Circuit tracer - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Tools, Equipment & Safety > Tools, Equipment and New Products


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2010, 05:44 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 58
Rewards Points: 75
Default Circuit tracer

Anyone here own an Amprobe AT-1000? Is the performance on de-energized circuits as advertised?

Thanks,

Last edited by Sonny1027; 01-17-2010 at 06:49 PM.
Sonny1027 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-18-2010, 10:22 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 58
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonny1027 View Post
Anyone here own an Amprobe AT-1000? Is the performance on de-energized circuits as advertised?

Thanks,
If no one here owns an AT-1000, then can you recommend a circuit tracer that is suitable for residential work? I am looking for one that will work on both energized & unenergized circuits that also will not break the bank.
Thank you.
Sonny1027 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 10:23 AM   #3
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 39,050
Rewards Points: 6,520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonny1027 View Post
If no one here owns an AT-1000, then can you recommend a circuit tracer that is suitable for residential work? I am looking for one that will work on both energized & unenergized circuits that also will not break the bank.
Thank you.

Give it some time. Some people aren't on here 24/7.
__________________
I'm 480Sparky, and I approved this message.
480sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 11:02 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern California
Posts: 221
Rewards Points: 150
Default

I have a greenlee model 2007 Power Finder circuit tracer. To find a dead circuit use must have an extra 9 volt battery and you trace the neutral. If you have voltage on the circuit it's even easier. It's great for locating breakers when someone failed to label the breakers. I've also found I can use it to locate underground conduits if they have a live circuit in it. I believe the cost on these is now just below $300. I've had mine for 10 years and it cost about $250 then.
Old Spark is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
best circuit tracer? BuzzKill General Electrical Discussion 23 12-12-2009 02:57 PM
Looking for a circuit tracer... CougarV8 Tools, Equipment and New Products 5 08-07-2009 01:11 AM
inexpensive circuit tracer? vfly172 Tools, Equipment and New Products 7 05-03-2009 02:40 AM
Circuit Tracer 72pantera Tools, Equipment and New Products 9 06-24-2008 11:01 AM
circuit tracer??? furbis Tools, Equipment and New Products 5 02-22-2007 05:31 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:45 PM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com
 

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1