Roll around receptacles on wheels? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Tools, Equipment & Safety > Code Violation Discussion


Like Tree19Likes
  • 3 Post By macmikeman
  • 4 Post By macmikeman
  • 3 Post By just the cowboy
  • 1 Post By splatz
  • 3 Post By telsa
  • 2 Post By Signal1
  • 3 Post By 360max
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-08-2016, 03:09 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: nc
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 2
Default Roll around receptacles on wheels?


This big guy rolls around to all of our jobs plugs in via a 60amp blue plug and it receives single phase 208 . My questions is. Is this the proper way for grounds and neutrals to be hooked up ? Knowing good and we'll that there isn't a neutral to be had from single phase 208 they insist on using this thing as is. Should I isolate the neutrals that go to the 11p outlets and just use a local bonding ground to the panel and cart?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
steampunk2309 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-08-2016, 03:17 PM   #2
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 20,296
Rewards Points: 2,928
Default

Looks like a rolling Osha issue to me. Where is the gfi protection for those outlets?
circuitman1, telsa and Majewski like this.
__________________
“That all changes—starting right here and right now.” Jan. 20 “will be remembered as the day the people became the rulers of this nation again.” Donald Trump
macmikeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 03:19 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: nc
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macmikeman View Post
Looks like a rolling Osha issue to me. Where is the gfi protection for those outlets?
This was put on my plate for redesign so that's one thing I've mentioned to my supervisor

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
steampunk2309 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 03:21 PM   #4
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 20,296
Rewards Points: 2,928
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steampunk2309 View Post
This was put on my plate for redesign so that's one thing I've mentioned to my supervisor

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
You might also tell him the whole thing needs to be sunk in the lake. The deep lake.
__________________
“That all changes—starting right here and right now.” Jan. 20 “will be remembered as the day the people became the rulers of this nation again.” Donald Trump
macmikeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 03:26 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: nc
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macmikeman View Post
You might also tell him the whole thing needs to be sunk in the lake. The deep lake.
Any idea about the neutral issue though?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
steampunk2309 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 03:33 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
just the cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Pa
Posts: 795
Rewards Points: 120
Default It's wrong wrong wrong

First off it should be fed with 4 wire.
Grounds and neutral need to be seperated.
GFI is required for temp power.

Stop using it NOW someone is going to get killed, you have current flowing on the ground or no ground. What do you mean no netural on 208 single phase, When you have 120v receptials??????
circuitman1, telsa and splatz like this.
__________________
A cowboy may get thrown down, but he always gets up and walks forward and don't look back at what thru him.
just the cowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to just the cowboy For This Useful Post:
telsa (12-08-2016), wildleg (12-08-2016)
Old 12-08-2016, 03:34 PM   #7
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 20,296
Rewards Points: 2,928
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steampunk2309 View Post
Any idea about the neutral issue though?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
I have lots of idea's and one is you need to have an electrician redo that.
__________________
“That all changes—starting right here and right now.” Jan. 20 “will be remembered as the day the people became the rulers of this nation again.” Donald Trump
macmikeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 04:51 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: nc
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by just the cowboy View Post
First off it should be fed with 4 wire.
Grounds and neutral need to be seperated.
GFI is required for temp power.

Stop using it NOW someone is going to get killed, you have current flowing on the ground or no ground. What do you mean no netural on 208 single phase, When you have 120v receptials??????
Agreed it's a death trap ! The only available power is single phase 208 on these jobs that they use it on . And 110 receptacles are far to come by so they emplemented this death trap. I was tasked to make it "compliant" . As I see by your answers that we cannot make this compliant unless we feed it with 4 wire

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
steampunk2309 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 05:00 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 2,562
Rewards Points: 1,628
Default

If there was some kind of device that could transform the 208v to 120v ...
Majewski likes this.
__________________
'You must either conquer and rule or serve and lose, suffer or triumph, be the hammer or the anvil.'
splatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 05:00 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 7,092
Rewards Points: 12,460
Default

That puppy needs an extreme make-over.

1) 208 VAC is only available from a 208Y120 system. You'll need to bring a 4-wire conductor from that source to your 'floating' panel.

2) The neutral must be fully sized, but of course.

3) The usual drill is factory wired 'spider boxes.' These are OSHA complaint.

I find it HARD to believe that you can gin up a superior build for the same amount of $$$.

Don't you really want liability to fall upon the guys that manufactured the spider box ?

You can always put casters under the feet of your spider boxes.

Temp power is usually laid on by the GC. All of the trades are expecting spider boxes.

Hint, hint.


Go check out eBay, too.

Last edited by telsa; 12-08-2016 at 05:02 PM.
telsa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 05:08 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: nc
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by telsa View Post
That puppy needs an extreme make-over.

1) 208 VAC is only available from a 208Y120 system. You'll need to bring a 4-wire conductor from that source to your 'floating' panel.

2) The neutral must be fully sized, but of course.

3) The usual drill is factory wired 'spider boxes.' These are OSHA complaint.

I find it HARD to believe that you can gin up a superior build for the same amount of $$$.

Don't you really want liability to fall upon the guys that manufactured the spider box ?

You can always put casters under the feet of your spider boxes.

Temp power is usually laid on by the GC. All of the trades are expecting spider boxes.

Hint, hint.
Prior employer used something similar I will behoove my supervisor to discontinue using this. All they need is a meaty drop cord and a gfci receptacle to get past this . The 208 receptacles aren't the problem it's them trying to use it also for 120v.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
steampunk2309 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 05:39 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Signal1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Boston Area
Posts: 790
Rewards Points: 462
Default

What an embarrassing piece of junk.
circuitman1 and steampunk2309 like this.
Signal1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 05:45 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
drspec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,637
Rewards Points: 160
Default

Im going to guess you work for a restoration company
drspec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 06:19 PM   #14
animal lover /rat bastard
 
wildleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: somewhere in FL
Posts: 12,335
Rewards Points: 402
Default

having seen how badly those spider boxes get pounded into junk, I have no problem with a home built one. But as others said, that one is a huge liability as it stands.
__________________
this message was sent from a dental floss farm using ZappaTalk and a pair of zirconium encrusted tweasers
wildleg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 07:31 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
360max's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 9,628
Rewards Points: 736
Default

__________________
Moderator-In-Training
360max is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2016, 07:51 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 683
Rewards Points: 52
Default

I've seen worse. Usually the worst of the worst are flooring prep guys or refinishers. I walked into an electrical room on a job that had the panel cover off with alligator clamps on the panel buses ........
TRurak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Horizontal receptacles in Chicago? HackWork General Electrical Discussion 27 10-22-2016 06:54 PM
Minimum number of receptacles for commercial? Christopher Dedios NEC Code Forum 6 06-26-2016 10:50 PM
Garbage Disposal and Dishwasher Receptacles swimmer General Electrical Discussion 14 06-09-2016 06:15 PM
Kitchen counter receptacles 604nguyen Canadian Electrical Code Forum 31 04-10-2016 12:46 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com