CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-26-2011, 07:27 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: georgia
Posts: 10,305
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default Forgot Ufer..Ooops!

Inspector came out for rough today. He passed but he asked if the footers had an ufer ground. The GC was standing right there and said no. Then he said does it have rebar in it. The GC jumped in and said yes (wrong answer). Then he said since we upgraded service at same time then it needs ufer ground.

Now, the gc called me after they poured slab and said he is ready for me to start roughing. I had no clue when the job was even starting til last second. Now, he says I should have warned him and I should pay? Say What?

Cletis is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 05-26-2011, 07:36 PM   #2
Premium Member
 
dronai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: California
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cletis View Post
Inspector came out for rough today. He passed but he asked if the footers had an ufer ground. The GC was standing right there and said no. Then he said does it have rebar in it. The GC jumped in and said yes (wrong answer). Then he said since we upgraded service at same time then it needs ufer ground.

Now, the gc called me after they poured slab and said he is ready for me to start roughing. I had no clue when the job was even starting til last second. Now, he says I should have warned him and I should pay? Say What?


I always talk about it with a General before the job, and with the concrete guys sometimes. Ground rod time..
We have underground service on new, so it's easier for me to know, because I'm putting in my sweep.


Last edited by dronai; 05-27-2011 at 12:14 AM.
dronai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 07:42 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: georgia
Posts: 10,305
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default GR

He said no ground rod. We had to jackhammer up the footer and then run a bonding jumper to the GEC. Does this sound correct or is he jackleggin me?
Cletis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 07:46 PM   #4
NJ-IEC Member
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rahway, NJ
Posts: 14,124
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cletis View Post
Inspector came out for rough today. He passed but he asked if the footers had an ufer ground. The GC was standing right there and said no. Then he said does it have rebar in it. The GC jumped in and said yes (wrong answer). Then he said since we upgraded service at same time then it needs ufer ground.

Now, the gc called me after they poured slab and said he is ready for me to start roughing. I had no clue when the job was even starting til last second. Now, he says I should have warned him and I should pay? Say What?
If he told you about the work after the pour then it's the GC's fault. But if you knew you were going to be doing this electrical work, then you had to have known a concrete-encased electrode was required. But like I said what matters is when you were first asked about the service upgrade.
__________________
Replies based on NEC 2014
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 07:49 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: georgia
Posts: 10,305
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default Time

Well. He told me about job in Dec. There were problems with financing and he said he would call when he was ready for me. Well, he called me after he poured the slab. We didn't even have a contract or anything yet.
Cletis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 07:51 PM   #6
NJ-IEC Member
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rahway, NJ
Posts: 14,124
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cletis View Post
Well. He told me about job in Dec. There were problems with financing and he said he would call when he was ready for me. Well, he called me after he poured the slab. We didn't even have a contract or anything yet.
So you're off the hook. The inspector passed it so you're good. Tell the GC next time we need to have it in a similar situation.
__________________
Replies based on NEC 2014
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 07:51 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: kentucky
Posts: 9,261
Rewards Points: 2,058
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cletis View Post
Well. He told me about job in Dec. There were problems with financing and he said he would call when he was ready for me. Well, he called me after he poured the slab. We didn't even have a contract or anything yet.
Do you have a contract now?
RIVETER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 07:52 PM   #8
NJ-IEC Member
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rahway, NJ
Posts: 14,124
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Better yet, did you get the check?
__________________
Replies based on NEC 2014
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 07:58 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: georgia
Posts: 10,305
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default Check

No check yet. He's good for it. Been working a while for him. I may just suggest he rents the jackhammer and buys the #4 and i'll run it just to keep peace and share a small portion of responsibility. I make alot off him per year so....
Cletis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 08:05 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: kentucky
Posts: 9,261
Rewards Points: 2,058
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cletis View Post
No check yet. He's good for it. Been working a while for him. I may just suggest he rents the jackhammer and buys the #4 and i'll run it just to keep peace and share a small portion of responsibility. I make alot off him per year so....
How big a contractor could he be if he couldn't get financing for one house?
RIVETER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 08:10 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: georgia
Posts: 10,305
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default Mod

He's moderate. The financing problem was with homeowner. Isn't there an exception is the rebar is under 6 ft or something like that?? I"ve never had to bond rebar all these years. Got out of new home construction 10 yrs ago when it all started going downhill.
Cletis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 08:16 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: kentucky
Posts: 9,261
Rewards Points: 2,058
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cletis View Post
He's moderate. The financing problem was with homeowner. Isn't there an exception is the rebar is under 6 ft or something like that?? I"ve never had to bond rebar all these years. Got out of new home construction 10 yrs ago when it all started going downhill.
Using a ufer, as far as I know is the most adequate form of lightning/aberrant current protection. You should ALWAYS plan on using it. Comparing ,dragging a #6 cu 90 feet through a house to a water pipe seems almost criminal. Just my opinion.
RIVETER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 09:31 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
danickstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: LA valley
Posts: 835
Rewards Points: 502
Default

funny that Ufer is a guys name when UF wire is Underground feed. What I don't like about attaching copper to a rebar cage under the cement is the oxidization. I like to ell a piece of 20' rebar that pops up inside the wall and attach the bronze acorn there.
__________________
Do you have a healthy Butternut tree near you? We need to save the American Butternut tree!
danickstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 10:37 PM   #14
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 12,221
Rewards Points: 2,028
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danickstr View Post
funny that Ufer is a guys name when UF wire is Underground feed. What I don't like about attaching copper to a rebar cage under the cement is the oxidization. I like to ell a piece of 20' rebar that pops up inside the wall and attach the bronze acorn there.
And of course that highly intelligent method is discouraged by the local insptr's here.... They decided the part sticking out of the slab is subject to rusting away..... so they don't accept it. (a few of them do, just a few.)
__________________
"If Fences Don't Work, Why Is There One Around The White House?"
macmikeman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 10:42 PM   #15
ET rocks
 
3xdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 2,282
Rewards Points: 1,020
Default

Is this the GC's first rodeo?

Here, "IN NEW CONSTRUCTION, a CEE shall be considered available and installed per 250.52(A)(3)" This is then signed off by the BUILDING inspector. So a GC knows it has to go in before his pre pour inspection.

It also goes on to state, if a CEE is not present, then 20' of #2 bare CU not less than 30" deep in a continuous trench with 2 rods 6' apart...

Does Georgia have any ammendments like this? Even still, it seems like the inspector could have allowed another NEC permitted electrode.
3xdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 10:58 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
A Little Short's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: US
Posts: 2,521
Rewards Points: 2,030
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cletis View Post
He's moderate. The financing problem was with homeowner. Isn't there an exception is the rebar is under 6 ft or something like that?? I"ve never had to bond rebar all these years. Got out of new home construction 10 yrs ago when it all started going downhill.
They are required to be at least 20'. Also the exception in 250.50 says ...CCEs of existing buildings shall not be required to be a part of the grounding electrode system where the rebar or rods is not accessible without disturbing the concrete.

I don't know if this applies here since GC should have known about the CCE before pouring the concrete. But now it is existing!
A Little Short is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 06:21 AM   #17
BR549
 
jrannis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South Florida
Posts: 7,870
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

A real GC would have known about that Ufer. We have it on the structural checklist here. Covers everybody's butt.
jrannis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 07:03 AM   #18
Heavily Armed Member
 
HARRY304E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Reporting from the east coast of Moonbatchusetts..
Posts: 39,497
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cletis View Post
He said no ground rod. We had to jackhammer up the footer and then run a bonding jumper to the GEC. Does this sound correct or is he jackleggin me?
Are you saying that he ran the bonding jumper??

If so why is he doing that he should have had you doing that instead.
__________________
ES2 Flat Rate Software
HARRY304E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 07:12 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 8,106
Rewards Points: 2,092
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HARRY304E View Post
Are you saying that he ran the bonding jumper??

If so why is he doing that he should have had you doing that instead.
I thought "he" was the inspector.

__________________
In search of unbiased truth.
hardworkingstiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ufer Apprentice_617 General Electrical Discussion 26 02-15-2011 05:09 AM
Ufer Apprentice_617 General Electrical Discussion 7 02-07-2011 09:54 PM
After being out of work so long, I think I forgot how to do it! Forgery Off Topic 34 03-10-2010 10:34 PM
just a few I forgot to post JoeKP Code Violation Discussion 23 02-16-2010 12:05 AM
Hello ladies, ooops I meant germs or is it? GoodLookingUglyGuy Introductions 3 02-03-2010 07:38 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:18 AM.


Copyright 2006-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com