Drilling through I beams - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Residential Electrical Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2012, 04:29 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Washington
Posts: 163
Rewards Points: 150
Default Drilling through I beams

There seems to be a debate amongst some of the trades in regards to drilling through beams. So how far along the beam and how far apart d o you drill holes?
FCR1988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 07-13-2012, 04:34 PM   #2
Electrical Simpleton

 
Pete m.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,661
Rewards Points: 218
Default

You had better get a structural engineer involved before you make ANY holes.

Drilling a hole in any engineered product whether it be wood or steel could end up taking a big chunk of your profit or cause an insurance claim.

Pete
__________________
When you are dead, you don't know that you're dead. It is only difficult for others.

It's the same when you're stupid.
Pete m. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Pete m. For This Useful Post:
360max (07-13-2012), Roger. (07-13-2012)
Old 07-13-2012, 04:34 PM   #3
Moderator

 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 15,931
Rewards Points: 3,389
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FCR1988 View Post
There seems to be a debate amongst some of the trades in regards to drilling through beams. So how far along the beam and how far apart d o you drill holes?
I have drilled I beams but not without an engineers okay- you drill in the wrong place you are in deep doo-doo
Dennis Alwon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 04:40 PM   #4
Data Tech/Apprentice.
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Zealand.
Posts: 8,511
Rewards Points: 4,014
Default

If I have to do it, I go as small as I can.
__________________
Currently under suspension for unauthorized heroism.
chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 04:43 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Washington
Posts: 163
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Damn, yea we're in apartments and theres no other way to run wire. But no one is any help on the jobsite.
FCR1988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 04:44 PM   #6
Moderator

 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 15,931
Rewards Points: 3,389
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chewy View Post
If I have to do it, I go as small as I can.
I have drilled 2 " holes thru them. Theoretically, the middle part from top to bottom, does not carry any load. I bet if you stay in the first 1/3 of the length at either end you would be okay. It is probably similar to floor joist.

Dennis Alwon is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Dennis Alwon For This Useful Post:
19kilosparky984 (07-13-2012), chewy (07-13-2012), nolabama (07-13-2012)
Old 07-13-2012, 04:45 PM   #7
Moderator

 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 15,931
Rewards Points: 3,389
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FCR1988 View Post
Damn, yea we're in apartments and theres no other way to run wire. But no one is any help on the jobsite.
I have to go up and down around the steel thru the wall.
Dennis Alwon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 04:53 PM   #8
Jesus Scott
 
electricmanscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 9,232
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FCR1988 View Post
There seems to be a debate amongst some of the trades in regards to drilling through beams. So how far along the beam and how far apart d o you drill holes?
Wood or steel?
electricmanscott is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to electricmanscott For This Useful Post:
hardworkingstiff (07-13-2012)
Old 07-13-2012, 05:27 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
angryceltic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Western, MA
Posts: 362
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FCR1988
There seems to be a debate amongst some of the trades in regards to drilling through beams. So how far along the beam and how far apart d o you drill holes?
Have the foreman submit an rfi
angryceltic is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to angryceltic For This Useful Post:
MechanicalDVR (07-19-2012)
Old 07-13-2012, 05:47 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
360max's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 7,186
Rewards Points: 2,315
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FCR1988 View Post
Damn, yea we're in apartments and theres no other way to run wire. But no one is any help on the jobsite.
....use beam clamps like everyone else, that's the way its done.
360max is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to 360max For This Useful Post:
Salvatoreg02 (07-14-2012)
Old 07-13-2012, 05:53 PM   #11
Moderator

 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 15,931
Rewards Points: 3,389
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 360max View Post
....use beam clamps like everyone else, that's the way its done.
How does a beam clamp help if you cannot pass over or under and need to get to the other side?
Dennis Alwon is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Dennis Alwon For This Useful Post:
electricmanscott (07-14-2012), hardworkingstiff (07-13-2012)
Old 07-13-2012, 06:08 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
360max's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 7,186
Rewards Points: 2,315
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Alwon View Post
How does a beam clamp help if you cannot pass over or under and need to get to the other side?

