How to Prepare for Journeyman Exam? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > Electrician Apprentice Forum

Like Tree9Likes

Old 07-29-2016, 05:55 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 88
Default How to Prepare for Journeyman Exam?

I have all of my hours approved and I'm allowed to take my PSI exam.

What is the best way you can think of to pass the exam? I've been doing service work and rough-ins on residential and commercial since '08. But I have ZERO industrial experience (lots of commercial, but always in residential-like buildings. 1950s office buildings and motels and stuff.) Definitely nothing over 240V.

What is the best way that you can recommend that I learn how to use the codebook to quickly answer questions on the test?

BTW: I'm not stupid enough to then apply for industrial work without more experience obviously. But I'm also not going to spend another two years as an apprentice since my approval is in.

Do you know any good books on how to use the NEC book for the open-book test? Some other advice?
green4now is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to green4now For This Useful Post:
Dash Dingo (07-30-2016)
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE