CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-17-2010, 07:55 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NASA
Posts: 7,521
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default Wiring up a double wide.

I was sent to Arlington VA to wire up a job trailer.

It was a double wide office trailer 24' x 62'



Got to love how the trailer rental company conects the units together.







Last edited by Bob Badger; 04-17-2010 at 08:03 AM.
Bob Badger is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 04-17-2010, 08:01 AM   #2
Fried Bologna um um good!
 
jwjrw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: nc
Posts: 8,092
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Someone knew what they were doing....I see a red head under that black tape

__________________
The more I learn the less I seem to know......
jwjrw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 08:35 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
william1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charlotte, N.C.
Posts: 11,079
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

I have wired many office trailers in the past and have never seen anything like that under them. The last one I wired was a 5 trailers put together and each trailer was fed with 100amps.
william1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 08:38 AM   #4
Fried Bologna um um good!
 
jwjrw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: nc
Posts: 8,092
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

I did 8 trailers for Duke Power. They used them for training the substation operators. All had 100a services on them also.
__________________
The more I learn the less I seem to know......
jwjrw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 08:47 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NASA
Posts: 7,521
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

I have done tons of job trailers, all have had 100 to 125 amp feeders to them and I have not seen jumpers between them either.

Both of these trailers have 100 amp feeders, I have no idea what they are really connecting together with this MC.



Before anyone mentions the NEC I should point out it does not apply at this location. This areas AHJ is fine with SER.
Bob Badger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 08:51 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NASA
Posts: 7,521
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Side questions.

When you others wire these units;

1) Do you install grounding electrodes?

2) If yes how many?

3) How do you get around 225.30 'number of supplies'?
Bob Badger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 09:05 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
william1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charlotte, N.C.
Posts: 11,079
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwjrw View Post
I did 8 trailers for Duke Power. They used them for training the substation operators. All had 100a services on them also.
Where abouts was this job?
william1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 09:09 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
william1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charlotte, N.C.
Posts: 11,079
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Badger View Post
Side questions.

When you others wire these units;

1) Do you install grounding electrodes?

2) If yes how many?

3) How do you get around 225.30 'number of supplies'?
I have only installed 2 ground rods at the sefvice, and as far as number of supplies I have never been questioned on it. I do bond each section together with #4.
william1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 09:17 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NASA
Posts: 7,521
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by william1978 View Post
I have only installed 2 ground rods at the service,
250.32(A) requires grounding electrode(s) at this separate structure.

I drove two rods and connected the two sections to both rods.


Quote:
and as far as number of supplies I have never been questioned on it.
Neither have I but it seems 225.30 is being violated.

Quote:
I do bond each section together with #4.
In this case I accomplished that with the GEC but with more sections I would jump the other sections together with 4 AWG as well.
Bob Badger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 09:23 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
william1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charlotte, N.C.
Posts: 11,079
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Badger View Post
250.32(A) requires grounding electrode(s) at this separate structure.

I drove two rods and connected the two sections to both rods.


Neither have I but it seems 225.30 is being violated.



In this case I accomplished that with the GEC but with more sections I would jump the other sections together with 4 AWG as well.
That is sorta what I did also. I came out of the meter down to both rods, and then up to the frame of the trailers.

Around here we use #4 for just about everything that is 200a or less.
william1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to william1978 For This Useful Post:
jwjrw (04-17-2010)
Old 04-17-2010, 09:56 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 735
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Why would number of supplies come into it? I am assuming there is one main supply service and these two sub panels, or more panels even.
Jeff000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 10:16 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NASA
Posts: 7,521
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff000 View Post
Why would number of supplies come into it? I am assuming there is one main supply service and these two sub panels, or more panels even.
Because the NEC prohibits more than one feeder to a structure unless if fits one of many conditions, none of which seem to apply to this job.


Quote:
II. More Than One Building or Other Structure

225.30 Number of Supplies.
Where more than one building or other structure is on the same property and under single management, each additional building or other structure that is served by a branch circuit or feeder on the load side of the service disconnecting means shall be supplied by only one feeder or branch circuit unless permitted in 225.30(A) through (E). For the purpose of this section, a multiwire branch circuit shall be considered a single circuit.
In my opinion none of the items in (A) through (E) apply so we are limited to one feeder.
Bob Badger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 11:29 AM   #13
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 17,304
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Maybe they're calling it two structures, but you can just coincidently walk between them? Fire doors with closers in the demising wall??

It just seems like job trailers aren't inspected too hard. Around here, they look for a couple rods and #8 to the frame(s), and that's about it.
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 12:27 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 735
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Badger View Post
Because the NEC prohibits more than one feeder to a structure unless if fits one of many conditions, none of which seem to apply to this job.




In my opinion none of the items in (A) through (E) apply so we are limited to one feeder.
Branch circuit....

Does the NEC have a section for Factory built relocatable structures? The CEC outlines trailers as pictured in section 70. I don't have my code book here so not even sure if that section covers said predicament, but would think it would.

By that token they are manufactured so could be a piece of equipment rather then a building?

I can't really see the two trailers as being classed two buildings either, the whole firewall and doors thing.
Jeff000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 12:35 PM   #15
Fried Bologna um um good!
 
jwjrw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: nc
Posts: 8,092
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by william1978 View Post
Where abouts was this job?
I did them at East Coast Trailer. Now that I think about it 2 were for substation training. We had to manufacture a solenoid to trip the remote start for the generator on those.
The other 6 were construction trailers. I was told 1 was going to Puerto Rico.
__________________
The more I learn the less I seem to know......
jwjrw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 10:40 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 96
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Bob,

IMO, A double wide is one structure that happens to get delivered in more

than one section. Of course, one service disconnect would be required.
__________________
Frank, Arizona,USA

It's what you learn after you know it all that counts
Benaround is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 10:53 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,362
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MDShunk View Post
Maybe they're calling it two structures, but you can just coincidently walk between them? Fire doors with closers in the demising wall??

It just seems like job trailers aren't inspected too hard. Around here, they look for a couple rods and #8 to the frame(s), and that's about it.

Sad ,No Doubt!- but reality all over.

leland is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wide format printers Dnkldorf Business, Marketing, and Sales 9 04-10-2010 02:13 PM
Post too wide bobelectric Site Feedback and Suggestions 1 03-18-2010 06:56 AM
Double Tap Mike Lamb General Electrical Discussion 13 08-25-2009 05:17 PM
Double Pole Breaker windrider General Electrical Discussion 2 08-06-2009 05:37 PM
Generator - Double Delta? LightGuy48 General Electrical Discussion 3 10-22-2007 09:42 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:44 PM.


Copyright © 2006-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com