Klein CL2300 Clamp, Can't Zero DC Amps - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Tools, Equipment & Safety > Tools, Equipment and New Products

Like Tree6Likes
  • 1 Post By daveEM
  • 1 Post By 99cents
  • 1 Post By inetdog
  • 3 Post By MechanicalDVR

Old 01-11-2017, 12:00 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 16
Default Klein CL2300 Clamp, Can't Zero DC Amps

I purchased a Klein CL2300 meter. Instructions show how to “zero” the DC Amps. But, it won’t zero. It shows -16 amps. Seems to work fine when I use it on welders leads. I’ve done this in the past with analog clamp gauges. Now, with digital, everything pretty well works the same, but can’t zero. I don’t remember having to zero the analog types. I’m not a professional electrician, I’m a welding inspector. I’ve done this a million times in the past, but “zeroing” a digital meter is all new to me.
1. Should it show “zero”, when I zero it?
2. Is it normal that it “not” show zero? Is it picking up stray signals?
3. If this is normal, do I have to “add” that -16 amps to my final positive readings?
4. What should I have for lunch?
Bob
SlingBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE