CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Commercial Electrical Forum

Old 02-23-2012, 08:39 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Default 480V photocell wiring diagram

Hello, new guy here - I'm an electrical designer at an engineering group that provides engineering and drawing packages for oil producers here in Bakersfield Ca.

I have a question: I am looking for a remote photo cell wiring diagram for a 480V single phase fixture.

The application is a single 400W HPS 480V (single phs) pole mounted light fixture on a wooden power pole. The fixture will be fed from a 15A molded case circuit breaker in a 3r enclosure at ground level on a plywood back board where power is distributed to 2 MOVs (motor operated valves). I am not controlling a contactor, and there is no available 120V control power and no neutral - just 480 delta.

I know I can install a plug-in photocell on the fixture, but I would instead like to install a remote photocell at the breaker enclosure so the electrician can defeat it from the ground to periodically check the fixture.

I suppose I could always wire in a push-button momentary switch at the breaker box that would be pre-wired to by-pass the photocell up at the fixture, but having the electrician alter the wiring of the fixture at installation doesn't appeal to me.

I am putting together a drawing package and I need a schematic. I find nothing on Intermatic's web site - everything is either 120/277 or 208V to a contactor coil. Does anybody have a diagram? A part number would be nice too!

Thanks in advance,

Greg a.k.a. "The Highlander"

Hilandr451 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!