Commercial steel stud romex installation - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Commercial Electrical Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2010, 10:37 PM   #1
Dr Evil
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 14,897
Rewards Points: 234
Default Commercial steel stud romex installation

So am i a hack? I made some good money with a cheap bid.
Shockdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 08-29-2010, 10:39 PM   #2
I have a black cat.
 
Rudeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oakland, Ca
Posts: 4,021
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

No mc cable?

__________________
I don't like to Save time and money.
Rudeboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 10:39 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: kentucky
Posts: 10,158
Rewards Points: 698
Default

If you made money, that is what it's all about. I wouldn't consider you a hack based on the information that I have.
RIVETER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 10:43 PM   #4
Dr Evil
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 14,897
Rewards Points: 234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudeboy View Post
No mc cable?

No mc ....12/2 romex and front strap P&S plastic boxes , some pvc sleeving over the cieling level and emt work on top of the partitions for 277v lighting. Did the rough in 1 1/2 days complete. pulled $7500 on the rough using only about $500 in material.
Shockdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 10:48 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: kentucky
Posts: 10,158
Rewards Points: 698
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shockdoc View Post
No mc ....12/2 romex and front strap P&S plastic boxes , some pvc sleeving over the cieling level and emt work on top of the partitions for 277v lighting. Did the rough in 1 1/2 days complete. pulled $7500 on the rough using only about $500 in material.
If it was a safe and legal install...congratulations.
RIVETER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 10:52 PM   #6
I have a black cat.
 
Rudeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oakland, Ca
Posts: 4,021
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Well, if you don't violate 334.12...

I've never roped a commercial building with nm but I've run it through metal studs before.

What did you use to secure the romex on the studs?

... and any photos handy?
__________________
I don't like to Save time and money.
Rudeboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 11:07 PM   #7
B4T
Scotchkote Installer
 
B4T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Long Island, N.Y.
Posts: 30,628
Rewards Points: 15,378
Default

I do it when ever I can.. much faster than MC
__________________
Welcome to ET.. where the clowns don't need a tent to try and make people laugh.. http://steelturman.typepad.com/photo...f_clowns_2.jpg
B4T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 11:08 PM   #8
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 35,855
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shockdoc View Post
No mc ....12/2 romex and front strap P&S plastic boxes , some pvc sleeving over the cieling level and emt work on top of the partitions for 277v lighting. Did the rough in 1 1/2 days complete. pulled $7500 on the rough using only about $500 in material.
Good thing you didn't say Carlon boxes. Then you would be branded a Hack for Life.
__________________
Ark: ............... Arch: ..................Arc:
480sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 11:11 PM   #9
B4T
Scotchkote Installer
 
B4T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Long Island, N.Y.
Posts: 30,628
Rewards Points: 15,378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
Good thing you didn't say Carlon boxes. Then you would be branded a Hack for Life.
Good to see your finally catching on with the program
__________________
Welcome to ET.. where the clowns don't need a tent to try and make people laugh.. http://steelturman.typepad.com/photo...f_clowns_2.jpg
B4T is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to B4T For This Useful Post:
robnj772 (08-30-2010)
Old 08-29-2010, 11:37 PM   #10
Dr Evil
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 14,897
Rewards Points: 234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudeboy View Post
Well, if you don't violate 334.12...

I've never roped a commercial building with nm but I've run it through metal studs before.

What did you use to secure the romex on the studs?

... and any photos handy?
I'm kind of a fabricater, I drill two 1/4" holes about 3/4" apart and slip a wire tie through the stud to secure my romex, I space them 6" from box,3' and so forth.
Shockdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 11:39 PM   #11
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 35,855
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black4Truck View Post
Good to see your finally catching on with the program
You'll notice I never say I'm still using Carlon boxes any more on the forum.
__________________
Ark: ............... Arch: ..................Arc:
480sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 11:40 PM   #12
I have a black cat.
 
Rudeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oakland, Ca
Posts: 4,021
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shockdoc View Post
I'm kind of a fabricater, I drill two 1/4" holes about 3/4" apart and slip a wire tie through the stud to secure my romex, I space them 6" from box,3' and so forth.
I have the feeling inspectors here would sh!t a brick over that installation.
__________________
I don't like to Save time and money.
Rudeboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 11:41 PM   #13
I have a black cat.
 
Rudeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oakland, Ca
Posts: 4,021
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
You'll notice I never say I'm still using Carlon boxes any more on the forum.
But you still are. Everyone uses them, even B4T.
__________________
I don't like to Save time and money.
Rudeboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 11:42 PM   #14
Dr Evil
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 14,897
Rewards Points: 234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black4Truck View Post
I do it when ever I can.. much faster than MC
You aint kidding , I wasn't expecting to finish up a 1/2 day early with the amount of space and devices we roughed in. Even the emt work for the lighting went fast. I will be using mc to loop out the lay in lighting since each office and area has one lighting box and the sub cieling is 12' above the susp. ceiling.
Shockdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 11:44 PM   #15
Dr Evil
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 14,897
Rewards Points: 234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudeboy View Post
I have the feeling inspectors here would sh!t a brick over that installation.
What would they like to see? Inspectors here appreciate wire ties since most hacks either electric tape in or use nothing at all..
Shockdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 11:46 PM   #16
Dr Evil
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 14,897
Rewards Points: 234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black4Truck View Post
Good to see your finally catching on with the program
Are the Carlon screw depth adjustment boxes emempt? I tend to use those on all kitchen and bathroom backsplash applications.
Shockdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 11:46 PM   #17
B4T
Scotchkote Installer
 
B4T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Long Island, N.Y.
Posts: 30,628
Rewards Points: 15,378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudeboy View Post
What did you use to secure the romex on the studs?

... and any photos handy?
They also sell zip ties with a 1/8" eye you can put a screw through or 1/4" & 3/8" plastic clips work just as good
__________________
Welcome to ET.. where the clowns don't need a tent to try and make people laugh.. http://steelturman.typepad.com/photo...f_clowns_2.jpg
B4T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 11:49 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NASA
Posts: 7,521
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

An 11" tie wrap will make it around the stud and cable fine unless one side is rocked or something else is in the way.

FWIW the tie wraps with eyelets are expensive.
Bob Badger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 11:49 PM   #19
I have a black cat.
 
Rudeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oakland, Ca
Posts: 4,021
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shockdoc View Post
What would they like to see? Inspectors here appreciate wire ties since most hacks either electric tape in or use nothing at all..
Oh I have no idea, something listed most likely. NM straps probably. I've used them when I ran NM in metal studs in the past and never have been called on it.
It's kinda rare for me to do that.
__________________
I don't like to Save time and money.
Rudeboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 11:53 PM   #20
Dr Evil
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 14,897
Rewards Points: 234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Badger View Post
An 11" tie wrap will make it around the stud and cable fine unless one side is rocked or something else is in the way.

FWIW the tie wraps with eyelets are expensive.
The two holes take 20 seconds to drill and hold the wire(s) center of the stud.
Shockdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stud sensors 76nemo Tools, Equipment and New Products 28 10-18-2010 04:35 PM
Romex in a commercial space ToddH General Electrical Discussion 17 12-15-2009 09:03 AM
Romex in a commercial building ToddH General Electrical Discussion 64 12-12-2009 11:09 PM
Solar PV Installation in Ontario - Commercial 600V SolarGuy General Electrical Discussion 1 11-16-2009 02:28 PM
Metal Stud bushings MDShunk NEC Code Forum 1 01-28-2007 10:55 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:38 AM.


Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com