CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-07-2010, 04:32 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: maryland
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default GFCI Breaker trips immediately

I have 2 20a 120v circuits each on a GFCI breaker. The length of the run is about 200' and they share a neutral. #8 was ran for vd. There is no load on either circuit yet, however as soon as I turned on either of them the gfci tripped immediately. I checked for a short with my tester and didnt get anything. I removed the neutral coming off on of the breakers from the neutral bar, and turned both breakers on and they held. I did this before I left and havnt had time to troubleshoot this too deeply. I wonder if they held all weekend cause I'll be back on monday to figure it out. Any ideas?

ikeberg9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 03-07-2010, 04:34 PM   #2
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 17,339
Rewards Points: 2,068
Default

You can't wire a multiwire branch circuit on two GFCI breakers. You'll need to use a 2-pole GFCI. Get it? Got it. Good! Ten-four. Over and out.

__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 04:36 PM   #3
Big Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 316
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Yeah you can't share the neutral unless you use a double pole breaker.
__________________
Just do your best, that will be plenty bad enough.
stars13bars2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 04:37 PM   #4
Big Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 316
Rewards Points: 252
Default

I know it didn't take me two minutes to type that.
__________________
Just do your best, that will be plenty bad enough.
stars13bars2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 04:39 PM   #5
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 17,339
Rewards Points: 2,068
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stars13bars2 View Post
I know it didn't take me two minutes to type that.
In my best Maxwell Smart voice:

"Missed it by that much"
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 04:56 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: maryland
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

LOL, yal are trip. That's what I thought. I got it and I'm out.Thanks.
ikeberg9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 04:57 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
brian john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 25,141
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

And the length is pushing the limits. Utilize GFCI receptacles.

What type of tester did you use?
brian john is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 04:58 PM   #8
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 17,339
Rewards Points: 2,068
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brian john View Post
And the length is pushing the limits. Utilize GFCI receptacles.

What type of tester did you use?
I seem to recall a functional limit of 250 feet in the old GFCI packaging, but I can't recall reading that lately.
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 05:03 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
william1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charlotte, N.C.
Posts: 11,079
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Use Regular breakers and use GFCI recs so you don't have to add another neutral from the panel to the rec's.
william1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 05:39 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: maryland
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

These circuits are for heating elements on some tire shredders, so a GFCI rec. wont work. The wire and breakers were already installed before I got there, so I don't even know why it needs to be GFCI protected and don't know the actual footage. I didn't spend much time on it, but I wanna get it straight first thing Monday. So a two pole GFCI should fix the problem?

I used my Fluke T5 tester to test continuity on the wires and didn't find any shorts.
ikeberg9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 05:48 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
charlie Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 308
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ikeberg9 View Post
These circuits are for heating elements on some tire shredders, so a GFCI rec. wont work. The wire and breakers were already installed before I got there, so I don't even know why it needs to be GFCI protected and don't know the actual footage. I didn't spend much time on it, but I wanna get it straight first thing Monday. So a two pole GFCI should fix the problem?

I used my Fluke T5 tester to test continuity on the wires and didn't find any shorts.
So what did they do to MBC neutral? They spliced it and pigtailed it to the GFCI breakers?
charlie Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 05:51 PM   #12
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 17,339
Rewards Points: 2,068
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by charlie Bob View Post
So what did they do to MBC neutral? They spliced it and pigtailed it to the GFCI breakers?
I think you're thinking what I'm thinking. They probably landed the MWBC neutral on the bar, and put both GFCI breaker pigtails on the bar too.

To the OP... make sure you put the circuit's neutral on the neutral terminal of the 2-pole GFCI breaker when you put it in, and NOT on the bar.

You an electrician or a factory maintenance guy?
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 06:08 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Toronto Sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, (Scarborough) Canada.
Posts: 1,580
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

20A GFI recepts are available everywhere..
Two pole GFI breakers cost too much
__________________
Don't fight .. Play nice!
Toronto Sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 10:34 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: maryland
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

I am an electrician. The guy who pulled the wire and put in the breakers, was laid off, so now that the equipment that needs to be installed came in, I have to finish it off. The GFCI breakers were installed correctly, it just needed a two pole GFCI. I havn't had to deal with many GFCI breakers, but I never dealt with a mwbc GFCI breaker.
ikeberg9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 11:19 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
charlie Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 308
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ikeberg9 View Post
I am an electrician. The guy who pulled the wire and put in the breakers, was laid off, so now that the equipment that needs to be installed came in, I have to finish it off. The GFCI breakers were installed correctly, it just needed a two pole GFCI. I havn't had to deal with many GFCI breakers, but I never dealt with a mwbc GFCI breaker.
You are saying the GFCI breakers were installed correctly. Well they couldn't have. How can you install 2 GFCI breakers correctly when you have a MWBC, sharing a neutral.?
Both of them breakers require a neutral going to them?
charlie Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 11:28 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,575
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toronto Sparky View Post
20A GFI recepts are available everywhere..
Two pole GFI breakers cost too much
Depends on the brand, not too bad and they're wicked chunky...

LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can one breaker be tripped when another one trips with a mechanical short? lj150 General Electrical Discussion 22 10-22-2009 11:58 PM
gfci breaker trippin bridgeguy General Electrical Discussion 10 05-16-2009 01:11 PM
GFCI Trips????? jayare813 General Electrical Discussion 21 03-15-2009 07:28 AM
gfci breaker circuit ? french connection!! NEC Code Forum 15 12-29-2007 02:03 PM
Afci Breaker trips. Hillbilly General Electrical Discussion 17 04-17-2007 11:01 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:50 AM.


Copyright © 2006-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com