leviton gfci,s - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Residential Electrical Forum


Like Tree9Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2017, 01:12 PM   #21
still in business
 
sbrn33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: middle america
Posts: 7,602
Rewards Points: 790
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macmikeman View Post
After today, leviton can bite my ass as I had to make that long drive to replace that stupid gfi outlet in the new bathroom I did for a medical outfit when I remodeled all their offices. One or two once in a long while would be ok, but nope, If you put in 50-100 gfi receptacles every six months like I do, you start finding out you are going to have to replace around 30 of them in less than three months if you use Leviton. Done. And F*** home depot for carrying them.

I'm going to Lowes from now on and get something else.
We hardly use them in new construction anymore as we have gone to the dual GFCI/AFCI breakers. What code are you on there?
__________________
It's just that simple
sbrn33 is online now   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-05-2017, 02:00 PM   #22
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 19,930
Rewards Points: 2,196
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbrn33 View Post
we hardly use them in new construction anymore as we have gone to the dual gfci/afci breakers. What code are you on there?
2008
__________________
“That all changes—starting right here and right now.” Jan. 20 “will be remembered as the day the people became the rulers of this nation again.” Donald Trump
macmikeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2017, 01:38 AM   #23
still in business
 
sbrn33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: middle america
Posts: 7,602
Rewards Points: 790
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macmikeman View Post
2008
No ****ing way. And you call us backasswards?
__________________
It's just that simple
sbrn33 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2017, 02:40 AM   #24
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 19,930
Rewards Points: 2,196
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbrn33 View Post
No ****ing way. And you call us backasswards?
It is a true pleasure to be on 08 still. When I remodel, I don't have to automatically add afci's if the home run is existing already.
MechanicalDVR likes this.
__________________
“That all changes—starting right here and right now.” Jan. 20 “will be remembered as the day the people became the rulers of this nation again.” Donald Trump
macmikeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2017, 09:25 AM   #25
still in business
 
sbrn33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: middle america
Posts: 7,602
Rewards Points: 790
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macmikeman View Post
It is a true pleasure to be on 08 still. When I remodel, I don't have to automatically add afci's if the home run is existing already.
Oh, Don't kid yourself. If I had my choice we would still be on the 93'
__________________
It's just that simple
sbrn33 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2017, 10:08 AM   #26
Deplorable-Electrician
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: LIMBO
Posts: 18,796
Rewards Points: 9,014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbrn33 View Post
Oh, Don't kid yourself. If I had my choice we would still be on the 93'
1893 or 1993?
splatz likes this.
__________________
20 Jan 2017 Truly a great day in American history!
End of an ERROR!
MechanicalDVR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2017, 10:16 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
mdnitedrftr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: CT
Posts: 426
Rewards Points: 677
Default

I can't even tell you how many Leviton GFIs I have had to return within the past year. They're a couple bucks cheaper than other manufacturers, but all that goes out the window with 1 callback.
splatz likes this.
__________________
- Rich
mdnitedrftr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 01:33 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
Signal1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Boston Area
Posts: 654
Rewards Points: 192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by splatz View Post
It seems like Leviton sold their soul to get into the big box stores. I am guessing the big boxes beat them to death on pricing, and they cut corners to stay in Lowes and HD. It's too bad, I was a big Leviton fan for 20 years, but lately, it's P&S and Hubbell. I can't afford to **** around with quality, who can?
Them and everyone else! Tools, appliances, supplies. ........Junk!
splatz likes this.
Signal1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 08:40 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Central,CT
Posts: 272
Rewards Points: 409
Default

Ive noticed the new leviton TR self testing ones are extrmemly hard to reset in comparison to older ones. Customer we just changed some at her house plugs something in and tripped it so i told her she needs to press the button and she said she did and i drove out only to find it practically takes a screw driver pressing on the reset to reset it.

I always liked the size of he plates made by leviton the midsize was great but am really liking the satin P&S plates now.
jsmart84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2017, 05:56 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 286
Rewards Points: 433
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by splatz View Post
It seems like Leviton sold their soul to get into the big box stores. I am guessing the big boxes beat them to death on pricing, and they cut corners to stay in Lowes and HD. It's too bad, I was a big Leviton fan for 20 years, but lately, it's P&S and Hubbell. I can't afford to **** around with quality, who can?
So, Lowe's carries P&S, do they not? Same logic should apply, no?
mikewillnot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2017, 06:02 PM   #31
Deplorable-Electrician
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: LIMBO
Posts: 18,796
Rewards Points: 9,014
Default

After hearing all this I think I'll pass on Leviton.
__________________
20 Jan 2017 Truly a great day in American history!
End of an ERROR!
MechanicalDVR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 08:22 PM   #32
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 6,522
Rewards Points: 448
Default

The shallow GFCI is nice. I in general have better luck with the P&S stuff. I think their plates are better. The nylon ones Leviton has are fine, though I prefer the satin P&S stuff. I bought some of the dual function AFCI/GFCI receptacles from both brands and it will be interesting to see how those fare.
nrp3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 08:54 PM   #33
Click Here
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 13,958
Rewards Points: 1,380
Default

Pass & Seymour Trademaster plates are the best plates ever and if you use them you will automatically get my seal of approval.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 12:09 AM   #34
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 2,041
Rewards Points: 590
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikewillnot View Post
So, Lowe's carries P&S, do they not? Same logic should apply, no?
No, it doesn't seem like they made the same deal. Leviton expanded in the big boxes but disappeared from a lot of supply houses. P&S has replaced Leviton in some of the supply houses, Hubbell in others.
__________________
'You must either conquer and rule or serve and lose, suffer or triumph, be the hammer or the anvil.'
splatz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 12:45 AM   #35
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 6,522
Rewards Points: 448
Default

Here in one case they just swapped supply houses.
nrp3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
leviton lighting and plug control HAL9000 Lighting Design 2 05-18-2016 10:25 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com