T8 bulbs in T12 fixture - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Commercial Electrical Forum

Old 10-13-2011, 06:03 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 250
Default T8 bulbs in T12 fixture

I'm no lighting expert so I wanted some input on what I came across in an office building. I get there and the owner tells me he relamped the fluorescent light fixtures that had burned out bulbs.

He had replaced burned out T12's with T8's and they were all working. The ballast specifically stated they were for T12's. So I told him he screwed up and he asked me why then were the T8's working, and I didn't have an answer. So what would have happened leaving the T8's on a T12 ballast?
Hotlegs is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 10-13-2011, 07:06 PM   #2
Registered Member

Rewards Points: 2,000

Quote: