CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-12-2010, 06:24 PM   #1
Fried Bologna um um good!
 
jwjrw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: nc
Posts: 8,092
Default f40t12 to f32t8

I have a customer that wants to change to t-8 fixtures(2x4 lay ins). Are retrofit kits the cheapest way to go? If so who makes the best ones? Also this is a business are there any tax credits for upgrading to more energy efficient lights?

__________________
The more I learn the less I seem to know......
jwjrw is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 05-12-2010, 06:52 PM   #2
child please.....
 
NolaTigaBait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hack City, USA aka New Orleans
Posts: 5,284
Default

I think retros are the easiest way. Just buy a 3/4 lamp ballast , gut the old ones and install the ballast and lamps...pretty easy...Check with your poco , they may offer a rebaye also the fed does as well.

NolaTigaBait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 06:56 PM   #3
Fried Bologna um um good!
 
jwjrw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: nc
Posts: 8,092
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NolaTigaBait View Post
I think retros are the easiest way. Just buy a 3/4 lamp ballast , gut the old ones and install the ballast and lamps...pretty easy...Check with your poco , they may offer a rebaye also the fed does as well.
I was looking for a kit that has sockets and a ballast. All of these fixtures have at least 1 socket broke. So you are saying you just buy an electronis ballast and lamps?
__________________
The more I learn the less I seem to know......
jwjrw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 07:01 PM   #4
child please.....
 
NolaTigaBait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hack City, USA aka New Orleans
Posts: 5,284
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwjrw View Post
I was looking for a kit that has sockets and a ballast. All of these fixtures have at least 1 socket broke. So you are saying you just buy an electronis ballast and lamps?
Yeah, then just replace which sockets are bad...if there is only 1 or 2 bad sockets, then it's worth it....When you start changing out more than that, it may be more economical to change the entire troffer...I've seen at HD , 3 lamps troffer with a whip for under 50 bucks...
NolaTigaBait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 07:03 PM   #5
B4T
Scotchkote Installer
 
B4T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Long Island, N.Y.
Posts: 30,628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwjrw View Post
I was looking for a kit that has sockets and a ballast. All of these fixtures have at least 1 socket broke. So you are saying you just buy an electronis ballast and lamps?

You can use the same sockets for the T-8 lamps
__________________
Welcome to ET.. where the clowns don't need a tent to try and make people laugh.. http://steelturman.typepad.com/photo...f_clowns_2.jpg
B4T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 07:05 PM   #6
Fried Bologna um um good!
 
jwjrw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: nc
Posts: 8,092
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black4Truck View Post
You can use the same sockets for the T-8 lamps

Yea I know they are the same. You just need to know if you have the longer or shorter ones.
__________________
The more I learn the less I seem to know......
jwjrw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 08:20 PM   #7
child please.....
 
NolaTigaBait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hack City, USA aka New Orleans
Posts: 5,284
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwjrw View Post
Yea I know they are the same. You just need to know if you have the longer or shorter ones.
bp-lp....bi pin low profile sockets for lay-ins....Oh yeah and use shunted sockets or use the jumper for non shunted
NolaTigaBait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 08:26 PM   #8
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 17,304
Default

I can change out a whole fixture more cheaply than I can replace just ballasts and whatever broken tombstones there are. With a simple ballast change, you're still left with dirty refractors and reflectors.

I've never really found a retrofit "kit" that I like. Most of my customers are going from 4-lamp T12 troffers with the prismatic refractor to 3-lamp T8 troffers with an 18-cell prismatic reflector. There's not really a good kit for that. For 50 bucks my cost and about 7 minutes a fixture, I've got the whole thing changed.
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 08:29 PM   #9
Chairman of the Bored
 
BuzzKill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 9,477
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MDShunk View Post
I can change out a whole fixture more cheaply than I can replace just ballasts and whatever broken tombstones there are. With a simple ballast change, you're still left with dirty refractors and reflectors.

I've never really found a retrofit "kit" that I like. Most of my customers are going from 4-lamp T12 troffers with the prismatic refractor to 3-lamp T8 troffers with an 18-cell prismatic reflector. There's not really a good kit for that. For 50 bucks my cost and about 7 minutes a fixture, I've got the whole thing changed.
yeah seems to me replacing the entire fixture is a better, easier method...less labor should counter any increase in fixture cost.
__________________
I'd rather be sleeping.
BuzzKill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 08:31 PM   #10
child please.....
 
NolaTigaBait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hack City, USA aka New Orleans
Posts: 5,284
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MDShunk View Post
I can change out a whole fixture more cheaply than I can replace just ballasts and whatever broken tombstones there are. With a simple ballast change, you're still left with dirty refractors and reflectors.

