can the circuit breaker finder be used in the old house fuse panel? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree9Likes
  • 1 Post By drsparky
  • 4 Post By samgregger
  • 1 Post By PlugsAndLights
  • 1 Post By Semi-Ret Electrician
  • 1 Post By Semi-Ret Electrician
  • 1 Post By telsa
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2017, 08:53 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: canada
Posts: 152
Rewards Points: 304
Default can the circuit breaker finder be used in the old house fuse panel?

has anybody tried that?
mike883 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-08-2017, 09:09 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
drsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Presque Isle, Maine
Posts: 6,614
Rewards Points: 212
Default

Should, but can always make you own. Plug in a drop light with Cooper BP1008 Button Flasher under the bulb. Then look for the pulsing circuit with a clamp on amp meter at the panel.
splatz likes this.
__________________

drsparky is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to drsparky For This Useful Post:
Semi-Ret Electrician (01-08-2017)
Old 01-08-2017, 09:51 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Fleetside, RI
Posts: 333
Rewards Points: 639
Default

or put an old door bell transformer and a bell on a 4 square box and put a cord on it. Plug it in and when you hear the bell stop ringing you shut off the right circuit.
samgregger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 10:03 PM   #4
Safety Pin Member
 
PlugsAndLights's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 1,453
Rewards Points: 1,284
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by samgregger View Post
or put an old door bell transformer and a bell on a 4 square box and put a cord on it. Plug it in and when you hear the bell stop ringing you shut off the right circuit.
Why don't they sell plug testers with this built into them?
P&L
Majewski likes this.
__________________
As far as possible, without surrender, be on good terms with all persons. Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even to the dull and the ignorant; they too have their story. Avoid loud and aggressive persons; they are vexatious to the spirit. ~Desiderata
PlugsAndLights is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 11:55 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Semi-Ret Electrician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 2,972
Rewards Points: 216
Default

I put a box together that if connected between a fuse or breaker and the branch circuit it would turn the circuit on an off.

Another way would be to have a helper flip the breaker on and off
Majewski likes this.
Semi-Ret Electrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2017, 12:18 AM   #6
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 19,823
Rewards Points: 1,976
Default

I wanna be able to plug in a little device and then hear ''Gimme Three Steps'' playing when I wand the proper breaker on the other end.
macmikeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2017, 12:22 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Semi-Ret Electrician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 2,972
Rewards Points: 216
Default

I sometimes hook my greenlee toner around a circuit and trace wiring, in an attic, all the way back to a panelboard, never leaving the 1st floor.
telsa likes this.
Semi-Ret Electrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2017, 02:04 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 6,058
Rewards Points: 10,390
Default

Edison fuses = ancient = tiny...

Typically < eight circuits.

An extension cord and a plug tester -- works, too.

Lighting circuits are easy, as they are on switch legs.

There are so FEW residences dependent upon Edison fuses -- there's no reason to trick things up.

I don't work that end of the street, but I'd kill off every fuse box I run into. Policy, that's all.
MechanicalDVR likes this.
telsa is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to telsa For This Useful Post:
chadnodine (01-09-2017)
Old 01-09-2017, 02:19 AM   #9
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 19,823
Rewards Points: 1,976
Default

When I see a fuse box, I know the insulation is falling off the conductors. A knob and tube each and every time around here. Having said that though, I remember the house I grew up in located in Florida had a fuse box at one point before upgrade. It was wired with old 1960's two conductor romex, so my first sentence only applies to my area.
macmikeman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to macmikeman For This Useful Post:
telsa (01-09-2017)
Old 01-09-2017, 02:53 AM   #10
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 11,983
Rewards Points: 4,142
Default

I dunno about a circuit breaker finder but a jobsite radio cranked up loud on a metal station works.

Never tried it but a jobsite radio or shop vac with walky talkies could work too (walky talkies are cheap).

Last edited by 99cents; 01-09-2017 at 03:00 AM.
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2017, 02:58 AM   #11
Deplorable-Electrician
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: LIMBO
Posts: 18,098
Rewards Points: 7,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike883 View Post
has anybody tried that?
Yes and it worked fine.
__________________
Leig na libearalaich bs!
MechanicalDVR is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Arc fault option Anathera General Electrical Discussion 175 07-08-2016 07:35 PM
for side job: how much charge for changing the fuse panel to 100A breaker panel? mike883 General Electrical Discussion 38 06-14-2016 12:49 AM
Upgrading and outdoor screw-in fuse box to a circuit breaker type box Jimmi328 Residential Electrical Forum 2 03-26-2016 09:09 PM
Is this overkill? MTW NEC Code Forum 81 03-20-2016 10:26 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com