Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Residential Electrical Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-29-2010, 03:29 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 21
Default Service mast.

I have been hired to upgrade a service that has a mast, something I have never done, although it does not seem that difficult, my only issue is the power company wants me to put a guy wire on it. The mast will stick above the roof line approx. 36" with the service drop attached to the mast. I have never used a guy wire before and I am having trouble locating one, is this something that is bought as a "kit" or something I have to piece together? Any advice would be appreciated .

rookie67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!
Old 04-29-2010, 03:36 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: kentucky
Posts: 9,020
Default

It has been a long time since I've put a service in but it used to be that I'd run the 2" riser up and place a messenger cable clamp for them to use. A guy wire indicates that you are using wire to hold the mast up. You could use a couple of pipe clamps with wood auger-type threads through the framing. and that would be pretty sturdy.

RIVETER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 05:55 PM   #3
Chief Electron Relocator
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 34,181
Default

What you are asking about is governed by your local POCO rules, not the NEC. Your first call should be to them.
__________________
Never believe everything you read on the internet. --Thomas Jefferson.
480sparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 06:33 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
What you are asking about is governed by your local POCO rules, not the NEC. Your first call should be to them.
Right, according to 230.24 exception 3. I don't even need to change the mast, but POCO wants guy wires, I have never used them and and I am not sure where to get them or if I have to make my own.
rookie67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 06:35 PM   #5
child please.....
 
NolaTigaBait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hack City, USA aka New Orleans
Posts: 5,284
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rookie67 View Post
Right, according to 230.24 exception 3. I don't even need to change the mast, but POCO wants guy wires, I have never used them and and I am not sure where to get them or if I have to make my own.
They want it guyed no matter what?...or if you go over a certain height?
NolaTigaBait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 06:37 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 21
Default

This is what the POCO referred me to, http://www.nationalgridus.com/non_ht...on_greenbk.pdf page 113. It doesn't explain much, the mast height he said needs to be at least 36" from roof. So the point of attachment for the drop would be at 30".
rookie67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 08:50 PM   #7
Les Voltage
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: MS
Posts: 907
Default

I would see if the poco adding a jump pole is an option.
Voltech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 12:50 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: WA
Posts: 4,064
Default

You can buy a guy kit at your supply house. Fairly common item around here.

nitro71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
200 Amp Mast Service Magnettica Services and Service Equipment 50 04-29-2010 11:03 PM
Service drop attachment to a mast service Magnettica Services and Service Equipment 55 04-27-2010 12:48 AM
Service Mast / GFCI John Samuel General Electrical Discussion 26 04-16-2010 11:24 PM
service mast guying electricalperson Services and Service Equipment 10 11-24-2008 11:52 PM
PVC Service Mast? Smileyboy Services and Service Equipment 15 11-12-2008 01:39 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:53 PM.


Copyright 2006-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2