CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Residential Electrical Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-08-2009, 11:17 AM   #1
B4T
Scotchkote Installer
 
B4T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Long Island, N.Y.
Posts: 30,628
Rewards Points: 4,000
Default Firestat for attic ventilator

I am looking for a FIRESTAT and I keep getting.. "a what" answers. I thought it would be a no brainer to install them on any fan that works off a thermostat in the attic. Anyone here have a link for one? Thanks..

B4T is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 06-08-2009, 11:23 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Toronto Sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, (Scarborough) Canada.
Posts: 1,580
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Hey... I never thought of that.. But you are right.. nothing like creating an air flow when your attic fan detects heat of the fire even in the middle of winter.

Toronto Sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 04:15 PM   #3
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 17,322
Rewards Points: 2,034
Default

The replacement attic fan thermostat that I use has a firestat built into it. I think it comes on at 190 degrees F, if I'm not mistaken. Brand... let me think a little bit. I don't have one here handy.
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 04:25 PM   #4
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 17,322
Rewards Points: 2,034
Default

Okay, I found it in a catalog. CamStat is the OEM, although you'll find this exact same control with many, many private brand labels on it. I think I pay around 30-40 dollars for it:

__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.

Last edited by MDShunk; 06-08-2009 at 04:31 PM.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 05:52 PM   #5
B4T
Scotchkote Installer
 
B4T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Long Island, N.Y.
Posts: 30,628
Rewards Points: 4,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MDShunk View Post
Okay, I found it in a catalog. CamStat is the OEM, although you'll find this exact same control with many, many private brand labels on it. I think I pay around 30-40 dollars for it:

thanks Marc.. I will use that if I can't find just a FIRESTAT. I just tried calling NUTONE customer support, but they close 5:00 EST. Guess they figure people in Cali stop working at 2:00 and can call back tomorrow.
B4T is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wires in the attic... waco General Electrical Discussion 5 09-08-2008 09:11 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Copyright © 2006-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com