CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Closed Thread

Old 02-23-2011, 03:00 AM   #1
Registered Member

Default NM-B in conduit underground

I foolishly ran 75' of 6/3 NM-B Romex in 2'' conduit underground from the main panel to a subpanel, I buried the conduit 24'' deep and put sand under and over it. At the time I was told it was fine by some stupid electrician

Now I found out I was supposed to use individual THWN wires because even though it's in sealed conduit its still a wet location. I've been using it like this for the past 6 months but im getting concerned because we've had alot of rain. It is my house and always will be so I don't really care about meeting NEC code as long as it's still safe.

I plan on taking out the romex and replacing it with THWN when I can afford the $300 eventually, but in the mean time what can I do to make sure it's safe? Can I put a 50amp AFCI breaker on the main panel? and what will actually happen when the insulation wears off and it arcs? Will I get electrocuted if I walk on the ground near the conduit?

Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE