Can I use old breaker panel as a sub panel - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree6Likes
  • 3 Post By HackWork
  • 1 Post By Majewski
  • 1 Post By MechanicalDVR
  • 1 Post By Signal1
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2016, 11:30 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Hillsboro Ohio
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 2
Default Can I use old breaker panel as a sub panel

We put an addition on old home and when adding on put in new 200 amp service on far end. Old breaker box is now like a subpanel with wiring to a few items we didn't have access to either because of wiring or walls. Anyway old panel has mostly 220 breakers in it. Stove. Dryer. Hot water heater and 3 small 110 breakers to kitchen. I went to get a breaker for dryer that was flaky and they say they are no longer accessible. Said they were stab lok or something. My panel says Wadsworth on it. They say these caused a lot of fires at one time. So I was wanting to buy a new midsize panel at and replace. When they added to this one they didn't separate neutral and ground on bus bars on old panel. I read that this should be done. What would I need to do to put in a new panel to replace this old one?
marshall361 is offline  
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-09-2016, 11:49 AM   #2
Click Here
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 15,335
Rewards Points: 4,636
Default

"What would I need to do to put in a new panel to replace this old one?"

Hire an electrician.
electricguy, Majewski and MikeFL like this.
HackWork is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to HackWork For This Useful Post:
Majewski (07-09-2016)
Old 07-09-2016, 11:49 AM   #3
Big nosed attic troll
 
Majewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: In a van down by the river!
Posts: 6,938
Rewards Points: 1,600
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marshall361 View Post
We put an addition on old home and when adding on put in new 200 amp service on far end. Old breaker box is now like a subpanel with wiring to a few items we didn't have access to either because of wiring or walls. Anyway old panel has mostly 220 breakers in it. Stove. Dryer. Hot water heater and 3 small 110 breakers to kitchen. I went to get a breaker for dryer that was flaky and they say they are no longer accessible. Said they were stab lok or something. My panel says Wadsworth on it. They say these caused a lot of fires at one time. So I was wanting to buy a new midsize panel at and replace. When they added to this one they didn't separate neutral and ground on bus bars on old panel. I read that this should be done. What would I need to do to put in a new panel to replace this old one?
Call an electrician, that's the best thing anyone on here will probably have to say. Oh... Ibtl
MechanicalDVR likes this.
__________________
I've been alive as long as I can remember.
Majewski is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Majewski For This Useful Post:
Service Call (07-09-2016)
Old 07-09-2016, 03:46 PM   #4
Deplorable-Electrician
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: God's Country of Virginia
Posts: 24,228
Rewards Points: 17,446
Default

Yuppers, just about that time to go call a professional that does this stuff fer a livin. IBTL
Majewski likes this.
__________________
DJT, making libtards cry since 20 Jan 2017
MechanicalDVR is online now  
Old 07-09-2016, 04:45 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Signal1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Boston Area
Posts: 789
Rewards Points: 460
Default

If that old panel that's "now like a sub-panel" used to be service equipment, it is most likely fed by the wrong type of cable now.

You need an electrician. Sorry marshall but we can't help you here.
Majewski likes this.
Signal1 is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub Panel Breaker Bakski Canadian Electrical Code Forum 13 06-27-2016 08:16 AM
for side job: how much charge for changing the fuse panel to 100A breaker panel? mike883 General Electrical Discussion 38 06-13-2016 11:49 PM
Breaker Panel Code B-Dew NEC Code Forum 1 04-15-2016 06:47 AM
Breaker Panel in clothe closet Teaspoon General Electrical Discussion 9 03-22-2016 03:34 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com