Exhaust Fan nightmare - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-28-2011, 07:34 AM   #1
rcd
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: uk
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default Exhaust Fan nightmare

Hi.

A friend wanted to replace a timer that works their bathroom exhaust fan. The one in there is the wind up type that makes noise until it clicks off.
They decided to spring and get the push button professional looking type. When they hook it up the fan immediately turns on and they can't turn it off.
It's not the switch as they got a replacement one and it does the same thing.
The box has a black and white coming in.
They tested to see which one has the load and it's the white one.
Can anyone help get this thing going? Thanks in advance.
rcd is offline  
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 11-28-2011, 07:42 AM   #2
Moderator

 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 17,215
Rewards Points: 8,851
Default

Have you gone over there? We cannot help none electricians work on their homes. Sorry.
Dennis Alwon is offline  
Old 11-28-2011, 07:42 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 77
Default

You'll soon hear from others on here that you should hire a pro.
Wyremonkey is offline  
Old 11-28-2011, 07:53 AM   #4
Jesus Scott
 
electricmanscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 9,290
Rewards Points: 110
Default

I'll come fix it but I'll need compensation for travel time and arrangements.
__________________
Quote:
Life is hard
electricmanscott is offline  
Old 11-28-2011, 08:06 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,692
Rewards Points: 704
Default

Tie the microwave to the stove circuit
mcclary's electrical is offline  
Old 11-28-2011, 08:54 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 4,868
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcclary's electrical View Post
Tie the microwave to the stove circuit
That may fly in your neck of the woods, but here in North Alabama we are required to tie the microwave to the A/C disconnect.
InPhase277 is offline  
Old 11-28-2011, 01:47 PM   #7
animal lover /rat bastard
 
wildleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: central east coast us
Posts: 11,284
Rewards Points: 5,188
Send a message via ICQ to wildleg
Default

are these the same folks that are always humping upstairs ?
__________________
If you are going to sit back on your laurels and armchair quarterback the NEC, you will always be 3 years too late. Start threads now for the next code cycle proposals and do something about it
wildleg is offline  
Old 11-28-2011, 04:38 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
B W E's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Simi Valley, Ca.
Posts: 2,486
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Most electronic timer switches have a neutral, in fact, I think they all do. Based on what you said, you have a switch loop coming into the box, and DO NOT HAVE A NEUTRAL. Therefore, you cannot use that, or any other, electronic pushbutton timer switch.

What's the model number of the switch you are trying to install?
__________________
Amazing love, how can it be, that you, my King, would die for me?
B W E is offline  
Old 11-28-2011, 05:05 PM   #9
Licensed Journeyman
 
nolabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: third world/New Orleans to Mobile
Posts: 5,827
Rewards Points: 2,012
Default

I love the fact the white wire is the load....anywho you cant get there from here. You will need a 700 HT3 for the timer....
__________________
“Dammit, Smithers, this isn’t rocket science, it’s brain surgery!”
nolabama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nightmare from h@@@ bfd_ast Residential Electrical Forum 1 09-13-2011 10:26 PM
who else sees the nightmare here? jhall.sparky Residential Electrical Forum 3 08-20-2011 12:06 PM
Nightmare OKInspector Code Violation Discussion 26 07-17-2011 02:13 AM
Step lighting nightmare..... B W E General Electrical Discussion 9 06-25-2011 09:26 PM
Wiring nightmare backstay General Electrical Discussion 27 05-17-2011 07:42 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:25 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com