CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-06-2011, 07:15 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 29
Lightbulb Tapping 200 Amp panel to a 150 sub panel?

I am installing a 200 amp panel on the unattached garage. I am running a 150 amp MB sub to the inside of home. I need to know if I can tap off the main panel or would I need to add a 150 amp breaker in the main panel? Need to know the codes if you know them.


Thanks for looking.

Reseman

Reseman is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 07-06-2011, 07:19 PM   #2
Moderator
 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 15,242
Default

How about some more info. Where is the panel ? What size wire? etc. Do you really need a 150amp feeder and if so will the service handle it?

Dennis Alwon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 07:23 PM   #3
child please.....
 
NolaTigaBait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hack City, USA aka New Orleans
Posts: 5,285
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reseman View Post
I am installing a 200 amp panel on the unattached garage. I am running a 150 amp MB sub to the inside of home. I need to know if I can tap off the main panel or would I need to add a 150 amp breaker in the main panel? Need to know the codes if you know them.


Thanks for looking.

Reseman
Are you using one of those feed-thru panels?..If so, use 200 amp wire(and a 200 amp mlo panel) and you are good to go. If you want a "feeder tap" you need to look at 240.21 b...
__________________
REMOVED
NolaTigaBait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 07:30 PM   #4
Moderator
 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 15,242
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NolaTigaBait View Post
Are you using one of those feed-thru panels?..If so, use 200 amp wire(and a 200 amp mlo panel) and you are good to go. If you want a "feeder tap" you need to look at 240.21 b...
If it is a feed thru panel then the wire must be rated for 200 amps.
Dennis Alwon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 07:32 PM   #5
child please.....
 
NolaTigaBait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hack City, USA aka New Orleans
Posts: 5,285
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Alwon View Post
If it is a feed thru panel then the wire must be rated for 200 amps.
Yeah that is why I said "use 200 amp wire"...
__________________
REMOVED
NolaTigaBait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 01:33 AM   #6
Modérateur
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NE Wi / Paris France{ In France for while }
Posts: 4,836
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reseman View Post
I am installing a 200 amp panel on the unattached garage. I am running a 150 amp MB sub to the inside of home. I need to know if I can tap off the main panel or would I need to add a 150 amp breaker in the main panel? Need to know the codes if you know them.


Thanks for looking.

Reseman

IMO it will be cheaper just get the feed thru panel and run 200 amp sized conductors than try to buy a two pole 150 amp breaker that sucker is NOT cheap and not all place will have it stock escpally with push on loadcentre with common useage in resdentail { unless you got lucky with NQOD panel which they are typically bolt on then it will be a brezze }

Merci,
Marc
__________________
Bleu est beau.
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 01:55 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
A Little Short's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: US
Posts: 2,489
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NolaTigaBait View Post
Are you using one of those feed-thru panels?..If so, use 200 amp wire(and a 200 amp mlo panel) and you are good to go. If you want a "feeder tap" you need to look at 240.21 b...
If he's running to the house from a separate (unattached) building, he would need a disconnect unless he has 6 or less breakers. You can get a MB panel sometimes cheaper than a MLO. IMO, less trouble to just put in a MB panel than to have to add a disconnect.

Edit: I agree with needing a 200A.

Last edited by A Little Short; 07-07-2011 at 01:58 PM.
A Little Short is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 01:56 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 14,058
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NolaTigaBait

Are you using one of those feed-thru panels?..If so, use 200 amp wire(and a 200 amp mlo panel) and you are good to go. If you want a "feeder tap" you need to look at 240.21 b...
That's how I would do it.

mcclary's electrical is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SEC passing thru a panel fedding another panel jwjrw NEC Code Forum 34 08-15-2011 08:33 AM
Spa panel and hot tub besc Residential Electrical Forum 25 05-20-2011 05:56 PM
Converting old SQ.-D QO panel to sub-panel subelect Services and Service Equipment 14 12-22-2010 01:53 AM
Sub panel feeding another sub panel electrocop General Electrical Discussion 11 03-02-2010 09:59 AM
Sub Panel Electric pole NEC Code Forum 16 10-25-2009 12:44 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:45 PM.


Copyright © 2006-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com