CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-01-2008, 12:38 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: GA
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Default 800 amp service

I have an 800 amp service and the distance from the power company's transformer to the meter can is 500'. What size conductors should be used? The service is single phase 120/240 v. and the load will be around 575 amps...Any help you can provide will be greatly appreciated.

Bootleggersboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 10-01-2008, 01:21 PM   #2
Electron Flow Consultant
 
sparky970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Longview, WA
Posts: 3,049
Rewards Points: 0
Default

I think if I were doing this, I would pull parallel 500's.

sparky970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 04:17 PM   #3
Moderator
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY State
Posts: 9,030
Rewards Points: 0
Default

You say you have the service? Is it already installed? Or is this a new job you are doing?
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 04:40 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,966
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Interesting. How many meters and panels do you mean to have? Most residential (single phase) sockets I'm familiar with are rated 320 amps, tops.
waco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 05:47 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Savannah GA
Posts: 323
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by waco View Post
Interesting. How many meters and panels do you mean to have? Most residential (single phase) sockets I'm familiar with are rated 320 amps, tops.
Probably has a ct cabinet

2 sets of 500's
ralph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 06:10 PM   #6
Moderator
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY State
Posts: 9,030
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ralph View Post
Probably has a ct cabinet
Yeah, but he says "...from the power company's transformer to the meter can is 500'..".
The conductors from the pole do not go to the meter pan in a CT metered service.

Also, a 575A load? In a residence I find this hard to believe. Commercially why not go three-phase? Maybe it was not available at the location?

A LOT more information is needed here.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 07:04 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Eighty Four,Pa.15330
Posts: 7,105
Rewards Points: 4
Default

My neighbor across from me (3/4 mile) has a 800 amp service.Switch gear like you see in an office complex. 4 200 amp subpanels.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 08:46 PM   #8
Licensed Journeyman
 
nolabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: third world/New Orleans to Mobile
Posts: 5,797
Rewards Points: 0
Default

square d easy pacs are 800+ amps for resis - i have set several 800 and 1200 amp easy pacs - i cant remember off the top of my head what the size was - if i remember right it was three 600 mcm aluminum per phase for the 1200 amp and three 400 mcm aluminum per phase for the 800 amp panels
oh btw what does the engineer say - you gotta have an engineer drawing for this service - no drawing, no permit, no inspection

Last edited by nolabama; 10-01-2008 at 09:25 PM.
nolabama is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 09:30 PM   #9
Licensed Journeyman
 
nolabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: third world/New Orleans to Mobile
Posts: 5,797
Rewards Points: 0
Default

online calculator says 500' and 550 amps ( maximum range btw ) is 2000 MCM
nolabama is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 06:54 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Mountain Electrician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 971
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bootleggersboy View Post
I have an 800 amp service and the distance from the power company's transformer to the meter can is 500'. What size conductors should be used? The service is single phase 120/240 v. and the load will be around 575 amps...Any help you can provide will be greatly appreciated.
Seems odd you need to calc the service entrance conductors. Here we install them, but the POCO does all the engineering. Anyway, if you're worried about voltage drop, don't be. An 800A service would take parallel 500KCM, and at that wire size, length and load you stated the VD would be around 7.5 volts.



VD=2R X L X I
____________

CM

Voltage drop is equal to 2 times the resistive property of the conductor per foot(2R), times the length(L), times the load(I), divided by the conductor area in circular mills (CM)

NEC Chapter 9, Table 8 has these properties.


The resistive prop of copper is around 12.9 and you would divide the load in half for the parallel conductor, so:
26*500*287.5 = 3737500/500000 =7.47

drop of around 7.5 volts per cable

Max suggested VD is 5% of 240, or 12 volts.
Mountain Electrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 08:41 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
chenley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 665
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Same here, POCO will install conductors from transformer to meter. If going underground they will tell me the type and size of conduit they want and we just have to install the peice going down and the 90, they do the rest.
chenley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 08:54 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
brian john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 25,141
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sparky970 View Post
I think if I were doing this, I would pull parallel 500's.

Why guess?

http://www.csgnetwork.com/voltagedropcalc.html
brian john is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 07:24 PM   #13
Licensed Journeyman
 
nolabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: third world/New Orleans to Mobile
Posts: 5,797
Rewards Points: 0
Default

thanks for the new calculator brianjohn
oh and it must be nice for your pocos to do that stuff for you

the condo project with the easy pacs we had to provide the conductors from transformer to meter and we had to provide the drawings
it guess it depends the last underground i did they provided conductors


Last edited by nolabama; 10-02-2008 at 07:32 PM.
nolabama is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
800 amp service sparkyflettgr Services and Service Equipment 14 06-13-2010 05:24 AM
service conductors searay2006 NEC Code Forum 28 12-17-2009 03:11 PM
How to keep that old fuse box in service... Billy_Bob Code Violation Discussion 6 08-26-2008 01:24 PM
All in one service Bkessler General Electrical Discussion 0 09-04-2007 03:22 PM
Service we did K&R Services and Service Equipment 14 05-31-2007 04:25 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:34 PM.


Copyright 2006-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com