, blue is Ring).

They are an older couple; still using 2 rotary phones and one cordless from the early 90s.
Their son helped them get set up for wireless internet, which comes in on the phone line.
The problem is that the phone line starts out nice and clear, but once you start talking on the line, the static starts getting worse all the time and then the phone cuts out. It will work after you hang up and try again.

I ran 3 separate runs of CAT-5e out to the demarc point. Each run has 2 phone jacks connected to it. Very simple, basic install.

I have to go back there tomorrow and figure this problem out and I am looking for some advice from smart people.
I plan to make sure the problem still exists, then disconnect one line at a time at the demarc point and see if it is the source of the problem.
Then I will connect all phone lines and disconnect the Internet router and see if that makes any difference.
Could it be a bad phone causing interference with the line?
Have you seen this before?
Thanks,
Rick

subelect is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 08-04-2010, 08:48 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,003
Rewards Points: 500
Default

See what happens on a new phone.

crazyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to crazyboy For This Useful Post:
subelect (08-05-2010)
Old 08-04-2010, 09:19 PM   #3
DGFVT
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: VT
Posts: 2,449
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

You need filters on the lines for the telephones.

http://www.smithgear.com/900lcc-50.html
John is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to John For This Useful Post:
subelect (08-05-2010)
Old 08-05-2010, 01:16 AM   #4
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 17,322
Rewards Points: 2,034
Default

Man, I sure hope they're using a DSL filter on the data feed. Surely the must be, or the data line would crap out every time you pick up a phone.

Just check over all your terminations an punchdowns carefully. Plug a phone in the NID and see if the problem persists. If it does, it's the telco's problem.

If you happen to have a kick meter, you can sort this out in about 2 minutes, but if you don't, it's going to be a painfully long period of troubleshooting.
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MDShunk For This Useful Post:
subelect (08-05-2010)
Old 08-05-2010, 01:23 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: here
Posts: 2,412
Default

I agree with John, you need filters on each phone jack that goes to a tel. together with that, you might try removing the rotary phones from the setup. Some of the older phones had a lighted dial which drew a lot of juice. Now they use LED lights , much more efficient.

There was a ringer equivalence number on the bottom of each phone in the old days of the LOL 70's this number told you how much draw a particular phone took.

If I remember correctly the most you could connect was 6, I think they lowered it to 3 now. The older phones may say something like REN 1.5 or 2.1 on the bottom. Worth a shot anyway.
So the new phones might fix part of the problem but you do need the filters
JohnR is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JohnR For This Useful Post:
subelect (08-05-2010)
Old 08-05-2010, 01:26 AM   #6
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 17,322
Rewards Points: 2,034
Default

Exceeding the available REN will normally only make phones not ring or ring weakly, and doesn't normally cause static. You start to think about poor terminations or an open sheath on the pole when you hear about static problems. It's usually pretty easy to get the telco guy to pick another pair coming down the road.
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 02:33 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: here
Posts: 2,412
Default

I was thinking about the seeming capacitance of the way it gets louder till it blanks out the phone line.
Throwing something out there, seeing what sticks. I don't know anyone who still has a rotary connected. Don't know what it would do for sure.
JohnR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 05:34 AM   #8
Tabihu Juhar
 
76nemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 3,209
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MDShunk View Post
Man, I sure hope they're using a DSL filter on the data feed. Surely the must be, or the data line would crap out every time you pick up a phone.

Just check over all your terminations an punchdowns carefully. Plug a phone in the NID and see if the problem persists. If it does, it's the telco's problem.

If you happen to have a kick meter, you can sort this out in about 2 minutes, but if you don't, it's going to be a painfully long period of troubleshooting.

Marc, what is a "kick" meter, and how does it work?
__________________
"To live outside the Law, you must be honest"~B.Dylan
76nemo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 76nemo For This Useful Post:
jwjrw (08-05-2010)
Old 08-05-2010, 02:43 PM   #9
Morally Bankrupt
 
Big City Electrician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 337
Rewards Points: 250
Default

I've never used filters on DSL and never had a problem.
Big City Electrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 02:44 PM   #10
Morally Bankrupt
 
Big City Electrician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 337
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 76nemo View Post
Marc, what is a "kick" meter, and how does it work?
It measures resistance on the local loop also polarity and voltage I think.
Big City Electrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 06:19 PM   #11
Tabihu Juhar
 
76nemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 3,209
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big City Electrician View Post
It measures resistance on the local loop also polarity and voltage I think.
It's just a loop impedance tester you're saying????
__________________
"To live outside the Law, you must be honest"~B.Dylan
76nemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 06:31 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
sparky105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: ontario Canada
Posts: 520
Rewards Points: 500
Default

I just went through this on my own house.
I nicked the phone line with a drill bit doing a wire pull for a new rec. and didn't see it at the time. few days later wife said that she could use the phone but the static got bad as the call went on. it started me thinking and I remebered drilling the holes in the basement went over the cable route and found the nick in the line. new peice and no more static hope this helps
sparky105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 06:57 PM   #13
Tabihu Juhar
 
76nemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 3,209
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big City Electrician View Post
It measures resistance on the local loop also polarity and voltage I think.

Is this "kick" meter focused solely on telco apps, and does it have another name it goes by????? I want to check the documentation and specs on one.
__________________
"To live outside the Law, you must be honest"~B.Dylan
76nemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 11:42 PM   #14
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 17,322
Rewards Points: 2,034
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 76nemo View Post
Is this "kick" meter focused solely on telco apps, and does it have another name it goes by????? I want to check the documentation and specs on one.
Tempo Sidekick is the most common one. Not just an impedance tester.
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 01:17 AM   #15
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 17,322
Rewards Points: 2,034
Default

Here's the training manual on the kickmeter. http://www.tempo-textron.com/docs/7b...g%20Manual.pdf

It's really not that expensive of an instrument, is in common use, and can really help you out of a jam and make you look like a hero.
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 08:17 AM   #16
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 5,045
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Threw a bid in on a used one. I have a similar problem to tackle, though not so serious or obvious on a comcast phone system. Just static, doesn't drop out.
nrp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 09:58 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Saxon Village near Doncaster. Buildings date to 8th century.Once a Roman Road
Posts: 1,313
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Had a similar problem once and after spending ages checking old phones compatable with new exchange I discovered a piece of multi cored telephone cable installed years ago. Changed this to the correct solid drawn type and the lines were perfect. Just a thought but then you never know.

Frank
frank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 02:05 AM   #18
rbj
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tukwila, WA
Posts: 124
Rewards Points: 75
Default Static

Check for moisture in the cable ends. This will cause static like a conductor in ground.

rbj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
static converter zrul PLCs, VFDs, Motors and Controls 1 05-17-2010 04:40 PM
RCD, Static Caravans jules58 UK Electrical Forum 7 02-16-2009 07:11 PM
"No phone line" telephone intercoms MF Dagger Structured Wiring 2 03-27-2008 09:42 PM
static noise Bkessler General Electrical Discussion 9 02-05-2008 11:08 PM
How to re-wire my phone line. NickAMonzo General Electrical Discussion 1 06-30-2007 08:31 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:42 PM.


Copyright © 2006-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com