controlling attic fan? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2010, 10:23 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,226
Rewards Points: 500
Default controlling attic fan?

What variable speed control device would you guys use for a small whole house ventltor fan with a 115v 2.3 amp motor? Have tried hi med low Broan bath fan controller and didnt work well. Any info appreciated.
GEORGE D is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 04-23-2010, 10:25 PM   #2
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 35,832
Rewards Points: 496
Default

Most whole-house fan manufacturers make a two-speed controller.

__________________
Ark: ............... Arch: ..................Arc:
480sparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 10:26 PM   #3
Chairman of the Bored
 
BuzzKill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 9,564
Rewards Points: 2,124
Default

...that or what comes with it? a temp setting/regulator?
__________________
I'd rather be sleeping.
BuzzKill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 10:33 PM   #4
Les Voltage
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: MS
Posts: 907
Default

If when you say "didnt work well" you mean, didnt pull much air. You need to make sure it has a way for the air flow both ways.

If not, disregard
Voltech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 10:34 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,226
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Your right, instead I failed to mention it has a 2 speed pull-chain switch but barely differentiates between the two. I was wondering what controller would do a better job at that?
GEORGE D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 10:49 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: kentucky
Posts: 10,137
Rewards Points: 656
Default

Can you just install a two temperature setting switch in the attic and just forget about it?
RIVETER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 10:55 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,006
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Are you talking about an attic fan or a whole house fan?
crazyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 10:58 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
cdnelectrician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,785
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
Most whole-house fan manufacturers make a two-speed controller.

Boy that thing is helluva ugly! Wouldn't want to see that on my bathroom wall!
cdnelectrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 11:02 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,366
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

As posted- you need air in to get air out. Normally one would use a line volt T-stat- with an over ride feature.Or the device provided with the unit.
leland is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 11:04 PM   #10
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 35,832
Rewards Points: 496
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdnelectrician View Post
Boy that thing is helluva ugly! Wouldn't want to see that on my bathroom wall!

Who puts whole-house fans in bathrooms?
__________________
Ark: ............... Arch: ..................Arc:
480sparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 11:08 PM   #11
Les Voltage
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: MS
Posts: 907
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RIVETER View Post
Can you just install a two temperature setting switch in the attic and just forget about it?
Whole house fans dont work like that. You dont want them to pull out the bought air.
Voltech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 11:12 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: kentucky
Posts: 10,137
Rewards Points: 656
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Voltech View Post
Whole house fans dont work like that. You dont want them to pull out the bought air.
I thought he said attic fan...my bad.
RIVETER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 11:16 PM   #13
Les Voltage
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: MS
Posts: 907
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RIVETER View Post
I thought he said attic fan...my bad.
My house is sealed tight, when I put my WHF in I had learn the hard way how they work. My system is perfected by doing it the wrong way the 1st time.
Voltech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 11:19 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: kentucky
Posts: 10,137
Rewards Points: 656
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Voltech View Post
My house is sealed tight, when I put my WHF in I had learn the hard way how they work. My system is perfected by doing it the wrong way the 1st time.
Mine is an attic fan that mounts through the roof; The temp. controller actuates the fan when the heat gets to 95 degrees.
RIVETER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 11:27 PM   #15
Ambassador of Amps
 
TOOL_5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: sf bay area, CA
Posts: 9,332
Rewards Points: 2,050
Default

when I installed my whole house fan, I just used a 3 way switch to control the 2 speeds, and a timer to control on/off.

~Matt
__________________
I HAVE THE RIGHT TO OFFEND ANYONE I PLEASE. YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO BE OFFENDED, YOU DO NOT HAVE THE RIGHT TO SHUT ME UP.

Advertising space available. Inquire within.
TOOL_5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 03:02 AM   #16
Circumcised Member
 
idontknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sebring, FL
Posts: 277
Rewards Points: 250
Default

What about a ceiling fan remote control? They're about $30-40 and give 3 speed control.
idontknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 11:47 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 296
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by idontknow View Post
What about a ceiling fan remote control? They're about $30-40 and give 3 speed control.
probably not designed to handle the current drawn by a whole house fan.

there are fan speed controls for higher amperages available - it must be a PSC type motor but most usually are. If two speed motor most cases I would use the two speed taps and a double throw switch (could use std 3 way but will need additional on - off switch.

There are automatic controls that vary the speed based on temperature, they will be pricey compared to a manual controller. I commonly see these controlling ventilation on livestock buildings and up to 1/2 hp or even more will not necessarily have the "look" desired in a home and most likely in a NEMA 13X enclosure.
kwired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 11:51 AM   #18
not THAT old!
 
Electric Al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Quebec Canada
Posts: 359
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Yes, there are controls. e.g. Honeywell makes one. It is a thermostat that closes on temperature rise. Commonly used in cattle barns etc.
Electric Al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 12:14 PM   #19
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 35,832
Rewards Points: 496
Default

OK, it seems there's some confusion as to what kind of fan is involved here.

Is it a whole-house fan, that is installed in the ceiling of the top floor......


......... is controlled by a pull-chain or a wall switch, and designed to cool the living space of the house?



OR, is it an attic fan that is not visible from the finished areas.........



...........that is controlled by a thermostat and is designed to remove heat from the attic only?
__________________
Ark: ............... Arch: ..................Arc:

Last edited by 480sparky; 04-24-2010 at 12:16 PM.
480sparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 12:46 PM   #20
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 17,358
Rewards Points: 2,106
Default

I normally use a make-on-temperature-rise line voltage wall stat and a 3-way switch to pick which speed.
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Attic Suprises Mike Guile General Electrical Discussion 30 03-06-2010 03:45 AM
Attic Romex tie-in rmsowell Residential Electrical Forum 13 11-23-2009 09:49 PM
Controlling direction on VFD Ferrari_man PLCs, VFDs, Motors and Controls 12 11-16-2009 11:27 PM
Firestat for attic ventilator B4T Residential Electrical Forum 4 06-08-2009 06:52 PM
Wires in the attic... waco General Electrical Discussion 5 09-08-2008 10:11 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com