Originally Posted by Cletis
It's kind of like C-taps which are exempt from tap rules right
Cellular concrete floor raceways were about the furthest thing from my mind... but I get the idea. I suppose that as long as the ampacity of the first "tap" (at the lugs) is equal to the feeder, then it doesn't count as a tap as defined in 240.2.
Still, I don't know if I'd do it. We wouldn't be allowed to do it stright off a transformer secondary for the reason I stated, so we might as well be consistent even if we tecnically could get away with it.