...if there is no other option, the structural engineer will tell you, IN WRITING, where do drill and how far apart.
360max is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 06:12 PM   #13
B4T
Scotchkote Installer
 
B4T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Long Island, N.Y.
Posts: 30,628
Rewards Points: 15,378
Default

Here is a link with all kinds of info.. look under "installation guide".. http://www.gp.com/build/product.aspx?pid=1390
__________________
Welcome to ET.. where the clowns don't need a tent to try and make people laugh.. http://steelturman.typepad.com/photo...f_clowns_2.jpg
B4T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 07:32 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Oregon
Posts: 640
Rewards Points: 528
Default

Depends what kind of ibeam. Im picturing a tgi
jimmy21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 07:44 PM   #15
Licensed Journeyman
 
nolabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: third world/New Orleans to Mobile
Posts: 5,822
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

Hougan bit - mag drill - drill away
__________________
ďDammit, Smithers, this isnít rocket science, itís brain surgery!Ē
nolabama is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nolabama For This Useful Post:
socalelect (07-14-2012)
Old 07-13-2012, 07:59 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,157
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 360max View Post
...if there is no other option, the structural engineer will tell you, IN WRITING, where do drill and how far apart.
All you have to do is grab one of the little booklets that is attached to just about every beam.

In there it has exact locations you can drill. Pretty much exactly what Dennis posted.

By the time that "structural engineer" gets back to you the GC will have found a competent EC to replace you with.
19kilosparky984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 08:15 PM   #17
Data Tech/Apprentice.
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Zealand.
Posts: 8,511
Rewards Points: 4,014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nolabama
Hougan bit - mag drill - drill away
In leiu of a mag drill Ive just used plenty of cutting oil and a 32mm holesaw.

Alternatively Ive bought the iron workers a box of beers and they cut holes Ive marked with a plasma cutter.
__________________
Currently under suspension for unauthorized heroism.
chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 08:16 PM   #18
Licensed Journeyman
 
nolabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: third world/New Orleans to Mobile
Posts: 5,822
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

I have used hole saws also - hougan bits are waaaay better
__________________
ďDammit, Smithers, this isnít rocket science, itís brain surgery!Ē
nolabama is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nolabama For This Useful Post:
socalelect (07-14-2012)
Old 07-13-2012, 08:22 PM   #19
Data Tech/Apprentice.
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Zealand.
Posts: 8,511
Rewards Points: 4,014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nolabama
I have used hole saws also - hougan bits are waaaay better
They wouldnt work with just a handheld power drill would they?
__________________
Currently under suspension for unauthorized heroism.
chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 01:23 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
360max's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 7,186
Rewards Points: 2,315
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 19kilosparky984 View Post
All you have to do is grab one of the little booklets that is attached to just about every beam.

In there it has exact locations you can drill. Pretty much exactly what Dennis posted.

By the time that "structural engineer" gets back to you the GC will have found a competent EC to replace you with.
I work primarily industrial, so there are no booklets attached to the beams, and the beams are massive pieces of steel. As for the 'competent EC' comment, if I drilled a hole thru a steel beam to run anything without prior written approval, I'd be down the road before the bit cooled!

Last edited by 360max; 07-14-2012 at 01:27 AM.
360max is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drilling through foundation Zparme General Electrical Discussion 30 06-11-2011 12:36 AM
Drilling tile Chris Kennedy Off Topic 12 01-23-2011 04:25 AM
Attaching 4 sq. boxes to I-beams subelect General Electrical Discussion 29 01-06-2011 01:55 PM
drilling holes den Tools, Equipment and New Products 20 02-21-2010 11:03 PM
panel drilling spec grade General Electrical Discussion 15 10-18-2009 11:17 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:36 PM.


Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com