Why? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Tools, Equipment & Safety > Code Violation Discussion


Like Tree5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2016, 07:27 PM   #1
Very Long Vacation
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: united states of america
Posts: 11,719
Rewards Points: 5,262
Default Why?

From another site (not mine), but made me
Attached Thumbnails
Why?-gefv85m.jpg  

Wpgshocker likes this.
meadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-28-2016, 07:32 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: ca
Posts: 1,115
Rewards Points: 2,183
Default

How many strands did they have to trim for that to "work"? Is that 2 pole on the left tripped? At least they have the proper handle ties.

Last edited by joebanana; 01-28-2016 at 07:35 PM.
joebanana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2016, 07:46 PM   #3
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 39,050
Rewards Points: 6,520
Default

My guess is someone couldn't find a replacement main breaker.
__________________
I'm 480Sparky, and I approved this message.
480sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2016, 08:22 PM   #4
Moderator
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY State
Posts: 10,532
Rewards Points: 1,914
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joebanana View Post
At least they have the proper handle ties.
NO, they don't.
The ITE/Siemens original main had a 4" tie connecting all four spaces.

__________________
“The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it.”
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
Old 01-28-2016, 08:32 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 822
Rewards Points: 1,526
Default

Pure awesomeness.
The dude stood back with his arms crossed and said, "good enough".


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Wpgshocker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2016, 08:37 PM   #6
ET rocks
 
3xdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 2,864
Rewards Points: 2,174
Default

Square D to the rescue.......kinda.
__________________
Too soon, Black Dog... way too soon...Rock on buddy.
3xdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2016, 09:01 PM   #7
Very Long Vacation
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: united states of america
Posts: 11,719
Rewards Points: 5,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
My guess is someone couldn't find a replacement main breaker.


Looks like it
meadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2016, 09:10 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: ca
Posts: 1,115
Rewards Points: 2,183
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
NO, they don't.
The ITE/Siemens original main had a 4" tie connecting all four spaces.

That's a completely different breaker. I was commenting on the one in the photo.
joebanana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2016, 09:30 PM   #9
Very Long Vacation
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: united states of america
Posts: 11,719
Rewards Points: 5,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joebanana View Post
That's a completely different breaker. I was commenting on the one in the photo.

Its the breaker that was originally in that panel, but someone took it out and added 2 Homelines in its place. Neither the ties nor brand are correct.
meadow is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to meadow For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (01-29-2016)
Old 01-29-2016, 12:53 AM   #10
Modérateur
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philippines { for a while }
Posts: 5,784
Rewards Points: 628
Default

The other thing the other is that on that photo is missing line adpator.. And wrong breaker for it
__________________
Bleu est beau.
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2016, 01:36 AM   #11
Very Long Vacation
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: united states of america
Posts: 11,719
Rewards Points: 5,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
The other thing the other is that on that photo is missing line adpator.. And wrong breaker for it

The lug? OHHH! yes You have good eyes!
meadow is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to meadow For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (01-29-2016)
Old 01-29-2016, 03:03 AM   #12
Modérateur
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philippines { for a while }
Posts: 5,784
Rewards Points: 628
Default

The other thing i almost forgot.. Did ya see the load conductors on the feed thru breaker box ? If the main was 200 amp size the load conductors should be the same as service entrance conductors unless it have a ocpd downstream of it.

I know the photo look like 3/0 then 1/0 for downstream..
__________________
Bleu est beau.
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
Old 01-29-2016, 03:22 AM   #13
Very Long Vacation
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: united states of america
Posts: 11,719
Rewards Points: 5,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
The other thing i almost forgot.. Did ya see the load conductors on the feed thru breaker box ? If the main was 200 amp size the load conductors should be the same as service entrance conductors unless it have a ocpd downstream of it.

I know the photo look like 3/0 then 1/0 for downstream..

If the OCPD is down stream, how long can the conductors be?
meadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2016, 03:42 AM   #14
Moderator

 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 19,296
Rewards Points: 356
Default

You might be able to use the tap rules in art. 240 but normally the overcurrent protective device must be ahead of the conductor.

Quote:
240.21 Location in Circuit. Overcurrent protection shall be
provided in each ungrounded circuit conductor and shall be
located at the point where the conductors receive their supply
except as specified in 240.21(A) through (H). Conductors supplied
under the provisions of 240.21(A) through (H) shall not
supply another conductor except through an overcurrent protective
device meeting the requirements of 240.4.
Dennis Alwon is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Dennis Alwon For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (01-29-2016)
Old 01-29-2016, 03:47 AM   #15
Modérateur
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philippines { for a while }
Posts: 5,784
Rewards Points: 628
Default

If i recall there are 3 different tap rules you can use but read art. 240 to make sure you use the correct tap rules..
__________________
Bleu est beau.
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
Old 01-29-2016, 04:00 AM   #16
Moderator

 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 19,296
Rewards Points: 356
Default

It looks like the conductors are the same size so that should not be an issue. Hard to tell from a pic
Dennis Alwon is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Dennis Alwon For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (01-29-2016)
Old 01-29-2016, 02:01 PM   #17
Moderator
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY State
Posts: 10,532
Rewards Points: 1,914
Default

Both the service entrance conductors and feeder conductors look like 2/0cu to me.
__________________
“The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it.”
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (01-29-2016)
Old 01-29-2016, 02:11 PM   #18
Modérateur
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philippines { for a while }
Posts: 5,784
Rewards Points: 628
Default

Yuh if that is correct then i need new glasses..
__________________
Bleu est beau.
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2016, 05:00 PM   #19
motherplucker
 
chicken steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: the Green Mountain state
Posts: 34,380
Rewards Points: 4,116
Default

DIYers fuel my eyeglass denial......~CS~
frenchelectrican likes this.
chicken steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2016, 05:55 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NL, Canada
Posts: 1,072
Rewards Points: 2,723
Default

And the unnecessary marrette at the right.
AK_sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com