one wire under termination - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Industrial Electrical Forum


Like Tree14Likes
  • 3 Post By HackWork
  • 3 Post By micromind
  • 1 Post By HackWork
  • 1 Post By telsa
  • 1 Post By manchestersparky
  • 1 Post By JRaef
  • 1 Post By HackWork
  • 2 Post By HackWork
  • 1 Post By manchestersparky
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-08-2017, 05:09 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Ill, hanover park
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 6
Default one wire under termination

can you put more then one wire under a termination screw, if not where can I find it in the 2011 nec
reyamkram is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-08-2017, 05:11 PM   #2
Deplorable-Electrician
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: God's Country of Virginia
Posts: 31,247
Rewards Points: 2,128
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reyamkram View Post
can you put more then one wire under a termination screw, if not where can I find it in the 2011 nec
Depends, a termination screw on what?
__________________
I have never claimed to be a nice guy!

"Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere" mlk
MechanicalDVR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 05:19 PM   #3
Profiteer
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 18,019
Rewards Points: 1,254
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reyamkram View Post
can you put more then one wire under a termination screw, if not where can I find it in the 2011 nec
110.3(B) Installation and Use. Listed or labeled equipment
shall be installed and used in accordance with any instructions
included in the listing or labeling.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 05:48 PM   #4
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 5,038
Rewards Points: 732
Default

The last part of 110.14(A)....."Terminals for more than one conductor and terminals used to connect aluminum shall be so identified".
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to micromind For This Useful Post:
telsa (04-10-2017)
Old 04-08-2017, 05:52 PM   #5
Profiteer
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 18,019
Rewards Points: 1,254
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by micromind View Post
The last part of 110.14(A)....."Terminals for more than one conductor and terminals used to connect aluminum shall be so identified".
I never saw that, thanks.
micromind likes this.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 08:13 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 8,762
Rewards Points: 15,800
Default

Half the time... think Stak-ons.

You need to get MUCH more specific.
MechanicalDVR likes this.
telsa is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to telsa For This Useful Post:
MechanicalDVR (04-08-2017)
Old 04-08-2017, 10:11 PM   #7
Professional Nit Picker
 
manchestersparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,996
Rewards Points: 1,640
Default

2011 , 2014, & 2017 NEC -> 408.41
Grounded Conductor Terminations. Each grounded conductor shall terminate within the panelboard in an individual terminal that is not also used for another conductor
micromind likes this.
__________________
Anything Worth Doing ....
Is Worth Doing Right
manchestersparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 01:10 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
JRaef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: SF Bay Area, California
Posts: 4,333
Rewards Points: 2,556
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by manchestersparky View Post
2011 , 2014, & 2017 NEC -> 408.41
Grounded Conductor Terminations. Each grounded conductor shall terminate within the panelboard in an individual terminal that is not also used for another conductor
Well, that's for GROUNDED conductors, and even then, you left out the exception that followed:
Quote:
Exception: Grounded conductors of circuits with parallel
conductors shall be permitted to terminate in a single terminal
if the terminal is identified for connection of more
than one conductor.
Which rolls us back to 110.14.

Bottom line, "saddle clamp" type connectors are often listed for two conductors, because you will see that the clamp has spaces on either side of the screw.


Simple screws and single hole type terminals are almost NEVER rated for more than one wire.
glen1971 likes this.
__________________
"If you don't know where you're going, then any direction will do." -- Lewis Carroll

Last edited by JRaef; 04-10-2017 at 01:16 PM.
JRaef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 01:52 PM   #9
Profiteer
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 18,019
Rewards Points: 1,254
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRaef View Post
Simple screws and single hole type terminals are almost NEVER rated for more than one wire.
...except in every panel known to man. They almost always allow 2 EGC's in the neutral/ground bars which have that simple screw and single hole type terminal.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 03:05 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 174
Rewards Points: 306
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
...except in every panel known to man. They almost always allow 2 EGC's in the neutral/ground bars which have that simple screw and single hole type terminal.
Yep. If it's service equipment, neutrals and grounds go in the same hole when I do it. I think Eaton BR noodle bar holes are rated for 3 or 4 conductors.
matt1124 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 03:07 PM   #11
Profiteer
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 18,019
Rewards Points: 1,254
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matt1124 View Post
Yep. If it's service equipment, neutrals and grounds go in the same hole when I do it. I think Eaton BR noodle bar holes are rated for 3 or 4 conductors.
You can't put neutrals into a hole with another conductor, only grounds. As for how many grounds, I thought it was limited to 2, but I am not sure.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 03:22 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Midwest
Posts: 446
Rewards Points: 650
Default

For terminals like what are in junction boxes or control panels you need to look at the datasheet for the specific terminal #.

Some Allen-Bradley's can have 3 or more under one terminal as long as it is the correct size wire.

If the project specification has a clause that says only one wire per terminal then you're probably bound by that unless you can get an exception.
bill39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 04:25 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 8,762
Rewards Points: 15,800
Default

It's common for large mechanical lugs to accept doubled conductors.

When this is possible it is stamped right on the lug.
telsa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 09:42 PM   #14
Professional Nit Picker
 
manchestersparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,996
Rewards Points: 1,640
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reyamkram View Post
can you put more then one wire under a termination screw, if not where can I find it in the 2011 nec
OK we have given you numerous situations - Now YOU need to tell us what the situation is that you are asking about .
MechanicalDVR likes this.
__________________
Anything Worth Doing ....
Is Worth Doing Right
manchestersparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 09:53 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
JRaef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: SF Bay Area, California
Posts: 4,333
Rewards Points: 2,556
Default

An AHJ will bounce you if it is not CLEARLY stamped into the lug. I have challenged, and won, upon showing a factory data sheet, but it cost me 3 days and another inspection fee... so really, I lost. So note to self; DON'T do that again if the lug is not STAMPED on it that it accepts more than one wire.
__________________
"If you don't know where you're going, then any direction will do." -- Lewis Carroll
JRaef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 10:14 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 8,762
Rewards Points: 15,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRaef View Post
An AHJ will bounce you if it is not CLEARLY stamped into the lug. I have challenged, and won, upon showing a factory data sheet, but it cost me 3 days and another inspection fee... so really, I lost. So note to self; DON'T do that again if the lug is not STAMPED on it that it accepts more than one wire.
I hate when that happens.
telsa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 10:19 PM   #17
still in business
 
sbrn33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: middle america
Posts: 8,770
Rewards Points: 3,492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matt1124 View Post
Yep. If it's service equipment, neutrals and grounds go in the same hole when I do it. I think Eaton BR noodle bar holes are rated for 3 or 4 conductors.
Ooop's
__________________
but this is the economically depressed South and we're just a bunch of barefooted cousin humpers.
sbrn33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 10:29 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 8,762
Rewards Points: 15,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbrn33 View Post
Ooop's
He's been cramming plenty where a (solo) #6 is supposed to go.
telsa is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
16 AWG wire ampacity at higher temperatures Paul Kraemer General Electrical Discussion 5 10-13-2016 05:41 PM
Invisible Dog Fence Wire? John Valdes General Electrical Discussion 11 06-10-2016 10:55 PM
Branch circuit wire for a 12v dc off grid solar cabin Off Grid Alternative Energy Forum 14 05-12-2016 08:13 AM
Wire Strippers for #18 stranded 2 conductor !Tom Tools, Equipment and New Products 22 05-04-2016 08:22 PM
8ga Aluminum Oven Wire vs 8ga Copper Wire? savatreatabvr General Electrical Discussion 17 01-13-2016 07:57 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com