CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-29-2011, 11:37 PM   #1
Always Learnin'
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,294
Default Fed Pac Stab Loc-again

I had a guy I have known for several years call me this week wanting me to install a Reliance 10 circuit generator transfer switch at his house. I went to his house to check out the situation and give him an estimate. Newer-looking house with the panel back-to-back with the meter base in the finished garage. First thing I notice is that the panel cover is rusty. I open the door and see it is a Fed Pac Stab Loc 200A panel. I ask the guy how old the house is. He tells me he had it custom built in 1988. I remove the cover and the panel is made up very neatly but there are 8 open KOs. This appears to have been a used panel installed in a new house when it was built. Of all the used panels to re-install anywhere this has to be the most horrible choice ever! I didn't want to scare him but he asked what I thought about that panel. His HVAC service guy had told him last summer that Fed Pac panels were dangerous. I told him to Google it. He called today to ask me to change out the panel Monday when I put in the transfer panel.

amptech is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 04-30-2011, 01:48 AM   #2
3rd Generation
 
MF Dagger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pig's Eye, MN
Posts: 1,581
Default

Telling homeowners to google Federal Pacific is a pretty easy sale.

__________________
Beercan ceiling fan.
MF Dagger is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to MF Dagger For This Useful Post:
220/221 (05-01-2011), electricmanscott (04-30-2011), frenchelectrican (04-30-2011), Magnettica (04-30-2011), mxslick (06-02-2011), The_Modifier (04-30-2011)
Old 04-30-2011, 03:12 AM   #3
Modérateur
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NE Wi / Paris France{ In France for while }
Posts: 4,836
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MF Dagger View Post
Telling homeowners to google Federal Pacific is a pretty easy sale.
It is true and once the homeowner read it and they will change the mind with the price and get it done quick.

I have done the same way too I mention that few time with Federal Pacific load centrés and in just a short matter of the time they call me back and do it asap.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
Bleu est beau.
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 06:26 AM   #4
Dr Evil
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 14,411
Default

FED stabs were still sold in 88'. I had a friend who's electrician back then put one in hius new home.
Shockdoc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 07:38 AM   #5
BBQ
Salty Member
 
BBQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New England
Posts: 31,028
Default

FPE design 'Stabloc' breakers and panelboards are still sold under the Federal Pioneer label which is owned by Schneider Electric, the same company that owns Square D.

Breakers

Panels
BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 11:20 AM   #6
CodeEnforcer
 
HIVOLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 114
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BBQ View Post
FPE design 'Stabloc' breakers and panelboards are still sold under the Federal Pioneer label which is owned by Schneider Electric, the same company that owns Square D.

Breakers

Panels
If I am not mistaken Federal Pioneer (Federal Pacific) are only sold in Canada.
HIVOLT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 10:01 PM   #7
Electron Pathway Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: On cloud 9 in Ontario
Posts: 921
Default

Federal Pioneer is, not pacific.


Identical though
The_Modifier is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 10:04 PM   #8
Sideways Sparky
 
farlsincharge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SK Canada
Posts: 1,324
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Modifier View Post
Federal Pioneer is, not pacific.


Identical though

Except that the breakers now actually trip under overload. They will still hold more than they should though.
farlsincharge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 11:28 PM   #9
Heavily Armed Member
 
HARRY304E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Reporting from the east coast of Moonbatchusetts..
Posts: 39,497
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by farlsincharge View Post
Except that the breakers now actually trip under overload. They will still hold more than they should though.

they better
__________________
ES2 Flat Rate Software
HARRY304E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 11:59 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 567
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by farlsincharge

Except that the breakers now actually trip under overload. They will still hold more than they should though.
Says who?
K2500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 12:00 AM   #11
Heavily Armed Member
 
HARRY304E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Reporting from the east coast of Moonbatchusetts..
Posts: 39,497
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K2500 View Post
Says who?
IDK????
__________________
ES2 Flat Rate Software
HARRY304E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 12:02 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 567
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HARRY304E
IDK????
I lost count…
K2500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 12:03 AM   #13
Heavily Armed Member
 
HARRY304E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Reporting from the east coast of Moonbatchusetts..
Posts: 39,497
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K2500 View Post
I lost count…
Cool...
__________________
ES2 Flat Rate Software
HARRY304E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 12:44 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 3,026
Send a message via Yahoo to doubleoh7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amptech View Post
I had a guy I have known for several years call me this week wanting me to install a Reliance 10 circuit generator transfer switch at his house. I went to his house to check out the situation and give him an estimate. Newer-looking house with the panel back-to-back with the meter base in the finished garage. First thing I notice is that the panel cover is rusty. I open the door and see it is a Fed Pac Stab Loc 200A panel. I ask the guy how old the house is. He tells me he had it custom built in 1988. I remove the cover and the panel is made up very neatly but there are 8 open KOs. This appears to have been a used panel installed in a new house when it was built. Of all the used panels to re-install anywhere this has to be the most horrible choice ever! I didn't want to scare him but he asked what I thought about that panel. His HVAC service guy had told him last summer that Fed Pac panels were dangerous. I told him to Google it. He called today to ask me to change out the panel Monday when I put in the transfer panel.


Any reason you don't want to just put an interlock in the new panel?
doubleoh7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 01:04 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 587
Default

FP Stabs and Zinsco, pulled a lot of those out of houses when I was doing Resi for my dad. SQ-D has always been the standard IMHO. Some of the Siemens stuff ain't bad tho.
__________________
Don't release the magic smoke!
Jmohl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 03:17 AM   #16
Electron Pathway Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: On cloud 9 in Ontario
Posts: 921
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by farlsincharge View Post
Except that the breakers now actually trip under overload.
I have yet to have one work and not find one with soot around it.
The_Modifier is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 07:48 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 567
Default

So... I know FP has a bad rep, but do they really not trip as designed, or is that the conclusion draw because it is the one sought.

How do breakers, by other manufacturers, subjected to the same conditions of an equivalent age preform?
Anecdotal evidence aside.
K2500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 07:56 PM   #18
Sideways Sparky
 
farlsincharge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SK Canada
Posts: 1,324
Default

The new Federal 15 amp breakers will typically hold 17 amps continuously. I'm pretty sure that you could weld with the old black ones.
farlsincharge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 08:07 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
brian john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 25,141
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by farlsincharge View Post
The new Federal 15 amp breakers will typically hold 17 amps continuously. I'm pretty sure that you could weld with the old black ones.
The Square D, CH and Siemens circuit breakers will do the same 13.5% overload is nothing to a MCCB.
brian john is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 08:08 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 567
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by farlsincharge
The new Federal 15 amp breakers will typically hold 17 amps continuously.
I'm fairly certain that a SD QO will do the same thing, depending on temperature.

K2500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Federal Pacific Stab Lok. jefft110 General Electrical Discussion 20 09-25-2010 06:32 PM
FPE Stab-Lok breakers bonnie1 General Electrical Discussion 28 05-23-2008 03:50 PM
FPE Stab Lok panels K&R Services and Service Equipment 7 01-27-2008 07:45 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:24 PM.


Copyright © 2006-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com