CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Union Topics

Old 05-08-2009, 03:33 PM   #1
HVolt Testing

Rewards Points: 10
Default FLE question

Hey Guys,

I'm new here and have a question. But 1st some background.

I'm 46 and have been in the Hvolt Testing and commisioning business for 21 years and in Industrial Construction prior to that. I graduated from Oklahoma State Tech in 1985.

I'm not Union But my father was.

My father was a union guy out of West Texas and was from LU-460 I think. He joined in the early 50's and ran a Shop out in Pecos Texas. My "apprenticeship" basically took place from the age of about 12 working weekends and summers with him or his guys before I ever thought I would be an electrician or go to tech school. It gave me a huge head start in practical knowledge once I got out of tech school. I love and thank him to this day for that.

He sold that shop in the Late 60's and had to go on the road due to a 5 year no-compete clause that was part of the sale. He was on a lot of very big Union Jobs like Glenn Canyon Damn etc. Mostly Bechtel Jobs I think. I know he stayed in a lot of Man Camps.

He died in a Service truck wreck while I was still in College in 1983, and I still have his wallet locked in my safe.

I was going through it again the other day and found a FLE's card hidden in it that I had not seen before.

I asked my Mom about it and all she knew was that it had something to do with the Union and that it was supposed to have been useful for a traveler to get better treatment in a strange local.

It is a normal size business card, with a union printed printers mark center bottom.

In the upper left corner is a stick figure flea standing uprite.

across the top it says;

Ancient and Honorable Order
of the
ROYAL ORDER OF THE FLE'S

This is to certify that Brother Glenn McNeil