CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-25-2009, 04:32 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Chris Kennedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Miami Fla.
Posts: 2,517
Default Ground clip installation

Does anyone have a picture or better yet a manufactures installation instructions for these?

Thanks

__________________
Bulldozers and Dirt
Chris Kennedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 07-25-2009, 04:35 PM   #2
Pure Evil
 
drsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Presque Isle, Maine
Posts: 5,922
Default

What type of ground clip are you asking about?

__________________

drsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 04:36 PM   #3
Moderator
 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 15,240
Default

Here is what a found after a quick search-- now do your own dirty work.
Quote:
Ground Clip, Side Mount, For Grounding #14 to #10 AWG Wire to Side of Box, Length 0.5 In, Width 0.5 In, Depth 0.5 In, Material of Construction Steel, Standards UL
Dennis Alwon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 04:39 PM   #4
Moderator
 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 15,240
Default

Try the raco site
Dennis Alwon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 04:44 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Chris Kennedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Miami Fla.
Posts: 2,517
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Alwon View Post
Here is what a found after a quick search-- now do your own dirty work.


Yeah, thats what I'm looking for. What search words did you use, I tried 'ground clip installation' on google and got squat. Thanks for the little picture that old guys can't see.

Does anyone know who makes them?
__________________
Bulldozers and Dirt
Chris Kennedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 04:47 PM   #6
Moderator
 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 15,240
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Kennedy View Post
Yeah, thats what I'm looking for. What search words did you use, I tried 'ground clip installation' on google and got squat. Thanks for the little picture that old guys can't see.

Does anyone know who makes them?
Race 975 that I linked to in the first post.

Here is a better image. I went to google and then choose image from the menu at the top and then typed in ground clip. The last picture I typed ground clip installation



Dennis Alwon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 04:52 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Chris Kennedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Miami Fla.
Posts: 2,517
Default

Thats it, perfect thanks. The reason I asked is today I noticed that two of my guys installed them two ways different than shown above. One looked like it was beaten onto the box with a shovel.
__________________
Bulldozers and Dirt
Chris Kennedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 05:18 PM   #8
Moderator
 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 15,240
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Kennedy View Post
One looked like it was beaten onto the box with a shovel.
That's what happens when Al has to work indoors. Any reason you didin't use ground screws. I have a nice set of bits that drill and tap (one bit) that is perfect for this. Plumber even borrowed it the other day.

Dennis Alwon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 05:22 PM   #9
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 17,304
Default

I even bought a special box of 8-32 green ground screws, since the ground screw holes in the old black boxes were tapped at 8-32 (if they had a tapped hole). If not, I use the Dtapkit too. I haven't used a ground clip in probably 10 years.
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 06:22 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N.E.
Posts: 16,081
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MDShunk View Post
I haven't used a ground clip in probably 10 years.
I bought one of those little packages of six they sell at HD and Lowes. Since on average I use one every few years, I think I'm good for the next decade or so.
user4818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 06:56 PM   #11
Nothin' To Lose
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rahway, NJ
Posts: 14,114
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Alwon View Post
That's what happens when Al has to work indoors. Any reason you didin't use ground screws. I have a nice set of bits that drill and tap (one bit) that is perfect for this. Plumber even borrowed it the other day.

That is nice.
__________________
Replies based on NEC 2014
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 06:57 PM   #12
Nothin' To Lose
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rahway, NJ
Posts: 14,114
Default

I use the ground clips a lot. I keep them in my pouch with the staples and ground screws.
__________________
Replies based on NEC 2014
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 08:37 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,966
Default

I haven't used a ground clip in forever, but I still run into them. I like that set of drills and tap combinations. Do they handle the torque from a driver okay?

I have a hand tap that has all the common sizes, fine and course, on two ends. It fits into a driver handle. I just broke the tip tapping some old Steel City boxes which had #8, untapped holes.

I use screws.
waco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 10:57 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Chris Kennedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Miami Fla.
Posts: 2,517
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Alwon View Post
Any reason you didin't use ground screws.
I'm rewiring an install done in 1981. EMT and 1900 boxes shot to a concrete ceiling.

Quote:
Originally Posted by waco View Post
I haven't used a ground clip in forever
I don't care for them but I have little choice for this install.
__________________
Bulldozers and Dirt
Chris Kennedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 11:11 PM   #15
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 35,061
Default

Here's another:

__________________
Ark: ..............Arch: ................. Arc:
480sparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 11:25 PM   #16
Town Drunk
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD, USA
Posts: 3,722
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by waco View Post
I like that set of drills and tap combinations. Do they handle the torque from a driver okay?

.
If you are not careful, you can snap them, especially the smaller sizes. Luckily, they can be purchased separately.
__________________
John from Baltimore
"One day at a Time"
All responses based on the '08 NEC
It's not my fault, it's not my problem, I'm not your solution.
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 11:25 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Chris Kennedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Miami Fla.
Posts: 2,517
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
Here's another:

Still a little small. I want to print something that shows the teeth on the outside of the box, the wire in the slot for the wire and the pigtail facing into the box. A picture is worth...... when there is a language barrier.
__________________
Bulldozers and Dirt
Chris Kennedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 11:26 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Chris Kennedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Miami Fla.
Posts: 2,517
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnJ0906 View Post
If you are not careful, you can snap them, especially the smaller sizes.
Or spread them until they are useless.
__________________
Bulldozers and Dirt
Chris Kennedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 11:34 PM   #19
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 35,061
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Kennedy View Post
Still a little small. I want to print something that shows the teeth on the outside of the box, the wire in the slot for the wire and the pigtail facing into the box. A picture is worth...... when there is a language barrier.

Sorry, that and the one already posted is all I have in my arsenal. What's wrong with just showing them with your own hands & tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Kennedy View Post
........ One looked like it was beaten onto the box with a shovel.
No digging for Al today?
__________________
Ark: ..............Arch: ................. Arc:
480sparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 11:56 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Chris Kennedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Miami Fla.
Posts: 2,517
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
What's wrong with just showing them with your own hands & tools?
I'm losing my patience, tired of repeating myself, looking to post pictures around the job sites. Its not just this issue, many others. If we strapped MC at 1' and 4' on the last job, why would you think its OK to strap at 2' and 6' on this job. I could go on and on. Burned out.

__________________
Bulldozers and Dirt
Chris Kennedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lightning Rod Installation? Jeff000 General Electrical Discussion 22 11-12-2009 10:47 AM
50 Volts Neutral to Ground and 50 Volt Hot to Ground... DarkDune Residential Electrical Forum 6 06-25-2009 09:56 PM
Leather tape measure clip dognutz12 Tools, Equipment and New Products 7 03-30-2009 09:49 PM
tape measure clip dognutz12 Tools, Equipment and New Products 12 05-07-2008 07:00 PM
Ground Fault Installation brian john Code Violation Discussion 4 05-29-2007 11:57 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:29 PM.


Copyright © 2006-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com