Clarifying "Journeyman" terminology - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > Electrician Apprentice Forum

Like Tree20Likes

Old 12-10-2016, 11:15 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 34
Default Clarifying "Journeyman" terminology

I don't understand the use of "apprentice" "journeyman" and "master".
The NC Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors doesn't use this terminology, and neither does my boss. Is this a union thing? Is there actually a formal "journeyman" license in some states? Or is it just an informal way of saying, "I'm not new anymore, but I'm still learning."

For context, I work in residential in North Carolina, and I've got about 4000 hours of experience but probably only about half of that on w-2. The other half as 1099. I am not part of a union, I just started working for a licensed Electrician a couple years ago. At first under the table, then he hired me on officially after a while. Before that I worked for a different licensed electrician, 1099, part time for a while.
MattM-NC is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE