4 Wire bus duct used without neutral - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Tools, Equipment & Safety > Code Violation Discussion


Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By dawgs
  • 1 Post By ponyboy
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2016, 03:41 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: KY
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 4
Default 4 Wire bus duct used without neutral

I have a customer that wants to reuse some 4-wire bus duct and install it on and existing 3 wire feeder without the neutral. None of their equipment that will feed from the bus duct requires the neutral but it just doesn't seem right to me to hook it up without the neutral. System voltage is 480/277V, 3 phase, 4 wire but all connected equipment is 480V 3 phase without the neutral.
Does installing the bus duct without the neutral violate any code?
thermoelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-13-2016, 04:11 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 6,478
Rewards Points: 11,230
Default

But, based on parsing your OP, the client IS installing 4 conductor bus duct.

You seem to imply either this run will be feed by a 3-conductor tap -- using THWN-2 or some such.

Alternately, you seem to imply that the client already has 3-conductor bus duct installed and heated up -- and wants to extend that run with 4-conductor bus duct.

Which is it ?
telsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2016, 10:02 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
dawgs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,393
Rewards Points: 998
Default

If I installed it, I would put stickers at each door opening saying 3-phase 3-wire systems only.
Big John likes this.
dawgs is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to dawgs For This Useful Post:
LuckyLuke (05-16-2016), thermoelectric (05-13-2016)
Old 05-13-2016, 11:41 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: KY
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 4
Default

The feeder is a 3"conduit with 3-500mcm cu and a #2 insulated ground. The feeder is run from a 400 amp 3 Phase 4 wire bus plug about 200' away.
thermoelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 01:32 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: KY
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Bump
thermoelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 01:58 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
ponyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: parts unknown
Posts: 7,976
Rewards Points: 705
Default 4 Wire bus duct used without neutral

Quote:
Originally Posted by thermoelectric View Post
I have a customer that wants to reuse some 4-wire bus duct and install it on and existing 3 wire feeder without the neutral. None of their equipment that will feed from the bus duct requires the neutral but it just doesn't seem right to me to hook it up without the neutral. System voltage is 480/277V, 3 phase, 4 wire but all connected equipment is 480V 3 phase without the neutral.

Does installing the bus duct without the neutral violate any code?


I've ran more 4 wire busway on a delta feed than I can remember. There is no issue. We also buy 480/277 rated NF panelboards and feed them straight delta from our busways , again, no issue. If you're determined to be concerned about it put some signage up at the busway termination box and the gear feeding it and maybe every 10' along the length of the run if you're feeling ambitious. The only issue I see is its's wasteful but if it's recycled then who cares
DesignerMan likes this.
__________________
Too dumb for New York, too ugly for LA

Last edited by ponyboy; 05-16-2016 at 02:22 PM.
ponyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 02:15 PM   #7
Deplorable-Electrician
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: LIMBO
Posts: 22,625
Rewards Points: 16,740
Default

Seen this type install many times. Some labelled and most not.
__________________
DJT, making libtards cry since 20 Jan 2017
MechanicalDVR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 02:55 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 2,322
Rewards Points: 1,152
Default

Missed
__________________
'You must either conquer and rule or serve and lose, suffer or triumph, be the hammer or the anvil.'

Last edited by splatz; 05-16-2016 at 02:58 PM.
splatz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 03:00 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 1,174
Rewards Points: 1,462
Default

standard here on 600v system, most of the time no neutral, 347v stuff is not very popular
oliquir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 03:11 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
LuckyLuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 475
Rewards Points: 950
Default

Work on these like this a few times, we always labeled them but never an issue.
LuckyLuke is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 05:43 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: KY
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Thanks everyone for input. I'll just install it and label it 3P3W No Neutral. Thanks Again
thermoelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2016, 09:07 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 659
Rewards Points: 52
Default

It probably violates the manufacturers instructions which violates code.
TRurak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2016, 10:41 PM   #13
Watt Pusher
 
B-Nabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Port Coquitlam, Canada
Posts: 974
Rewards Points: 306
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRurak View Post
It probably violates the manufacturers instructions which violates code.
Probably violated that code 6 months ago and walked away with a nice cheque for his trouble.
__________________
Is that a real poncho or is that a Sears poncho?
B-Nabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2016, 11:03 AM   #14
Sparks fly from my finger
 
Jhellwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ottumwa, Ia
Posts: 2,286
Rewards Points: 4,201
Default

Not using a conductor is not a code violation.
__________________
Murphy's law is a pain in my butt.

Obey your Master.
Jhellwig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2016, 08:43 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
ponyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: parts unknown
Posts: 7,976
Rewards Points: 705
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRurak View Post
It probably violates the manufacturers instructions which violates code.


Umm no


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Too dumb for New York, too ugly for LA
ponyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 10:30 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Cl906um's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Upper Michigan
Posts: 1,537
Rewards Points: 1,040
Default

The only place a neutral is required on a wye is in the service.
Cl906um is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bus duct, busway, neut

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Conductor Electek inc General Electrical Discussion 25 05-05-2016 12:02 AM
Wire Strippers for #18 stranded 2 conductor !Tom Tools, Equipment and New Products 22 05-04-2016 09:22 PM
Neutral required to be ran to generator? lynes.nathan Canadian Electrical Code Forum 7 03-01-2016 10:10 PM
115 VAC disconnect - should I break both hot & neutral? Paul Kraemer General Electrical Discussion 11 01-22-2016 11:21 PM
8ga Aluminum Oven Wire vs 8ga Copper Wire? savatreatabvr General Electrical Discussion 17 01-13-2016 08:57 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com