The holes in the prongs of a male attachment plug - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2008, 09:09 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default The holes in the prongs of a male attachment plug

A customer asked me why there are those 2 holes in the prongs of the male 15 amp plug, and why do some not have them? Is there a real answer to this question? I had to say "I don't know"
bcsparks4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 09-22-2008, 12:49 PM   #2
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 35,869
Rewards Points: 562
Default

  • If you were to take apart an outlet and look at the contact wipers that the prongs slide into, you would find that they have have bumps on them. These bumps fit into the holes so that the outlet can grip the plug’s prongs more firmly. This detenting prevents the plug from slipping out of the socket due to the weight of the plug and cord. It also improves the contact between the plug and the outlet.
  • Electrical devices can be "factory-sealed" or "locked-out" by the manufacturer or owner using a plastic tie or a small padlock that runs through one or both of the prong holes. Construction projects or industrial safety requirements may require this type of sealing. For example, a manufacturer might apply a plastic band through the hole and attach it to a tag that says, "You must do blah blah blah before plugging in this device." The user cannot plug in the device without removing the tag, so the user is sure to see the instructions.
  • There also is a small savings in raw materials (metal) for the manufacturer of the actual plug prong. Every little bit helps!
__________________
Ark: ............... Arch: ..................Arc:
480sparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 01:54 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Peabody, Massachusetts
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default holes in the prongs

I believe the holes in the prongs of the & female caps are there for a testing company such as UL to randomly put a pull test on the cap to see if it meets their standard and receives their listing.
Joe Penachio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 04:00 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Podagrower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Central Fl
Posts: 1,309
Rewards Points: 540
Default

I thought it was for hooking up the stripped out 14G romex.
Podagrower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 04:03 PM   #5
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 35,869
Rewards Points: 562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Podagrower View Post
I thought it was for hooking up the stripped out 14G romex.
Why limit it to just 14?

__________________
Ark: ............... Arch: ..................Arc:
480sparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 12:24 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

According to NEMA WD-6 (page 17), the standard for dimensional standards for wiring devices, the holes are optional and are intended for manufacturing purposes only.
ssdd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 05:38 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Conyers, GA
Posts: 81
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
Why limit it to just 14?

HAHAHAHAH gezz, I HAVE watched some workers from south of the border do that crap....
All_amped_up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 09:03 PM   #8
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 35,869
Rewards Points: 562
Default

The holes also make it easy to attach zip/lamp cord as well.

__________________
Ark: ............... Arch: ..................Arc:
480sparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 10:16 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
mattsilkwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: missouri
Posts: 3,097
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
The holes also make it easy to attach zip/lamp cord as well.

the only thing i see is they forgot the tape
mattsilkwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 10:21 PM   #10
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 35,869
Rewards Points: 562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattsilkwood View Post
the only thing i see is they forgot the tape
It's stealth tape, product of the Reagan years. You can't see it, but trust me, it's there....
__________________
Ark: ............... Arch: ..................Arc:
480sparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 10:30 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
mattsilkwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: missouri
Posts: 3,097
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
It's stealth tape, product of the Reagan years. You can't see it, but trust me, it's there....
thats too funny does that stuff work on motor leads?
mattsilkwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 10:46 PM   #12
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 35,869
Rewards Points: 562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattsilkwood View Post
thats too funny does that stuff work on motor leads?

It works on anything. Bet ya didn't notice that F101 parked in your driveway....
__________________
Ark: ............... Arch: ..................Arc:
480sparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 07:30 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Podagrower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Central Fl
Posts: 1,309
Rewards Points: 540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
Why limit it to just 14?

Allright, how about we use the hole in the prong for a screw and nut. Then we could use sta-cons on the wire.
Podagrower is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Working around the need for big holes itsunclebill Code Violation Discussion 8 03-04-2011 02:54 AM
30 year old male in need of some guidance... tony8404 Introductions 11 10-26-2009 05:45 PM
What male plug to use ? Seattle John Introductions 3 10-31-2008 11:47 PM
Drilling holes... twintask Tools, Equipment and New Products 28 04-07-2008 11:31 PM
Receptacle Prongs HOYTUSA General Electrical Discussion 14 04-03-2007 12:51 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com