CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-23-2010, 02:15 AM   #1
I saw a guy do it once.
 
SparkYZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Los Angeles SFV
Posts: 861
Rewards Points: 500
Default Ground bushings and ground locknuts?

Ok, I'd like to clear up some rumors I've heardfrom various bosses. Here is what I've heard/what I know/what I do:

  • GEC armored cable, I always use a grounding locknut in the panel/service.
  • When using armored ground, and going into a concentric knockout, I use a ground bushing.
  • Conduit ground above 20A, grounding locknut, or a bushing in a concentric knockout.
  • I've heard concentric knockouts are suitable for 20A.

So, when do you use a locknut, when do you use a bushing, when do you not have to?

And one more question, I always use plastic bushings on any connector with 277V and above, and I've heard you use plastic bushings on 120/208 above 4000Watts....What are the rules for these?

SparkYZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 02-23-2010, 05:33 AM   #2
Ambassador of Amps
 
TOOL_5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: sf bay area, CA
Posts: 9,307
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

I hate to ask a stupid question, but what is a grounding locknut? Is it the same as a grounding washer? How are they both used?

I have only heard of, and used grounding bushings.

~Matt

__________________
I HAVE THE RIGHT TO OFFEND ANYONE I PLEASE. YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO BE OFFENDED, YOU DO NOT HAVE THE RIGHT TO SHUT ME UP.

Advertising space available. Inquire within.
TOOL_5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 06:42 AM   #3
BR549
 
jrannis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South Florida
Posts: 7,899
Rewards Points: 2,054
Default

Its a locknut with a pointy set screw.

BTW, I dont use bond bushings on feeders.
jrannis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 07:39 AM   #4
"Boozer"
 
Innovative's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 696
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Plastic bushing on any wires #4 or larger however we use them on any pipe 1" or larger

ground locknut.... hmm you mean a meg bushing???? If it is a meg bushing you are talking about, we use them on any metallic conduit with service conductors in them, but we still always run a grounding conductor in all conduits.
__________________
www.IEC-Electric.com
www.Hivoltage.biz

"The impossible, is usually the untried"
Innovative is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 07:51 AM   #5
jsb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 167
Rewards Points: 150
Default




i never use grounding bushings unless i have to. grounding locknuts are way easier.
jsb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 08:36 AM   #6
Moderator
 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 15,477
Rewards Points: 2,082
Default

You cannot insert a bonding conductor on a grounding locknut but you can in the grounding bushing.

Here is a grounding locknut.



Here is a grounding bushing

Dennis Alwon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 02:24 PM   #7
"Boozer"
 
Innovative's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 696
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Wow, I have never seen a grounding locknut.......
__________________
www.IEC-Electric.com
www.Hivoltage.biz

"The impossible, is usually the untried"
Innovative is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 05:09 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
220/221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 6,629
Rewards Points: 2,046
Default

In my 33 years working, I've never seen a grounding locknut either.

Code says bond bushing if concentric and over 250v to ground.

POCO here says bond bushing on locknutted rigid nipples if they contain service conductors.
220/221 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 06:07 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
william1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charlotte, N.C.
Posts: 11,079
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Here we call them bonding locknuts and bond bushings.
william1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 06:17 PM   #10
Chairman of the Bored
 
BuzzKill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 9,502
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by william1978 View Post
Here we call them bonding locknuts and bond bushings.
the better description for it's actual purpose
BuzzKill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 06:17 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Montana
Posts: 72
Rewards Points: 75
Default Missed

These are great when you screw up and forgot. Or as they say up here "Pulled a Homer".
Attached Images
File Type: jpg SeanElectricSplitCollar.jpg (3.0 KB, 241 views)
JohnSham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 06:26 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
william1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charlotte, N.C.
Posts: 11,079
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnSham View Post
These are great when you screw up and forgot. Or as they say up here "Pulled a Homer".
I have never seen one like that. How much does it cost compared to a regular bond bushing?
william1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 06:30 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Montana
Posts: 72
Rewards Points: 75
Default Cost

I think it was 7,10,12,14, etc....1/2,3/4,1,etc..

