how to succeed in an apprenticeship? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > Electrician Apprentice Forum

Like Tree66Likes

Old 12-17-2016, 11:02 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 64
Default how to succeed in an apprenticeship?

hi guys, i recently got a union apprenticeship; i had no idea what i was getting into coming into this but i'm realizing that i kind of like it and i at least want to stick around at least long enough to get licensed.

as you can see from my username i am one of the Token Females at my local.

i am trying to figure out what skills are needed to succeed on the job? my background includes working in dysfunctional male-dominated environments and upper-level math work. i have no experience with mechanical things which is really tripping me up but i'm happy to learn.

what can i look forward to over the years and what are some things i can teach myself over layoffs that might make me more useful to employers? i was reading somewhere that drafting and plc stuff is good to know but then i also hear that's engineer work. unfortunately i don't think i'll prove much an asset on cable pulls.
Jamato and ANDYG951 like this.
TokenFemale is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!