Electrician Talk banner

Cordless drill recommendation

16K views 26 replies 16 participants last post by  personal 
#1 ·
First, let me introduce myself. I'm a fairly new electrician working in the oil sands projects in Fort McMurray, Canada. However, the opportunities for learning the trade here are rather limited as it consists pretty much of putting giant lego pieces together.

I've begun looking for residential and commercial work, and with the slowdown this means bringing my own tools just so I don't fall behind all the other guys looking for work.

I have no brand loyalty to speak of and I've had the opportunity to use DeWalt, Milwaukee, Makita, Bosch, and Hilti gear, in order from most to least experience. Other than the Makita and Hilti, I've seen beat up and new tools from all brands (both Makita and Hilti were fairly new). The Hilti was a rotary hammer rather than a drill, but all the others were just regular drills - 14.4 to 18v. DeWalt and Milwaukee impressed me with their continued functionality despite being seriously beat up and used. I wouldn't say people here disrespect tools, but they don't exactly care for them - they're provided. The Makita was lighter and the Bosch just felt solid and probably had the best chuck of the bunch.

So here are my questions:

If I'm doing commercial and residential, am I looking at a 14.4 or 18v drill? Do I want a hammer drill? With DeWalt I know to go for XRP but there doesn't seem to be an XRP for Lithium Ion... is the base model DeWalt that poor? What about Bosch, is the Compact Tough = el cheapo? Any advice on Milwaukee?

Finally, what about Hilti? They seem tops for heavy duty drilling gear but they offer regular cordless drills as well. I'm interested in their 14.4V Li Ion one but there is no info about it anywhere. Is it good? Worth the price premium, or am I simply paying for the name?

Thanks in advance.

See less See more
#6 ·