Gaining Experience Through Your Career - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > Electrician Apprentice Forum

Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By MechanicalDVR
  • 1 Post By Suncoast Power
  • 1 Post By MechanicalDVR
  • 1 Post By papaotis
  • 1 Post By chicken steve

Old 12-25-2016, 08:05 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 44
Default Gaining Experience Through Your Career

I am a 3rd year apprentice. Prior to beginning my apprenticeship I went to college for electrical engineering. During the first two years of my apprenticeship I worked on fairly big jobs. The Vikings new stadium, new hospital, new apartment high rise etc. Really, I ended up doing mostly basic tasks: Putting in devices, running PVC, pulling wire with the tugger, wiring lights, roughing in with romex etc. It seems to me (I could be wrong) that sometimes I'm expected to perform tasks that I just haven't had much experience with and I don't really understand how I am expected to know how to do certain tasks lol But does it just come with time? For instance, if I was asked to bend 4 inch pipe and put various kicks and offsets, it probably wouldn't be that great. Or if I needed to ground and bond a separately derived system. I just don't understand how we are supposed to just know how to do this stuff the day we turn out as journeyman lol Am I nuts or do you sense this too?
JoeCool612 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!