UK Motor overload settings - hazardous area - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > UK Electrical Forum


Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By JRaef
  • 1 Post By gnuuser
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-13-2016, 04:53 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Scotland, United Kingdom
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 8
Angry Motor overload settings - hazardous area

I have an Exd motor located in a zone 2 hazardous area. The FLA is 18Amps, the Locked Rotor Current is 24Amps. The motor drives a mud tank agitator with a variable load, depending on the weight of fluid in the tank. My question is, What should the overloads be set at?
I can give some more details of the type of overloads installed if required.
John Thomson is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-13-2016, 09:18 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
JRaef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: SF Bay Area, California
Posts: 4,266
Rewards Points: 2,422
Default

Most IEC overload relays will be factory calibrated so that you set them for the actual motor FLA as it shows on the nameplate. The pick-up point of 115-117% is already factored into the design based on you having done that.
John Thomson likes this.
__________________
"If you don't know where you're going, then any direction will do." -- Lewis Carroll
JRaef is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2016, 05:37 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Scotland, United Kingdom
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRaef View Post
Most IEC overload relays will be factory calibrated so that you set them for the actual motor FLA as it shows on the nameplate. The pick-up point of 115-117% is already factored into the design based on you having done that.
Thanks very much for that, do you know of any trade/manufactures documents that would confirm this? Also any trade/manufactures documents on 'motor start mounded case circuit breakers would be appreciated. Thanks in advance J, your quick response is appreciated.
John Thomson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2016, 07:25 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NL, Canada
Posts: 1,081
Rewards Points: 2,741
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Thomson View Post
Thanks very much for that, do you know of any trade/manufactures documents that would confirm this?
That would be in installation information from the manufacturer of the overload. Do you have that information? Or at least a manufacturer and part number?
AK_sparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2016, 09:47 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
gnuuser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: nw. Pa.
Posts: 1,200
Rewards Points: 1,616
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRaef View Post
Most IEC overload relays will be factory calibrated so that you set them for the actual motor FLA as it shows on the nameplate. The pick-up point of 115-117% is already factored into the design based on you having done that.
quite often they are usually set for the motor rating but it should also be taken into consideration the size of the conductors.
more than a few times iv'e found the setting was raised due to nuisance tripping (usually by an unauthorized person)
even worse when the conductors were undersized for the distance from the supply and a larger motor had been later installed without changing to the proper size conductors.

its one of these deals where you have to look at everything with a careful eye
John Thomson likes this.
__________________
Miracle (mere-ack-ull):the aspirations of the indigent, The expectation of the indolent, and the inspiration of the ignorant.
gnuuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2016, 08:18 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Scotland, United Kingdom
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Thanks for that, food for thought.
John Thomson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com