CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Tools, Equipment & Safety > Tools, Equipment and New Products

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-31-2013, 04:08 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 25
Default Lead anchor setting tool

My setting tool walked off the a couple of weeks ago and I wanted to know where to get the best price. I didn't realize how expensive they are.

Hacksaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 08-31-2013, 04:12 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,359
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

1/4" http://www.amazon.com/Greenlee-868-A...d_sim_sbs_hi_1

3/8" http://www.amazon.com/Greenlee-868-A...d_sim_sbs_hi_1

HackWork is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to HackWork For This Useful Post:
Hacksaw (08-31-2013)
Old 08-31-2013, 04:19 PM   #3
BR549
 
jrannis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South Florida
Posts: 7,970
Rewards Points: 2,188
Default

That's a hollow wall set.
jrannis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 04:22 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,359
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrannis View Post
That's a hollow wall set.
Yes, and its a lead anchor set tool as well
HackWork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 07:04 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 14,058
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hacksaw View Post
My setting tool walked off the a couple of weeks ago and I wanted to know where to get the best price. I didn't realize how expensive they are.
So you stole your first one? Sounds like karma got ya
mcclary's electrical is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to mcclary's electrical For This Useful Post:
CADPoint (09-02-2013), Celtic (08-31-2013), randas (08-31-2013)
Old 08-31-2013, 10:20 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcclary's electrical

So you stole your first one? Sounds like karma got ya
No it was given to me when I was a 3rd year apprentice. An old timer who was retiring told me to keep it.
Hacksaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 10:24 PM   #7
corn-fused
 
papaotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: iowa
Posts: 2,183
Rewards Points: 1,024
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hacksaw View Post
No it was given to me when I was a 3rd year apprentice. An old timer who was retiring told me to keep it.
well that didnt work out so well!sorry
__________________
just because i dont care doesnt mean i dont understand!
papaotis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 10:27 PM   #8
Member
 
Locknutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Midatlantic
Posts: 92
Rewards Points: 77
Default

I have been told by many journeymen that if I get my hands on one to try and hold on to it. Finally got one a month ago. It's been nice not having to track one down when needed.
Locknutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 10:34 PM   #9
Coffee drinking member
 
Wirenuting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: IL
Posts: 8,733
Rewards Points: 2,088
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hacksaw
My setting tool walked off the a couple of weeks ago and I wanted to know where to get the best price. I didn't realize how expensive they are.
I have had mine for 20 years, I picked up a new one when I lost the first.. Soon as I turned around, there was my lost one.
They are expensive, but they last forever. I even use it when setting into solid concrete..
__________________
Teacher, my brain is full... Can I go home now?
Wirenuting is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 12:07 AM   #10
Data Tech/Apprentice.
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Zealand.
Posts: 8,482
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Never seen a lead anchor before, what do you use it in concrete?

__________________
Currently under suspension for unauthorized heroism.
chewy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 06:19 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,359
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wirenuting View Post
I have had mine for 20 years, I picked up a new one when I lost the first.. Soon as I turned around, there was my lost one.
They are expensive, but they last forever. I even use it when setting into solid concrete..
If there's solid concrete, I always use a steel anchor.
HackWork is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to HackWork For This Useful Post:
BBQ (09-01-2013)
Old 09-01-2013, 09:11 AM   #12
Electron Flow Consultant
 
sparky970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Longview, WA
Posts: 3,098
Rewards Points: 2,078
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chewy View Post
Never seen a lead anchor before, what do you use it in concrete?


They are perfect for cinderblock
sparky970 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sparky970 For This Useful Post:
Locknutz (09-01-2013)
Old 09-01-2013, 09:16 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chewy View Post
Never seen a lead anchor before, what do you use it in concrete?
I use them in hadite block.

Hacksaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 12:30 PM   #14
Mad Skills
 
Celtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 5,774
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chewy View Post
Never seen a lead anchor before, what do you use it in concrete?
...our equivalent might be a Buildex Tapcon® [TapCon for short]:







Quote:
Originally Posted by chewy View Post

...or a Hilti Online - Kwik Bolt 3 Wedge Anchor [quickbolt or wedge anchor]
__________________
póg mo thóin
Celtic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 12:51 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
EBFD6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 1,544
Rewards Points: 1,014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wirenuting View Post
I even use it when setting into solid concrete..
Me too. I like not having too worry about the depth of the hole when drilling. You don't have to worry about drilling the hole too deep and needing longer screws. The hollow wall set tool always sets the anchor at the perfect depth.
EBFD6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 01:52 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,359
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EBFD6 View Post
Me too. I like not having too worry about the depth of the hole when drilling. You don't have to worry about drilling the hole too deep and needing longer screws. The hollow wall set tool always sets the anchor at the perfect depth.
Yes, but it sets a much, much weaker anchor.

A piece of tape with a little flag hanging off your drill bit will make sure the hole is the correct depth every time and the flag will wipe away the pile of dust for you.
HackWork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 02:08 PM   #17
Data Tech/Apprentice.
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Zealand.
Posts: 8,482
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

They make SDS bits the exact length for the anchor you use. Doesnt the lead melt in a fire?
__________________
Currently under suspension for unauthorized heroism.
chewy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 02:11 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,359
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chewy View Post
Doesnt the lead melt in a fire?
I dunno. People have always said that, but we've always used the anchors.

I'd be more worried about the thousands of pounds of MC held up in the ceiling by plastic tie wraps.
HackWork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 02:36 PM   #19
Mad Skills
 
Celtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 5,774
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
I dunno. People have always said that, but we've always used the anchors.

I'd be more worried about the thousands of pounds of MC held up in the ceiling by plastic tie wraps.
"Lead anchors" are not intended for overhead use:

http://www.fastenermart.com/html/anchors.html
__________________
póg mo thóin
Celtic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 02:40 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,359
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Celtic View Post
"Lead anchors" are not intended for overhead use:
I never have. I was speaking about equipment and racking attached to block walls.

HackWork is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
%*&^% News Anchor, OOPS electricmanscott Off Topic 18 04-25-2013 01:46 PM
Hilti Anchor App Iphone Cletis General Electrical Discussion 4 11-29-2012 11:58 PM
3 phase, 6 lead motor, wye, lead swap question shady622 General Electrical Discussion 7 02-20-2012 09:49 PM
News Anchor Broads joethemechanic Off Topic 6 11-30-2011 08:27 AM
anchor meter bank cover EddieB General Electrical Discussion 3 11-04-2010 11:51 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:18 PM.


Copyright © 2006-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com