CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-31-2011, 10:38 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 3,026
Send a message via Yahoo to doubleoh7
Default Breaker Interchange

Breaker interchangeability - I really need to study up on the stuff. Today, on a service call, I added a 20 amp Siemens S.P. breaker to a Murray panel. Is that a listed interchange?

doubleoh7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 05-31-2011, 10:40 PM   #2
Dr Evil
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 14,522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doubleoh7 View Post
Breaker interchangeability - I really need to study up on the stuff. Today, on a service call, I added a 20 amp Siemens S.P. breaker to a Murray panel. Is that a listed interchange?
Siemens and Murray are one of the same.....Murray is Siemens cheap knock off brand.

Shockdoc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 10:41 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N.E.
Posts: 16,081
Default

Well technically, Siemens and Murray are not interchangeable despite being absolutely identical. I still interchange them anyway.

Now, if we are talking about mixing and matching other brands, that is just plain hack.
user4818 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to user4818 For This Useful Post:
220/221 (06-01-2011)
Old 05-31-2011, 10:42 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N.E.
Posts: 16,081
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shockdoc View Post
Murray is Siemens cheap knock off brand.
The only difference on the breakers is the name. The panels are slightly different but still share many of the same features.
user4818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 10:43 PM   #5
Dr Evil
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 14,522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter D View Post
The only difference on the breakers is the name. The panels are slightly different but still share many of the same features.
Siemens usually sports a copper bus and bus length neutral bars.
Shockdoc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 10:45 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N.E.
Posts: 16,081
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shockdoc View Post
Siemens usually sports a copper bus and bus length neutral bars.
Yeah. And Siemens has the neutral terminals backed out and they are square drive. Murray still uses old fashioned straight blade neutral bar terminals.
user4818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 10:46 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 3,026
Send a message via Yahoo to doubleoh7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter D View Post
The only difference on the breakers is the name. The panels are slightly different but still share many of the same features.


I thought they were cousins. I was having second thoughts. I would hate to burn up someone's bussbar. The panel was hackorama,maybe ten years old. I asked the customer, (HO's son) who wired the home? He said, well the guys that did it weren't really electricians. I laughed out loud and said "yeah, I can tell".
doubleoh7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 11:03 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 870
Default

There's a few lists out there. A quick Google search brought up this list.

Its a PDF file by the way.
Mike_586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 11:05 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 3,026
Send a message via Yahoo to doubleoh7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_586 View Post
There's a few lists out there. A quick Google search brought up this list.

Its a PDF file by the way.

I need to print that off and keep it in the trailer.
doubleoh7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 11:21 PM   #10
Heavily Armed Member
 
HARRY304E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Reporting from the east coast of Moonbatchusetts..
Posts: 39,497
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter D View Post
Well technically, Siemens and Murray are not interchangeable despite being absolutely identical. I still interchange them anyway.

Now, if we are talking about mixing and matching other brands, that is just plain hack.
Yes they are..


Murray and Siemens are the same.


Murray = Chevy

Seimens =Cadillac
__________________
ES2 Flat Rate Software
HARRY304E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 11:23 PM   #11
Heavily Armed Member
 
HARRY304E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Reporting from the east coast of Moonbatchusetts..
Posts: 39,497
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter D View Post
Yeah. And Siemens has the neutral terminals backed out and they are square drive. Murray still uses old fashioned straight blade neutral bar terminals.

Murray has not use the straight blade neutral bar terminals for a long time now..
__________________
ES2 Flat Rate Software
HARRY304E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 11:32 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N.E.
Posts: 16,081
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HARRY304E View Post
Yes they are..


Murray and Siemens are the same.


Murray = Chevy

Seimens =Cadillac
So if they are the same, why is one a Chevy and one a Cadillac?
user4818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 11:36 PM   #13
Heavily Armed Member
 
HARRY304E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Reporting from the east coast of Moonbatchusetts..
Posts: 39,497
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter D View Post
So if they are the same, why is one a Chevy and one a Cadillac?
Top Shelf

Bottom Shelf....
__________________
ES2 Flat Rate Software
HARRY304E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 11:40 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N.E.
Posts: 16,081
Default

Harry --------->
user4818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 11:58 PM   #15
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 17,304
Default

Every once in a while you'll get Seimens breakers in Murray packages, and vice-versa. More and more, I favor carrying a classified-replacement breaker on the truck (generally from CH), rather than carrying so many odd brands for service calls. If I'm doing a project where I KNOW I'll be using a bunch of a certain brand, I'll buy that brand particular for that panel. For service work, I just use a type CL breaker, unless I happen to have the right one kicking around on the truck.
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 02:50 AM   #16
Heavily Armed Member
 
HARRY304E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Reporting from the east coast of Moonbatchusetts..
Posts: 39,497
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter D View Post
Harry --------->

Too comlpicated for you ehh pete..
__________________
ES2 Flat Rate Software
HARRY304E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 07:44 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 4,868
Default

Like Marc said, I only carry three types of breaker generally. Cutler Hammer CH, Square D QO, and Cutler Hammer CL.

If I'm doing a remodel or new work I'll get the brand breakers, but there is no reason to not have a case or two of the CL breakers on board.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 08:32 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N.E.
Posts: 16,081
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HARRY304E View Post
Too comlpicated for you ehh pete..
Not quite. You don't make any sense. The breakers are identical and the panels nearly identical. I don't see how one is Cadillac and one is a Chevy. They are both a Chevy.
user4818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 08:34 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N.E.
Posts: 16,081
Default

I carry most Homeline since that is my main brand, followed by Cutler Hammer (since I run into a lot of Bryant, Challenger, Westinghouse, T&B and C-H panels) as well as a few boxes of mixed Siemens/Murray stuff. I really should mix it up with some CL though.
user4818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 08:53 AM   #20
Electric Al
 
oldtimer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,619
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter D View Post
Not quite. You don't make any sense. The breakers are identical and the panels nearly identical. I don't see how one is Cadillac and one is a Chevy. They are both a Chevy.
I totally agree with you. But Little Dog knows best!!

__________________
OK, so what's the speed of dark?

Steven Wright
oldtimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
40/60 breaker wirenut1110 General Electrical Discussion 23 04-25-2011 09:24 PM
28V interchange sparky723 Tools, Equipment and New Products 1 11-28-2010 12:40 PM
Can I put a breaker box here? den NEC Code Forum 31 11-09-2010 11:13 PM
breaker on, wires have voltage; breaker off, wires have continuity. How can this Be? Weskey General Electrical Discussion 6 10-08-2009 08:47 PM
Hot Breaker Podagrower General Electrical Discussion 42 08-21-2009 11:08 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:40 PM.


Copyright © 2006-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com