I wish I would of known about these oh, 5 yrs ago. How many times have we all had to take the whole dag gone thing apart. Small price difference really.

I found these at http://www.seanelectrical.com/ under split collar ground choke.
JohnSham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 06:37 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
william1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charlotte, N.C.
Posts: 11,079
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnSham View Post
How many times have we all had to take the whole dag gone thing apart.
Just once here. Got really mad when I failed a inspection and haven't had a issue since. Sorta one of those bought lessons ya know.
william1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 07:05 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Montana
Posts: 72
Rewards Points: 75
Default ?

Anymore, I don't assume I know anything. We had one Indian (Native that is) inspector made us put a grounding locknut and bushing?? That was an all day affair. We had to do an outage/reconnect on building. They were in the CT's. Another inspector made us put bonding bushings on the 1/2-1" EMT going into the main panels with the branch circuit wiring. Each had 4-8 circuits times about 7-10 conduits. Basically, most of day. If I had known about those bushings then that would of saved a boatload of money. Maybe 3 or 4 other times we had to do that over the years.
JohnSham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 07:12 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
william1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charlotte, N.C.
Posts: 11,079
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnSham View Post
Anymore, I don't assume I know anything. We had one Indian (Native that is) inspector made us put a grounding locknut and bushing?? That was an all day affair. We had to do an outage/reconnect on building. They were in the CT's. Another inspector made us put bonding bushings on the 1/2-1" EMT going into the main panels with the branch circuit wiring. Each had 4-8 circuits times about 7-10 conduits. Basically, most of day. If I had known about those bushings then that would of saved a boatload of money. Maybe 3 or 4 other times we had to do that over the years.
The inspector made you put a bonding lock nut and a bond bushing on the same conduit?
william1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 07:49 PM   #17
Licensed Journeyman
 
nolabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: third world/New Orleans to Mobile
Posts: 5,807
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

Good to see our friend from montana back around.
__________________
“Dammit, Smithers, this isn’t rocket science, it’s brain surgery!”
nolabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 08:56 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Montana
Posts: 72
Rewards Points: 75
Default Bonding

Quote:
Originally Posted by william1978 View Post
The inspector made you put a bonding lock nut and a bond bushing on the same conduit?

That job we went down to nebraska. He said in his county you needed a backup bonding system. The surface area of the set screw was small and more prone to corrode. With the additional bonding bushing with twice as many threads and the bonding jumper you would have more bonding "Backup" is what he said. We just did what he said so he would pass us. Never heard of it since. I guess that was one of those Shirt Pocket inspectors you all talk about.

Well, I won't be doing as much electric now. It's onion season coming up. I need to get the fields ready for the spring onions.
JohnSham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 09:14 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: kentucky
Posts: 9,341
Rewards Points: 2,130
Default Bushings

Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
In my 33 years working, I've never seen a grounding locknut either.

Code says bond bushing if concentric and over 250v to ground.

POCO here says bond bushing on locknutted rigid nipples if they contain service conductors.
What if they are EMT nipples?
RIVETER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 09:26 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: kentucky
Posts: 9,341
Rewards Points: 2,130
Default Bushings

Quote:
Originally Posted by william1978 View Post
Here we call them bonding locknuts and bond bushings.
I think you are right; They are for BONDING, not grounding.

RIVETER is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How does the ground actually act as a ground? foolios General Electrical Discussion 90 09-13-2014 09:00 PM
To ground or not to ground? delsol Linework 13 03-29-2010 06:13 PM
50 Volts Neutral to Ground and 50 Volt Hot to Ground... DarkDune Residential Electrical Forum 6 06-25-2009 09:56 PM
No Ground? I Wonder why? drm General Electrical Discussion 4 02-01-2009 08:21 PM
Ground or not to ground? chenley Services and Service Equipment 5 05-06-2008 11:38 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Copyright © 2006-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com