Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-04-2013, 09:04 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Aegis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada, Toronto
Posts: 1,165
Default Duct Bank Spacing

I have 9 Ducts coming into an electrical room for a switch gear. There's two 4" for communication coming in and it's close to the main 600v 4"s. Anyone know about spacing between the power and communication ducts? There will be concrete in between but I'm wondering what the minimum should be.

Aegis is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!
Old 12-04-2013, 09:48 AM   #2
Heavily Armed Member
 
HARRY304E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Not Available In Massholechussetts
Posts: 38,514
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aegis View Post
I have 9 Ducts coming into an electrical room for a switch gear. There's two 4" for communication coming in and it's close to the main 600v 4"s. Anyone know about spacing between the power and communication ducts? There will be concrete in between but I'm wondering what the minimum should be.
Look in article 800

__________________
ES2 Flat Rate Software
HARRY304E is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 10:33 AM   #3
BBQ
Salty Member
 
BBQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New England
Posts: 31,028
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HARRY304E View Post
Look in article 800
He is from Canada.
BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 10:56 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 177
Default

60-308 Separation from other conductors  (1) The conductors of an electrical communication system in a building shall be separated at least 50 mm from any insulated conductor of a Class 1 circuit or an electric light or power system operating at 300 V or less, and shall be separated at least 600 mm from any insulated conductor or an electric light or power system operating at more than 300 V, unless (a) one system is in grounded metal raceways, metal-sheathed cable, or grounded armoured cable; (b) the Class 1 circuit or electric light or power system operating at 300 V or less utilizes a hard-usage or extra-hard-usage flexible cord selected in accordance with Rule 4-012(1); or (c) both systems are permanently separated by a continuous, firmly fixed non-metal raceway in addition to the insulation of the conductors.

60-602 Underground raceway
Where communication conductors or cable assemblies are placed in underground raceway systems
(a) the raceway, including laterals, shall be separated from those used for the electric power system by not less
than 50 mm of concrete or 300 mm of well-tamped earth;

Last edited by BlackHowling; 12-04-2013 at 10:59 AM.
BlackHowling is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to BlackHowling For This Useful Post:
Aegis (12-04-2013)
Old 12-04-2013, 03:42 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Aegis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada, Toronto
Posts: 1,165
Default

Awesome! Thanks
Aegis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duct Bank Tying Aegis General Electrical Discussion 25 06-29-2013 08:43 AM
Al in duct bank denny3992 General Electrical Discussion 7 11-14-2012 07:57 PM
Gas Line near Duct Bank Aegis Canadian Electrical Code Forum 13 08-20-2012 06:28 PM
Duct bank questions Dnkldorf Commercial Electrical Forum 19 05-28-2010 12:21 PM
Primary duct bank question gillman123 Commercial Electrical Forum 9 05-12-2010 06:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:10 PM.


Copyright 2006-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2