CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > UK Electrical Forum

Old 12-21-2008, 12:31 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 250
Talking British Standards

I've got a couple (several dozen actually, but will start with just a couple) of questions about the British Standard.

First some background, I am a Licensed Master Electrician in the State of Maine, but am now working in Iraq. I am working as an inspector, and am now being asked to inspect facilities based on the BS. I have a PDF copy of the British Standards 16th edition and have been brushing up on it.

My big question is on earthing, I will be inspecting installations with the TN -S and the TN-C-S systems. In a Life Support Area (LSA) here on base there are anywhere from 100 to 400 Containerized Housing Units (CHUs) so an LSA basically resembles a trailer park in the states. In a 4 wire TN-C-S system with a combined Protecive and Neutral Conductor the diagram in the code book shows an "additonal source earth" but is pretty vague as to it's location. We have a situation where one set of feeders will feed into a CHU, and then daisy-chain along to feed several other CHUs.

In this application where should this additional source earth connection be made, and how many are required.

It is also my understandig that in a TN-S system with 5-wire feeders there is NO requirement for earthing other than at the source...is this a correct assumption?

Thank you for any and all help...more questions to follow!

"fool-proof systems do not take into account the ingenuity of fools"
TheRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!