Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-16-2010, 09:18 PM   #1
Ambassador of Amps
 
TOOL_5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: sf bay area, CA
Posts: 9,095
Default Underground conduits / duct seal

Had an inspector say today "Id like to see that underground conduit sealed with duct seal" I just kind of noddded and was going to see if she was going to put it on the permit to be done before final. She didn't so I didnt have to fight it, but it got me wondering: Is it required anywhere in the NEC, other than classified locations, to seal underground conduits?

~Matt

__________________
I HAVE THE RIGHT TO OFFEND ANYONE I PLEASE. YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO BE OFFENDED, YOU DO NOT HAVE THE RIGHT TO SHUT ME UP.

Advertising space available. Inquire within.
TOOL_5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!
Old 12-16-2010, 09:23 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,346
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOOL_5150 View Post
Had an inspector say today "Id like to see that underground conduit sealed with duct seal" I just kind of noddded and was going to see if she was going to put it on the permit to be done before final. She didn't so I didnt have to fight it, but it got me wondering: Is it required anywhere in the NEC, other than classified locations, to seal underground conduits?

~Matt

Will be Next month. 2011

leland is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to leland For This Useful Post:
erics37 (12-17-2010)
Old 12-16-2010, 09:24 PM   #3
Ambassador of Amps
 
TOOL_5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: sf bay area, CA
Posts: 9,095
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leland View Post
Will be Next month. 2011
got a ref? California is just going to 2008 jan1


~Matt
__________________
I HAVE THE RIGHT TO OFFEND ANYONE I PLEASE. YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO BE OFFENDED, YOU DO NOT HAVE THE RIGHT TO SHUT ME UP.

Advertising space available. Inquire within.
TOOL_5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 12:48 PM   #4
Professional Nit Picker
 
manchestersparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,603
Default

before giving an answer, we need to know what the conduits were terminated to, and where they were run and so forth.

Look into article 300.5 (B) and then 300.5(4)(G) in the 2008 NEC.

300.5(B) tells you that a conduit under ground is a wet location.
300.5(4)(G) tells you to plug the end(s) of conduits if the conduit can introduce moisture to live parts.
manchestersparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 01:05 PM   #5
Ax grinder
 
raider1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Logan, Utah
Posts: 1,997
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOOL_5150 View Post
got a ref? California is just going to 2008 jan1


~Matt
Check out 225.27 in the 2011 NEC.

Quote:

225.27 Raceway Seal.
Where a raceway enters a building
or structure from an underground distribution system, it
shall be sealed in accordance with 300.5(G). Spare or unused
raceways shall also be sealed. Sealants shall be identified
for use with the cable insulation, shield, or other

components.


Also this has been required for services for awhile.

Check out 230.8.

Chris
raider1 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to raider1 For This Useful Post:
leland (12-18-2010)
Old 12-17-2010, 05:48 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Podagrower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Central Fl
Posts: 1,261
Default

Well, while we are talking about it...
I've always (mostly) sealed conduits that exited the building, service entrance, exterior lighting, AC compressors, etc. I did a job last year where the inspector said all the conduits under the slab left the building, so they all needed to be sealed. It wasn't worth arguing (maybe 30 1" homeruns), so I just did it.
So, do the pipes under the slab leave the building? Or is everything inside the footer inside the building?
Podagrower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 10:51 PM   #7
Ambassador of Amps
 
TOOL_5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: sf bay area, CA
Posts: 9,095
Default

The conduit went from a bell box on a detached structure, underground, then back up into the bottom of a 10x10 3R that was on the house. There was no way water would leak into either of the boxes.

~Matt
__________________
I HAVE THE RIGHT TO OFFEND ANYONE I PLEASE. YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO BE OFFENDED, YOU DO NOT HAVE THE RIGHT TO SHUT ME UP.

Advertising space available. Inquire within.
TOOL_5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 10:52 PM   #8
Ambassador of Amps
 
TOOL_5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: sf bay area, CA
Posts: 9,095
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raider1 View Post
Check out 225.27 in the 2011 NEC.



Also this has been required for services for awhile.

Check out 230.8.

Chris
[/size][/font][/size][/font]


EVen under 2011, this would not apply - its not an underground distribution system.

~Matt
__________________
I HAVE THE RIGHT TO OFFEND ANYONE I PLEASE. YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO BE OFFENDED, YOU DO NOT HAVE THE RIGHT TO SHUT ME UP.

Advertising space available. Inquire within.
TOOL_5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 12:06 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,346
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOOL_5150 View Post
Had an inspector say today "Id like to see that underground conduit sealed with duct seal" I just kind of noddded and was going to see if she was going to put it on the permit to be done before final. She didn't so I didnt have to fight it, but it got me wondering: Is it required anywhere in the NEC, other than classified locations, to seal underground conduits?

~Matt

Now that you expanded this... No need to seal.
leland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 05:37 AM   #10
BR549
 
jrannis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South Florida
Posts: 7,292
Default

For some reason, we put ductseal on conduits ONLY for underground services.
I usually put duct seal in conduits that come inside from generators. An air exchange sometimes develops when the unit comes on.
jrannis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 10:39 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: ca
Posts: 59
Default

AHJ. I did a power gen. plant a few years back, and all u/g vault conduits had to be sealed because of the rats. They'd use the 4"'s for a drive thru dinner. They can digest THHN/THWN, and SIS, but not duct seal.
joebanana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 10:43 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 105
Default

I have seen water fill up storage rooms because they where not sealed. Below the water table.
one2question is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 10:45 PM   #13
B4T
Scotchkote Installer
 
B4T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Long Island, N.Y.
Posts: 30,628
Default

Goose poop would do a better job of keeping water out of conduits..

There are millions of compression water tight connectors on services that rely on duct seal to keep the water out.

We all know how good that is working, but it does generate some nice dollars..
__________________
Welcome to ET.. where the clowns don't need a tent to try and make people laugh.. http://steelturman.typepad.com/photo...f_clowns_2.jpg
B4T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 10:51 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B4T View Post
Goose poop would do a better job of keeping water out of conduits..
Would Scotchkote do a better job?
Peter-D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 11:14 PM   #15
Coaster Sparky
 
thegoldenboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Western Massachusetts
Posts: 1,943
Default

We do a lot of traffic intersections for the company I work for. It's usually 3" Sch. 80 underground with concrete handholes every 150' or thereabouts and after we pull the wire in we go behind and put a duct seal patty over the ends of the pipe in the handholes. I've only personally done it once but the traffic foreman told me it was more of a state requirement than a NEC requirement.

The job I was on this summer, I think we used spray foam and duct seal when the lateral came into the CT cabinet. I didn't work on it myself but I'm pretty sure what that's what the guy used to seal it up.
__________________
I saw a girl texting & driving the other day & it really made me mad, so I rolled down my window & threw my beer at her.
thegoldenboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 12:35 AM   #16
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 11,012
Default

Duct seal looks pretty. Expanding foam works better. Take your pick.

__________________
Not only would Eddie go, but BBQ and Brian John left too
macmikeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Red Seal? petek57 General Electrical Discussion 37 12-29-2010 11:08 PM
Duct Seal at Weatherhead doubleoh7 General Electrical Discussion 24 11-28-2010 01:25 PM
Just needs a little duct seal electricmanscott General Electrical Discussion 38 05-21-2010 07:43 AM
Old Meter Seal crazymurph Vintage Electrical 2 04-18-2010 12:32 PM
Frozen Underground Conduits JAB General Electrical Discussion 13 02-02-2010 09:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:53 PM.


Copyright 2006-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2