CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-12-2012, 12:45 PM   #1
child please.....
 
NolaTigaBait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hack City, USA aka New Orleans
Posts: 5,287
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default 3 doorbells

Anyone have any ideas as to wire 3 doorbells?...Everything is #18 doorbell wire. I have a 30va 16v transformer, it works great for the 2, but it wont drive them with the 3rd wired up. Is a 40va transformer the soution here or is that too many chimes for this setup?

__________________
REMOVED
NolaTigaBait is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 03-12-2012, 12:47 PM   #2
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 35,275
Rewards Points: 2,088
Default

I'd just up the Va of the transformer.

__________________
Ark: ..............Arch: ................. Arc:
480sparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 12:49 PM   #3
child please.....
 
NolaTigaBait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hack City, USA aka New Orleans
Posts: 5,287
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
I'd just up the Va of the transformer.
You think a 40va will work?...Im trying to find one online but all i see is 24v secondary @ 40va...Im pretty sure the chimes are 16volt
__________________
REMOVED
NolaTigaBait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 12:52 PM   #4
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 35,275
Rewards Points: 2,088
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NolaTigaBait View Post
You think a 40va will work?...Im trying to find one online but all i see is 24v secondary @ 40va...Im pretty sure the chimes are 16volt
No way for me know know if 40Va will work or not.

Another option is to incorporate an ice cube relay with a 16v coil and a second transformer.
__________________
Ark: ..............Arch: ................. Arc:
480sparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 01:03 PM   #5
child please.....
 
NolaTigaBait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hack City, USA aka New Orleans
Posts: 5,287
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
No way for me know know if 40Va will work or not.

Another option is to incorporate an ice cube relay with a 16v coil and a second transformer.
Thats a new one...
__________________
REMOVED
NolaTigaBait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 01:09 PM   #6
child please.....
 
NolaTigaBait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hack City, USA aka New Orleans
Posts: 5,287
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

I wouldnt even know where to begin with that setup.
__________________
REMOVED
NolaTigaBait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 01:14 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 110
Rewards Points: 77
Default What are the ohm readings of the door bell solinoids?

I am not a electrican, but a datacom tech. Regargless, I did pass a very intense avionics program long ago.

If you put three bells in paralell, the total resistance will be less then the smallest resistant in the parellel circuit.

Do you know what the guage wiring is used for the bells?

Try and do a calculation of the resistances

1
________ Get back to us with the answer with the ohm
1 1 1 Remember, the voltage drops in each leg, but not
__+__+__ Current in a parallel leg.
R1 R2 R3
lortech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 06:12 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,415
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lortech View Post
I am not a electrican, but a datacom tech. Regargless, I did pass a very intense avionics program long ago.

If you put three bells in paralell, the total resistance will be less then the smallest resistant in the parellel circuit.

Do you know what the guage wiring is used for the bells?

Try and do a calculation of the resistances

1
________ Get back to us with the answer with the ohm
1 1 1 Remember, the voltage drops in each leg, but not
__+__+__ Current in a parallel leg.
R1 R2 R3
? complicating it too much

I don't see the 40va being a problem but when in doubt go with the 50 lol
CanadianSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 07:27 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 110
Rewards Points: 77
Default yes mabey ;)

I never heard of a three door bell system but maybe its a huge house? Quick hurry, run to the door. sprint the 100 yards

I wonder if a intercom would be more appropriate?
lortech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 08:41 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NE
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Something odd here...since only one button gets pushed at a time, why would it matter if you had 2, 3, or 50? How are you wiring in the 3rd button?
Whatevva is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Whatevva For This Useful Post:
hardworkingstiff (03-13-2012)
Old 03-13-2012, 08:47 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 921
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whatevva View Post
Something odd here...since only one button gets pushed at a time, why would it matter if you had 2, 3, or 50? How are you wiring in the 3rd button?
He has multiple chimes.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
hardworkingstiff (03-13-2012)
Old 03-13-2012, 09:22 AM   #12
still in business
 
sbrn33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: middle america
Posts: 4,641
Rewards Points: 2,028
Default

I have upped the trans to a 24 volt with no real bad results. normal chimes though, no musical or electronic ones. I bet a 30va 24 volt might be a cheap way to solve your problem.
Until some little **** holds the button in for a couple minutes. haha
__________________
Wanna be keyboard wizard.
sbrn33 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 09:36 AM   #13
child please.....
 
NolaTigaBait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hack City, USA aka New Orleans
Posts: 5,287
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbrn33 View Post
I have upped the trans to a 24 volt with no real bad results. normal chimes though, no musical or electronic ones. I bet a 30va 24 volt might be a cheap way to solve your problem.
Until some little **** holds the button in for a couple minutes. haha
I called nutone and the "tech" told me to parallel 2 30va transformers. I dont know if thats a good idea from what ive read on here... I may try that 24v one...they are just standard solenoid style chimes..
__________________
REMOVED
NolaTigaBait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 12:09 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
jw0445's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kirkwood, Pa.
Posts: 564
Rewards Points: 506
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NolaTigaBait View Post
I called nutone and the "tech" told me to parallel 2 30va transformers. I dont know if thats a good idea from what ive read on here... I may try that 24v one...they are just standard solenoid style chimes..
If you bought chime kits I would try paralleling both of the kit transformers rather than buying another one.
jw0445 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 12:16 PM   #15
Moderator
 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 15,472
Rewards Points: 2,072
Default

I have never had an issue with 3 chimes on a 30 watt trany. What kind of chimes are you using. I use a nutone LB-14 recessed chime


Dennis Alwon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 05:31 PM   #16
child please.....
 
NolaTigaBait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hack City, USA aka New Orleans
Posts: 5,287
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Alwon View Post
I have never had an issue with 3 chimes on a 30 watt trany. What kind of chimes are you using. I use a nutone LB-14 recessed chime


Some off brand the supply house has. I need to check on that.
__________________
REMOVED
NolaTigaBait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 06:45 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 654
Rewards Points: 518
Default

If it is a class 2 circuit it would be a violation to parallel it. I assume 3 chimes that must ring together and not 1 chime with 3 tones for different doors?
Get a larger transformer if it is 3 chimes to ring together. 24 volts for really long runs will partly deal with VD if the chimes are 16 volts.

Mshea is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 Doorbells, 1 pushbutton TOOL_5150 General Electrical Discussion 24 09-01-2011 03:03 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:50 AM.


Copyright 2006-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com