I've never really found a retrofit "kit" that I like. Most of my customers are going from 4-lamp T12 troffers with the prismatic refractor to 3-lamp T8 troffers with an 18-cell prismatic reflector. There's not really a good kit for that. For 50 bucks my cost and about 7 minutes a fixture, I've got the whole thing changed.
I still find it easier to retrofit....but I will say that I've been selling people on the cell parabolics lately...they are awesome...
NolaTigaBait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 08:32 PM   #11
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 17,304
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuzzKill View Post
yeah seems to me replacing the entire fixture is a better, easier method...less labor should counter any increase in fixture cost.
The worst part about changing an entire fixture is all the dirt, debris, and other junk that might be on top of them. Occasionally, you'll find one that's almost locked in place by ductwork and pipes that went in after the fixture was put in, but a little bit of clever ceiling dismantling can normally get it out and back in.
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 08:33 PM   #12
child please.....
 
NolaTigaBait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hack City, USA aka New Orleans
Posts: 5,284
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuzzKill View Post
yeah seems to me replacing the entire fixture is a better, easier method...less labor should counter any increase in fixture cost.
I can retrofit at a cost of about $20 a fixture plus labor...a new parabolic troffer with lamps and whip is around 65-70 plus labor....still cheaper and faster to retrofit imo.
NolaTigaBait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 08:36 PM   #13
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 17,304
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NolaTigaBait View Post
I can retrofit at a cost of about $20 a fixture plus labor...a new parabolic troffer with lamps and whip is around 65-70 plus labor....still cheaper and faster to retrofit imo.
You don't need a whip on a fixture that is to replace an existing fixture, and you're buying lamps no matter what. AND.. you cannot retrofit an existing fixture for 20 bucks if they're bi-level switched. PLUS, you're still left with a dirty fixture to clean at the end of the process.
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 08:38 PM   #14
child please.....
 
NolaTigaBait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hack City, USA aka New Orleans
Posts: 5,284
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MDShunk View Post
You don't need a whip on a fixture that is to replace an existing fixture, and you're buying lamps no matter what. AND.. you cannot retrofit an existing fixture for 20 bucks if they're bi-level switched. PLUS, you're still left with a dirty fixture to clean at the end of the process.
Yeah, I know I don;t NEED a whip...just saying.... I don;t know what "bi-level " switching is either.... To each his own...there are times when I find retrofitting economical and there are times when I don't...
NolaTigaBait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 08:41 PM   #15
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 17,304
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NolaTigaBait View Post
Y.... I don;t know what "bi-level " switching is either....
Two switches for the same fixture. In a T12, it would be the outside lamps on one switch, and the inside lamps on the other switch. In a T8, it would be one lamp on one switch, and the other two lamps on the second switch.
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 08:42 PM   #16
Chairman of the Bored
 
BuzzKill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 9,477
Default

oh yeah, for office work so you can read your computer
__________________
I'd rather be sleeping.
BuzzKill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 08:47 PM   #17
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 17,304
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NolaTigaBait View Post
Yeah, I know I don;t NEED a whip...
I know, but I was more specifically objecting to your apples to oranges comparison. You spec'd the ballast only for your retrofit price, and you spec'd a fixture with an unnecessary whip and lamps that you'd have to buy anyhow for the replacement price. You made the replacement cost seem more expensive than it really is.
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 08:49 PM   #18
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 17,304
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuzzKill View Post
oh yeah, for office work so you can read your computer
I've managed to upsell to bi-level switching in a heck of a lot of offices that didn't have them before. In a 3-lamp T8 fixture, that really give you three options; high, medium, and low. High, with both switches on. Medium, with the one switch on for two lamps, and low, with just the one switch on for the one lamp. People think that's cool.

You can talk all day about "optimal lighting levels", but the reality is that every person is different. People even appreciate the option of different lighting levels at different times of the day, and for certain tasks.
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 08:49 PM   #19
child please.....
 
NolaTigaBait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hack City, USA aka New Orleans
Posts: 5,284
Default

JUst trying to sell the retrofits...its the salesman in me...and yeah, I kinda figured you meant switching half the fixture.
NolaTigaBait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 08:50 PM   #20
child please.....
 
NolaTigaBait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hack City, USA aka New Orleans
Posts: 5,284
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MDShunk View Post
I've managed to upsell to bi-level switching in a heck of a lot of offices that didn't have them before. In a 3-lamp T8 fixture, that really give you three options; high, medium, and low. High, with both switches on. Medium, with the one switch on for two lamps, and low, with just the one switch on for the one lamp. People think that's cool.
How do you do this with 1 ballast?

NolaTigaBait is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:26 PM.


Copyright © 2006-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com