CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Old 01-06-2010, 01:23 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question Electrical Engineering to Electrician

I am hoping that someone might be able to offer me some advice regarding a possible career change.

For the past seven years since I graduated college I have been working as an Electrical Engineer for a large defense company. My educational background includes a Bachelors degree in Computer Science and a Masters degree in Electrical Engineering. Over these years I have grown increasingly bored/dissatisfied with sitting behind a desk for 9-10 hrs per day. I have been exploring some alternatives and I really feel that a career as an electrician would combine my love of electrical engineering with my desire to have a job where I am not glued to a desk day in and day out. I enjoy doing all aspects of home construction/renovation outside of work, so the physical side of being an electrician would not be something I was opposed to.

I am looking for advice on whether such a career switch would be possible given my background. My concern revolves around the fact that I have a wife and kids that I need to support so it would probably not be feasible for me to take a huge pay cut to become a full time apprentice for the next 4 years. Is there any possibility that I would be able to become an Electrician given my situation? My goal is to become a Journeyman Electrician and then gain the necessary experience and training to become a Master Electrician someday. I have had limited success finding any information on how I would go about entering the field so any advice you could offer here would be greatly appreciated also. Thank you very much for your help.

vikings80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!