CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-23-2011, 03:07 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 19
Default SqD QO Quads?

Is it just me, or does SquareD not make Quad breakers in the QO line?

splotchhide is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 04-23-2011, 03:32 PM   #2
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 34,837
Default

You mean like the Westinghouse/Bryant/ITE/CH type?


__________________
Never believe everything you read on the internet. --Thomas Jefferson.
480sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 03:43 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
You mean like the Westinghouse/Bryant/ITE/CH type?

Yes, exactly. But for a QO panel. I see that SquareD makes them for Homeline panels.
splotchhide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 05:12 PM   #4
Nothin' To Lose
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rahway, NJ
Posts: 14,087
Default

A real electrician would do the right thing and upgrade the panel instead of putting a band-aid on a gun shot wound. I know plenty of union electricians who are way, way better electricians than you.
__________________
Be persistent, transparent, and more importantly, on time.
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 05:14 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
erics37's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Depoe Bay, Oregon
Posts: 12,566
Default

I don't think they make 'em. Can't find anything other than QO twins.
__________________
I was assimilated by the Borg and all I got was this stupid t-shirt.
erics37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 05:16 PM   #6
I have a black cat.
 
Rudeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oakland, Ca
Posts: 4,021
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnettica View Post
A real electrician would do the right thing and upgrade the panel instead of putting a band-aid on a gun shot wound. I know plenty of union electricians who are way, way better electricians than you.
If he was just adding a circuit what would be the problem with using a quad? I don't know if they make them for QO but I used a quad for a Homeline recently and I use them for CH all the time.
__________________
I don't like to Save time and money.
Rudeboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 05:31 PM   #7
Nothin' To Lose
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rahway, NJ
Posts: 14,087
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudeboy View Post
If he was just adding a circuit what would be the problem with using a quad? I don't know if they make them for QO but I used a quad for a Homeline recently and I use them for CH all the time.
The problem is the OP may lack the skill required to do this type of installation.
__________________
Be persistent, transparent, and more importantly, on time.
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 05:38 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 2,649
Send a message via Yahoo to gold
Default

obvious but ...
Twin the sp ckts to make room if you cant replace the whole panel or add a sub.
gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 05:45 PM   #9
I have a black cat.
 
Rudeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oakland, Ca
Posts: 4,021
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gold View Post
obvious but ...
Twin the sp ckts to make room if you cant replace the whole panel or add a sub.
Yeah but if they're mwbc, no handle ties.

Not that that's stopped me before.
__________________
I don't like to Save time and money.
Rudeboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 10:53 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Arco, Idaho
Posts: 89
Default

Just looked in my Square D Digest & there is no listing for a QO tandem quad breaker.
alpha3236 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 03:25 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NM
Posts: 6
Default

Square d do makes a 20/30 double tandem in the QO line. They are expensive, about $ 80.
hasor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 03:42 PM   #12
Electric Al
 
oldtimer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,612
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hasor View Post
Square d do makes a 20/30 double tandem in the QO line. They are expensive, about $ 80.
Show a pic!
__________________
OK, so what's the speed of dark?

Steven Wright
oldtimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 04:09 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NM
Posts: 6
Default

Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2DG49_AS01.JPG (6.3 KB, 95 views)
hasor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 04:12 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NM
Posts: 6
Default

That pic doesnt show it , but it does come with a handle tie
hasor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 05:07 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 652
Default

whats the advantage of a quad pole vs 2 tandem??? it takes the same space
oliquir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 09:54 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Weston, Florida
Posts: 49
Default

Big differance. Two tandems create 4 different circuits from 2 spaces. A quad is two 240V circuits in 2 spaces. The two inner handles are connect as usual. And the two outer handles are connected with a 'U' shaped bracket. This is to allow either of the 2p circuits to trip without affecting the other.
DCAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 09:57 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Weston, Florida
Posts: 49
Default

Go to http://www.schneider-electric.us/ . I think thats the site to look up square D parts.
DCAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 09:59 PM   #18
NRA Member
 
backstay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wonderful Northern Minnesota
Posts: 7,122
Default

Nice to have when panel space is used up. I like to spread the load out some, say the 20 amp 2P is for some type of heat and the 30 amp 2P is an AC unit or visa versa.
backstay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 10:30 PM   #19
"A" Inside Wireman LU 134
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: huntley, illinois
Posts: 88
Default

Hack....
__________________
Piping as long as I can...
pugz134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 01:30 AM   #20
Ambassador of Amps
 
TOOL_5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: sf bay area, CA
Posts: 9,252
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hasor View Post
Thats only a quad if the inner 2 and outer 2 are tied together, otherwise its just a triplex. The breaker 480 posted is a quad.

~Matt

__________________
I HAVE THE RIGHT TO OFFEND ANYONE I PLEASE. YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO BE OFFENDED, YOU DO NOT HAVE THE RIGHT TO SHUT ME UP.

Advertising space available. Inquire within.
TOOL_5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:40 AM.


Copyright 2006-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com