CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-02-2011, 04:12 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default Hayward 2 speed Nothstar Pump, How to wire to change speeds

230v Hayward 2 speed Nothstar Pump, How to wire to change speeds?

You either hard wire it to one speed or the other?
How can i toggle beteen the 2 speeds and turn off?

The wiring diagram is there so ihave no problem running it by switching the wire and i trun it off by flipping the breaker each time....what a pain!

Please help,.....do they sell a pre made device to control this?
I dont need any other features...on off, speed 1 and speed 2


thanks

kentuckynet is offline  
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 05-02-2011, 04:29 PM   #2
antisocial group ******
 
lefleuron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 769
Rewards Points: 500
Default

You really need to call an electrician for this.

This can be dangerous if done incorrectly to yourself, the electrical system, and the pump motor.

__________________
People always call prophets crazy- just ask Charlie.
lefleuron is offline  
Old 05-02-2011, 04:35 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

thanks, i have wired "complete" each house i have built. I have been a licensed electrician in a past life and let the license go.

I realize i can do this with a series of toggle switches etc but i was really looking for a prefab unit.

Please help,
kentuckynet is offline  
Old 05-02-2011, 04:42 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 4,431
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kentuckynet View Post
thanks, i have wired "complete" each house i have built. I have been a licensed electrician in a past life and let the license go.

I realize i can do this with a series of toggle switches etc but i was really looking for a prefab unit.

Please help,



If any of that was even remotely true you wouldn't be asking it in here.

Give me a break
robnj772 is offline  
Old 05-02-2011, 04:51 PM   #5
antisocial group ******
 
lefleuron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 769
Rewards Points: 500
Default

I dont know of a "prefab" unit.

You need a forward/reverse contactor set with overloads. You are going to keep the phase rotation the same at the top and bottom. One side goes low, the other high.

Make sure its mechanically and electrically interlocked- because its more then likely a Wye/delta wound motor. I would use a rocker type switch, this adds another layer of protection over two individual switches.

You may also want to run a transformer off a/b for control power. And dont forget to fuse all this.
__________________
People always call prophets crazy- just ask Charlie.
lefleuron is offline  
Old 05-02-2011, 05:32 PM   #6
Never fear, Slick is here
 
mxslick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: My own private Idaho
Posts: 3,839
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Great way to make friends and influence people

I was going to tell you how to do it but since you have such a bad attitude forget it.
__________________
Think before you hit that "Submit Reply" button.
mxslick is offline  
Old 05-02-2011, 05:56 PM   #7
antisocial group ******
 
lefleuron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 769
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Boy,

Now I feel terrible that I helped out a potty-mouthed bad guy. But this is what I get for always being nice to everyone.

__________________
People always call prophets crazy- just ask Charlie.
lefleuron is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VFD speed Calectrical PLCs, VFDs, Motors and Controls 8 05-09-2011 09:08 PM
Speed and Efficiency petek57 General Electrical Discussion 128 03-21-2010 03:02 AM
switching loads at high speeds sparks32 PLCs, VFDs, Motors and Controls 4 03-05-2009 12:51 AM
submersible pump wire LMPort General Electrical Discussion 9 07-31-2007 05:41 PM
Career change Full Speed Ahead! shotdown Introductions 7 06-26-2007 12:35 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Copyright 2006-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com