Electrical Engineering Graduate Starting Over - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > Electrician Apprentice Forum

Like Tree21Likes

Old 08-30-2016, 09:19 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 4
Default Electrical Engineering Graduate Starting Over

Hello folks,

I graduated with an Electrical Engineering degree two years ago but could not launch my career in that area. I found that graduate school was unsuitable for me, though I still maintain my interest in electrical systems and circuits. I decided the next logical choice would be to start over as an electrician apprentice.

Right now I am stuck on the best way to break into this trade. I know as a starter with no experience, I am not a great sell. I also fear that my degree would land my resume in the "overqualified" pile. Many people online suggest to knock on doors, toolbox in hand, and apply apply apply. As an option, there is also the Pre-apprenticeship program at my local polytechnic (SAIT). I can afford it, and their employment survey numbers look good, but it's often vilified as a waste of money.

Also, I would like ask: will having my engineering degree will help/hinder my career down this path?

Thank you for your attention!
enginerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!