Firestat for attic ventilator - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Residential Electrical Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2009, 11:17 AM   #1
B4T
Scotchkote Installer
 
B4T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Long Island, N.Y.
Posts: 30,628
Rewards Points: 15,378
Default Firestat for attic ventilator

I am looking for a FIRESTAT and I keep getting.. "a what" answers. I thought it would be a no brainer to install them on any fan that works off a thermostat in the attic. Anyone here have a link for one? Thanks..
B4T is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-08-2009, 11:23 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Toronto Sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, (Scarborough) Canada.
Posts: 1,584
Rewards Points: 1,008
Default

Hey... I never thought of that.. But you are right.. nothing like creating an air flow when your attic fan detects heat of the fire even in the middle of winter.
Toronto Sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 04:15 PM   #3
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 18,249
Rewards Points: 3,855
Default

The replacement attic fan thermostat that I use has a firestat built into it. I think it comes on at 190 degrees F, if I'm not mistaken. Brand... let me think a little bit. I don't have one here handy.
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 04:25 PM   #4
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 18,249
Rewards Points: 3,855
Default

Okay, I found it in a catalog. CamStat is the OEM, although you'll find this exact same control with many, many private brand labels on it. I think I pay around 30-40 dollars for it:

__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.

Last edited by MDShunk; 06-08-2009 at 04:31 PM.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 05:52 PM   #5
B4T
Scotchkote Installer
 
B4T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Long Island, N.Y.
Posts: 30,628
Rewards Points: 15,378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MDShunk View Post
Okay, I found it in a catalog. CamStat is the OEM, although you'll find this exact same control with many, many private brand labels on it. I think I pay around 30-40 dollars for it:

thanks Marc.. I will use that if I can't find just a FIRESTAT. I just tried calling NUTONE customer support, but they close 5:00 EST. Guess they figure people in Cali stop working at 2:00 and can call back tomorrow.
B4T is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wires in the attic... waco General Electrical Discussion 5 09-08-2008 09:11 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:09 AM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com
 

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1