How would you clean this up? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Residential Electrical Forum


Like Tree83Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2017, 09:40 AM   #1
Member
 
Hangry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kathleen Wynnes Armpit
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 94
Default How would you clean this up?

Was sent a picture today from a potential client who would like a panel replacement and wiring cleaned up. how would you experts do this?
I'm really green when it comes to panel replacements on existing services.
http://imgur.com/a/uGKfd

Last edited by Hangry; 02-17-2017 at 09:46 AM.
Hangry is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2017, 09:44 AM   #2
Member
 
Hangry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kathleen Wynnes Armpit
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 94
Default

Cant upload file keeps failing
Hangry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 09:45 AM   #3
Member
 
NJ Contractor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 40
Default

I would recommend to the owner an electrician with experience in the type of work he wants done. Why would you take on a project you do not know how to perform?
360max likes this.
NJ Contractor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 09:52 AM   #4
still in business
 
sbrn33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: middle america
Posts: 8,125
Rewards Points: 2,196
Default

I would rip everything out put a 60 space Siemens in. That actually looks alot worse than it is. Once you get all that **** out of there it won't be so hard. You don't have your location listed so if this is in Canada nevermind because their panels are stupid.
360max likes this.
__________________
I still can't believe you even posted that trash.
sbrn33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 09:57 AM   #5
Click Here
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 15,508
Rewards Points: 4,982
Default

Personally, I don't like large panels, they get too jammed in with wires. I would rather install (2) 30 space panels than a 60 space.

I don't see any issue with this job, instal a main panel and a sub next to it and wire it up.
MechanicalDVR likes this.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 09:59 AM   #6
Member
 
Hangry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kathleen Wynnes Armpit
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbrn33 View Post
I would rip everything out put a 60 space Siemens in. That actually looks alot worse than it is. Once you get all that **** out of there it won't be so hard. You don't have your location listed so if this is in Canada nevermind because their panels are stupid.
Yes it is Ontario, Canada. The house is 30 years old. I was thinking to rip it all out and use 3/4 ply backer board. 200 amp 40/80 load center but wonder if I should reuse the generator panel or go with something new.
Hangry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 10:02 AM   #7
Click Here
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 15,508
Rewards Points: 4,982
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hangry View Post
Yes it is Ontario, Canada. The house is 30 years old. I was thinking to rip it all out and use 3/4 ply backer board. 200 amp 40/80 load center
That's crazy using tandems in a new 40 space panel.

Quote:
but wonder if I should reuse the generator panel or go with something new.
That's something you need to discuss with the customer. Are they ok with the limited circuits they have in the transfer panel now? Would they prefer a switch that will power the entire panel? Are they willing to pay the high cost to change it?
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 10:03 AM   #8
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 13,494
Rewards Points: 7,170
Default

Seriously, I don't see much of a mess. It might work to mount the new panel sideways. We can do that. It drives the Americans crazy .
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 10:07 AM   #9
animal lover /rat bastard
 
wildleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: somewhere in FL
Posts: 12,335
Rewards Points: 402
Default

the adjacent pictures on that account make me believe that this is a troll thread, so I am out.
__________________
this message was sent from a dental floss farm using ZappaTalk and a pair of zirconium encrusted tweasers
wildleg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 10:08 AM   #10
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 13,494
Rewards Points: 7,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
That's crazy using tandems in a new 40 space panel.


That's something you need to discuss with the customer. Are they ok with the limited circuits they have in the transfer panel now? Would they prefer a switch that will power the entire panel? Are they willing to pay the high cost to change it?
I use tandems all the time. Nothing wrong with them.
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 10:10 AM   #11
Member
 
Hangry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kathleen Wynnes Armpit
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildleg View Post
the adjacent pictures on that account make me believe that this is a troll thread, so I am out.
What?
Hangry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 10:15 AM   #12
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 13,494
Rewards Points: 7,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NJ Contractor View Post
I would recommend to the owner an electrician with experience in the type of work he wants done. Why would you take on a project you do not know how to perform?
Huh? He's just looking for pointers. If I didn't try anything different, I could be stuck out in the bush somewhere on a cable pull.
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 10:16 AM   #13
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 13,494
Rewards Points: 7,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hangry View Post
What?
What he said makes no sense. Carry on.
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 10:18 AM   #14
Deplorable-Electrician
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: God's Country of Virginia
Posts: 24,760
Rewards Points: 18,860
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NJ Contractor View Post
I would recommend to the owner an electrician with experience in the type of work he wants done. Why would you take on a project you do not know how to perform?
Everyone has to start somewhere. No need to bust his balls, that cluster is bad enough on it's own.
Maple_Syrup25 and circuitman1 like this.
__________________
DJT, making libtards cry since 20 Jan 2017
MechanicalDVR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 10:21 AM   #15
Deplorable-Electrician
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: God's Country of Virginia
Posts: 24,760
Rewards Points: 18,860
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99cents View Post
Huh? He's just looking for pointers. If I didn't try anything different, I could be stuck out in the bush somewhere on a cable pull.
If I was stuck in a bush it wouldn't be for cable pulling!
__________________
DJT, making libtards cry since 20 Jan 2017
MechanicalDVR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 10:43 AM   #16
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 13,494
Rewards Points: 7,170
Default

Okay, here is how I would handle it:

First thing to consider is panel height. Your top breaker can't be higher than 1.7M. That will determine the orientation of your panel. Guaranteed your new 40/80 will be too tall if you mount it vertically like the old one. If you spin it sideways you might be okay.

I've never done it before but Hack's idea with two side by side panels could work well.

Fresh plywood is a must. You might have a little bit of grief extending your pipe in the back but all panel changes come with some grief.

4 X 4 boxes with extension rings where you need to extend branch circuits.

Last edited by 99cents; 02-17-2017 at 10:46 AM.
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 10:45 AM   #17
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 13,494
Rewards Points: 7,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MechanicalDVR View Post
If I was stuck in a bush it wouldn't be for cable pulling!
Go to your room.
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 10:47 AM   #18
Deplorable-Electrician
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: God's Country of Virginia
Posts: 24,760
Rewards Points: 18,860
Default

Rip it all out and go from there!
HackWork likes this.
__________________
DJT, making libtards cry since 20 Jan 2017
MechanicalDVR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 11:01 AM   #19
Click Here
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 15,508
Rewards Points: 4,982
Default

Putting 55 circuits into a 40 space panel in a brand-new installation is a disservice to the customer. The cost of those tandems alone will cover the cost of a second panel. You will have much more room for wiring and it will be neater.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 11:10 AM   #20
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 13,494
Rewards Points: 7,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
Putting 55 circuits into a 40 space panel in a brand-new installation is a disservice to the customer. The cost of those tandems alone will cover the cost of a second panel. You will have much more room for wiring and it will be neater.
One tandem is cheaper (marginally) than two individual breakers. How does a second panel save money? How many callbacks have you had with tandems? I have had zero. If you don't have enough wiring space, you're filling your panels up with unnecessary wire.

Schooled.
Drsparky14 likes this.
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Material to clean a flame sensor Arcflasher Residential Electrical Forum 10 06-05-2016 09:50 AM
Getting my first car, advice to keep it clean when used for work commute ? David C Tools, Equipment and New Products 27 01-24-2016 10:39 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com