CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-23-2011, 03:00 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: hawaii
Posts: 1
Default NM-B in conduit underground

I foolishly ran 75' of 6/3 NM-B Romex in 2'' conduit underground from the main panel to a subpanel, I buried the conduit 24'' deep and put sand under and over it. At the time I was told it was fine by some stupid electrician

Now I found out I was supposed to use individual THWN wires because even though it's in sealed conduit its still a wet location. I've been using it like this for the past 6 months but im getting concerned because we've had alot of rain. It is my house and always will be so I don't really care about meeting NEC code as long as it's still safe.

I plan on taking out the romex and replacing it with THWN when I can afford the $300 eventually, but in the mean time what can I do to make sure it's safe? Can I put a 50amp AFCI breaker on the main panel? and what will actually happen when the insulation wears off and it arcs? Will I get electrocuted if I walk on the ground near the conduit?

bluemoonshine is offline  
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 02-23-2011, 03:13 AM   #2
Heavily Armed Member
 
HARRY304E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Reporting from the east coast of Moonbatchusetts..
Posts: 39,497
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluemoonshine View Post
I foolishly ran 75' of 6/3 NM-B Romex in 2'' conduit underground from the main panel to a subpanel, I buried the conduit 24'' deep and put sand under and over it. At the time I was told it was fine by some stupid electrician

Now I found out I was supposed to use individual THWN wires because even though it's in sealed conduit its still a wet location. I've been using it like this for the past 6 months but im getting concerned because we've had alot of rain. It is my house and always will be so I don't really care about meeting NEC code as long as it's still safe.

I plan on taking out the romex and replacing it with THWN when I can afford the $300 eventually, but in the mean time what can I do to make sure it's safe? Can I put a 50amp AFCI breaker on the main panel? and what will actually happen when the insulation wears off and it arcs? Will I get electrocuted if I walk on the ground near the conduit?
I did the same thing at my house 25 years ago and it works fine.

Is it code worthy no.

__________________
ES2 Flat Rate Software
HARRY304E is offline  
Old 02-23-2011, 03:34 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
erics37's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Depoe Bay, Oregon
Posts: 12,566
Default

The conductor insulation is basically the same stuff as THWN (No 480sparky, I can't prove that) and it won't "wear off" due to being submerged any sooner than individual THWN conductors.

The paper sleeve(s) in the cable can wick water if given the chance but that's not too huge a deal.

There's lots of NM cable in lots of underground conduits all over the country and they likely haven't killed too many people yet.

But like Harry said, it's still not code! I wouldn't worry about it too much
__________________
I was assimilated by the Borg and all I got was this stupid t-shirt.
erics37 is offline  
Old 02-23-2011, 04:05 AM   #4
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 17,304
Default

I wouldn't worry about it until it failed. That could be a VERY long time from now if it's in pipe

Sent from my iPhone using the ElectricianTalk Forum app
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline  
Old 02-23-2011, 04:53 AM   #5
Jesus Scott
 
electricmanscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 9,201
Default

Yeah, blame the "stupid electrician" for your screw up.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by 360max View Post
I wish Mayor Bloomberg would bankroll Obama, so we can get the law changed, so Obama can run for a third term.
electricmanscott is offline  
Old 02-23-2011, 05:08 AM   #6
Ambassador of Amps
 
TOOL_5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: sf bay area, CA
Posts: 9,258
Default

Its not a big deal. But if you are concerned, you could put a 50A GFCI breaker on it. I, personally would just leave it till you can get THWN conductors.


~Matt
__________________
I HAVE THE RIGHT TO OFFEND ANYONE I PLEASE. YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO BE OFFENDED, YOU DO NOT HAVE THE RIGHT TO SHUT ME UP.

Advertising space available. Inquire within.
TOOL_5150 is offline  
Old 02-23-2011, 05:50 AM   #7
Moderator
 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 14,960
Default

Thanks for posting on ElectricianTalk.com. The Moderators of this forum would prefer if you post Do It Yourself related topics on our sister site www.DIYChatroom.com

ElectricianTalk.com is designed for electrical industry professionals to discuss issues and topics related to the electrical trades and related industries. Many of our professionals are also members at DIYChatroom.com and are looking forward to assist you with your needs.

Please take a moment to post your question at www.DIYChatroom.com If you're not already a member of DIYChatroom.com you can sign up for a free account by going to http://www.DIYChatroom.com/register.php/

We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused. This thread has been closed.
__________________

Dennis Alwon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running conduit underground question Zparme NEC Code Forum 15 12-01-2010 08:23 AM
Underground moman Residential Electrical Forum 4 09-25-2010 01:17 AM
underground nick General Electrical Discussion 8 06-12-2009 12:49 PM
underground nick General Electrical Discussion 7 06-11-2009 09:09 PM
underground conduit and gas lines rebel34 NEC Code Forum 7 05-24-2009 08:12 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:33 AM.


Copyright © 2006-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com